We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Lake Placid”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Lake Placid”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

After many trips to Lake Placid we have found a well run, friendly place. I actually
found this motel thru Trip Advisor, which is a first for me. A 5 minute walk to the
popular shopping areas, but if my 15 pound dog can do it then so can you. Yes,
Art's even allows dogs. They have a lovely, secluded pool and a nicely shaded
deck with tables which was great for our sunny visit. We will defintely stay again.
Reasonably priced and frankly a much better and flatter parking lot than the
places crammed in the middle of town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    132
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
136
220
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We decided to stay at Devlin's based on other reviews posted here. Just as the other reviews stae, this is a great place to stay. Friendly & helpful owners, convenient location, spacious rooms that are neat as a pin, outstanding value. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JRJLAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was our 3rd time staying in a upscale room at Devlin's. I really don't see how you can beat this place. The rooms are very very clean! The upscale rooms are well appointed and have a great bathroom with a huge shower. It is a 7-10 minute walk into the heart of the village and if that is to long for you then stop at the LP Brew Pub for a drink on your way into the village.

Unless your rich and don't care a bit about how much you spend give Devlin's a look.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourwaystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My girlfriend and i went to Placid for an outdoorsy-type weekend getaway. Unfortunately it was FREEZING and rainy but I won't let that affect my review of Devlin's.
On your left after the 1st major intersection in Placid, the inn is not hard to spot.
It looks like a motel, and at first glance feels like one. The rooms are carpeted (basic room) and there was a hint of musty smell but nothing too dramatic. Having said that, the room was spotless and very spacious. nothing in there made us feel anything but comfortable. We didn't ask for much, nonetheless the staff was very helpful when called upon, including Mr Devlin himself.
The real draw when it comes to this inn is the value it offers. It has some of the lowest rates i found in Placid and is a 10 minute walk from the start of the main strip. There's good eating not 2 minutes away.
Not much more i can say about it. Well worth the money and if i were heading back to Placid i'd Call Devlin's first.
BTW: must try restaurants are "the Cottage" (simple but tasty light meals) and "Lisa G's" (for a more inventive menu)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lompie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Vincent, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed in this hotel one night while traveling through to VT. Upon entering the facility you could tell it was well kept. The lobby was very nice and easy to get to, not like some hotels I have been to. We stayed in a standard room and it was excellent. Very clean, no smells, comfortable beds and a great price. Our one night price including tax was $75! would have expected to pay a lot more but very pleased and will definately stay there again for the price. The only thing I wished they had was more of a selection of for their continental breakfast, something on the healthier side would have been nice :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakrtgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My wife and I would recommend this highly! We stayed in one the Art Devlins' "upscale" rooms and were delighted. Spacious, huge flat screen tv, CLEAN, great bathroom. No need to move the car, as you're centrally located to visit all the shops in Lake Placid. Best value we've found. Congratulations to Art Devlins' son for the professional job he's doing!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkRockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed this past weekend in the upscale room, with the huge bathroom and king size bed. This has to be the cleanest accommodation I have ever stayed in - it was absolutely spotless. The bathroom was amazing and I wish I could have taken it home with me! We found the staff friendly and helpful whenever we needed something. We were able to walk everywhere in Lake Placid from the motel and it since it wasn't right in the centre of town - it was less chaotic and much more peaceful.
When we make our next visit to Lake Placid - we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solituda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn

Property: Art Devlin's Olympic Motor Inn
Address: 2764 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3661
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Art Devlin`s Olympic Motor Hotel Lake Placid
Art Devlins Olympic Hotel
Art Devlins Olympic Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing