We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay in Lake Placid!”
Review of Stagecoach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in Lake Placid!”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Stagecoach Inn 25 years ago. It was even better this time when returned with our two girls, ages 18 & 14. We all had the best time of our lives thanks to Mary Pat & Tony. We've stayed at many inns and hotels across the US, Canada, and the UK but NEVER have we had better hosts! From "social hour" each day to sharing homemade granola recipes, the memories of this welcoming inn will last a lifetime for all of us. We WILL get back to Lake Placid someday and we most definitely will stay at the Stagecoach Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry-Appleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

If you are looking for a cookie cutter place you can find anywhere, then this is not it. However, if you want a real Adirondack experience - this is just the place. We cannot say enough about the innkeepers, Mary Pat and Tony. They are so accomodating without being at all intrusive. We were there to do the Lake Placid Half Marathon which began early in the am. I probably shouldn't let this out - but - they got up early for us to get us breakfast. Every nook and cranny has something new and unique to see. They are also really interesting and just good people - Mary Pat and Tony made the experience really special. On the way home we were already planning how we can get back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Runners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2010

When we decided to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in the Adirondacks, we chose the Stagecoach Inn hoping it would be as beautiful as it seemed on the website and it was absolutely perfect in every way. This original 1830’s stagecoach inn has been lovingly restored to perfection with original yellow birch floors, bead board walls, and yellow birch accents throughout, and decorated with appropriate period furniture and antiques. It is centrally located in the high peaks district just outside of Lake Placid, so we got to visit all of the places we wanted to see. But the best part of the whole experience was Mary Pat and Tony, the owners and innkeepers. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. From homemade breads, and granola, scrumptious organic sausage and herbed scrambled eggs for breakfast to the complimentary wine and cheese platter each evening, we felt very spoiled. They shared with us their knowledge of the area, making perfect suggestions for hikes, lunch on the lake and a special place for our anniversary dinner. They even drove us so we could enjoy a bottle of wine without worrying about driving back. This is a must stay place for both couples and families. The rooms are comfortable, gorgeous and clean and the wide enormous porch is a perfect way to start or end your day. We can’t say enough good about the Stage Coach Inn. We loved our time there and hope to come back. We even fell in love with their dogs!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

If you are looking for a true Adirondack experience I doubt you could do any better than the Stage Coach Inn. It shares all the architectural features of the Adirondack great camps as well it should in that sections of the original building date back to the early 1800’s and it was in fact a stage coach stop and Inn. So in my mind many of the features and use of natural resources used to construct the Inn could have had an impact on the subsequent architecture of the Region. I found the Inn and the Innkeeper to be both warm and friendly but not over the top or overbearing. My stay was wonderful and the wine, cheese and conversation at the end of the day a must do. Note, the wine is fine but bring a bottle of your favorite to share with and help educate Mary Pat, she’s a beer drinker you know.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nuge2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I went to Lake Placid as a little getaway. I found the Stagecoach Inn on-line a thought it was the perfect place to do some reflection. As I walked the wrap around veranda to the entrance, I realized that this was more than I could have imagined. Every cozy corner in the Inn is tastefully and beautifully decorated with an eye for antiques. I stayed four days, and every day I discovered something new.
My room, the Jenny Suite, was warm, inviting and private. There was no detail unattended to. This particular wing of the Inn had a private entrance which allowed me to be as social as I wanted.
Every evening I was graced with a lovely glass of wine and the company of Mary-Pat. A more apt host for a bed and beakfast would be hard to find. She is always available but never intrusive. Breakfast was wonderful and her home made granola will impress even the most discerning of taste buds. Mary-Pat's recommendations for dining in Lake Placid were spot-on! Do try Cafe Rustica if you are there!
My only regret was that I couldn't stay longer. It really felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelbruemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We just visited the Stage Coach Inn and could not have had a better experience. Mary Pat and Tony were gracious hosts who made us feel right at home from the time we walked in. The inn has a wonderful rustic charm.. It is reminiscent of an Adirondack Great Camp while maintaining a cozy and intimate atmosphere. Mary Pat, an interior decorator, has a terrific sense of style and has decorated the inn with wonderful flair. There is always something to see in surprising nooks and crannies. The bedroom was decorated beautifully and the little touches just added to the charm. Breakfasts were fabulous with many choices but not too large and overfilling. In warmer weather, the large porch offers many Adirondack chairs and tables in conversation groupings. We were offered wine and cheese each evening with lively conversation with our hosts. It has the advantage of not being right in the middle of the main thoroughfare, but is a very short drive away from the "downtown". This B&B is well worth the price and more. It is truly a gem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFChotapani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Inn

Property: Stagecoach Inn
Address: 370 Old Military Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1813
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing