We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Superb Hostel”

TMax-n-Topo's Hostel & Private Rooms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TMax-n-Topo's Hostel & Private Rooms
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Superb Hostel”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed at TMax-n-Topo's Hostel this past weekend while attending an ice climbing course with EMS in Lake Placid. First and foremost, I've traveled to over 70 countries on five continents and stayed at hundreds of hostels. This hostel is well managed and goes the extra mile to make you comfortable (they even provide free ear plugs for sleeping if you end up with a snorer and clean towels/soap for bathing). The accommodation is new and the bunk rooms are well kept. The sheets and bedding were clean and the kitchen area was fantastic. There is also a large living room with free Wifi, cable TV, tons of boardgames, etc. It is conveniently located near downtown Lake Placid (think 5 minute drive). The owners are very personable and know every inch of the Adirondacks if you need advice on skiing, climbing, hiking, or any other activity. Thanks again for the stay and I'll send some pictures from my climb in Nepal!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathaniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
5
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Just came back from spending 3 nights alone from this place. It was without a doubt the best hostel around Lake Placid considering the location,service and rate wise.
The new owners David and Terri are very friendy hosts and they will go all the way to help you
out with any questions about the area or just about anything.
They are also seasoned hikers so they know a lot about the mountains around the area.
I am definitely coming back again in this summer for easy hiking and you know it will be this hostel !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JinwooChoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2010

As the instructor of a college course I want to give my students a great experience. A stay at a hostel is a new experience for many. When looking at older reviews you will see quite a change over the past 2 years!! The new owners of this hostel have made it their primary home and also the temporary home for anyone who wants to stay. The most personable host and hostess I have ever met and extremely helpful even for an experienced hiker! Our college class wraps up our 4 day treks with an overnight there. VERY CLEAN, Huge kitchen, and many small things to make you feel at home. There are large bunk rooms and smaller ones so you have quite a bit of privacy. they even have a small "store" where you can stock up on last minute items or sit and relax with a tub of Ben and Jerry's!! Can't wait to go back with my next group

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffsabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My friend and I enjoyed three nights at this very homey hostel. Centrally located outside of Lake Placid proper, it is clean, quiet and has extremely knowledgeable and approachable owners. I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprintsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Jackrabbits was a clean and comfortable stay. The owners are very informative of the area and very willing to help you out with any info your looking for about the area. For hikers, climbers etc these are great people with a wealth of knowledge and experience in the local climbs. Plan on staying again and would suggest others to do the same. It should be noted that the new owners took over at the start of this year and have really turned the place around from previous ownership and its very apparent they take a lot of pride in making your stay a good one which isnt easy to find. Free internet access a huge plus as well. There is also a golf course, driving range within walking distance and a tennis court on site. A very short drive to lake placid and numerous high peaks trail heads.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed at jackrabbit hostel for one night with a friend. Owner was friendly and told us that they recently bought the place (past few months). He was very informative concerning the local hiking and viewing areas. He seemed to really care about the area and running the place. The room I was in was clean and the bathrooms were also clean. I was able to pick up wi-fi from the room I was in which is a definite plus. Each room had its own temperature gauge. The rooms had 2 sets of bunkbeds. The Hostel also has a kitchen which everyone shares. I would go there again. Considering its a hostel-don't expect a four-seasons- think of it as a dormitory-but if you want a cheap place to sleep, clean bed sheets/showering area. I would go there again. We stayed there in between seasons so there wasn't really anyone there that night so we did not have to share our room w/ anyone either. Attached is a picture of the room-the next morning after being slept in..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank kryspykritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Placid
10.0 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
4.4 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TMax-n-Topo's Hostel & Private Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TMax-n-Topo's Hostel & Private Rooms

Property: TMax-n-Topo's Hostel & Private Rooms
Address: 5046 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4119 (Formerly Jackrabbit Hostel)
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TMax and topofgothics (Terri and David) met in the Adirondacks in 2003 and have hiked there together since. TMax-n-Topo’s offers everything from bunks starting at $28 a night to a private suite. Both are 46ers and have earned the 46er winter rocker. TMax is currently working the Grid and is half-way there, so we can offer lots of hiking information. David completed a thru-hike of the AT in 2009. TMax is a 115er and is working on the state high-points list and Colorado's 14-thousand footers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tmax-n-Topo`s Hostel And Private Rooms
Tmax-n-Topo`s Hostel & Private Rooms Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing