We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique inn, gracious hosts”
Review of Stagecoach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband earned points when he chose the Stagecoach Inn for a long weekend. Our host, Mary Pat and her husband, Tony, are the salt of the earth. At the entrance to the inn, there is a sign that reads "enter as strangers, leave as friends." Cute but corny, right? Well it's true. In addition to the gracious hospitality, you are staying in an historical inn with top to bottom adirondack decor. It is truly unique. As a 5th generation local, Mary Pat is a bottomless resource for what to do and who to contact in the area. She knows everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days. It's homey, cozy, beautiful and the hosts Mary Pat & Tony were gracious and friendly. Mary Pat's breakfasts were unbelievable. Real homemade bread and little pastries, homemade yogurt and granola along with an Irish Breakfast that consists of eggs,potatoes, ham, sausage & bacon. You can also have French toast. Simply delicious. At 5 o'clock Mary Pat & Tony have a wine & cheese "happy hour" which is a nice way to meet the other guests.Mary Pat can tell you anything you want to know about Lake Placid and what restaurants to go to and what ones to avoid. Since she grew up there. Tony can tell you all about the Olympic Center and bobsledding. The Inn is so beautifully decorated with antiques. Truly an Adirondack experience. We stayed in the Jenny Bedroom. Had our own entrance. sitting room and bath and the bed was so comfy. We will definitely be back and will bring our friends. Thank you so very much for just being you. Ronnie & Joe

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in Lake Placid and we stayed two nights at the Stagecoach Inn. Mary Pat and Tony (the owners) were just so welcoming and personable - they made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The Inn is lovingly restored and filled with beautiful antiques - it was filled with interesting pieces and decorated just so, not in the least bit crowded or overdone. We had wine/beer and cheese both nights and enjoyed getting to know Mary Pat and Tony...we also enjoyed the delicious "Irish" Breakfast that Mary Pat prepared. Spotlessly clean from top to bottom- the woodwork was actually gleaming...
I would highly recommend the Inn for anyone staying in the area! We plan on returning in the summer months with our two children!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying upstairs as it seemed a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first trip to Lake Placid and we loved the Stagecoach Inn. It is a warm, inviting place to stay, the rooms are immaculate and inviting, and the innkeeper (Mary Pat) is a great hostess and chef. The breakfasts she made were great and we literally didn't need to eat again for something like 12 hours...that's how much good food is provided.

Mary Pat also helped out with things to do in the area as well as bars and restaurants and she was spot on in her recommendations. This won't be our last trip to Lake Placid and it certainly won't be our last stay at the Stagecoach Inn.

Thank you for everything, Mary Pat!

Room Tip: Try the Jenny suite...you get your own entrance and a small living room in addition to your nicely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although we had a nice room at the inn, we had a bad experience with the service offered. Maybe it was a bad day for Mary Pat as it was the end of the summer rush but we did not appreciate being advised that we were an hour or two later than we expected to arrive (still around 4pm) which was an inconvience for Mary Pat.Then there was a dispute we had with the charges which resulted in us departing earlier then planned.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

While researching B&Bs in Lake Placid I found only 'high 5' reviews of the Stagecoach Inn. One must be forgiven for wondering if such things are simply too good to be true. After spending 3 nights at the Stagecoach however, my wife and I can only and with much enthusiasm endorse those reviews and add our own 'high 5'.

Mary Pat and her standards of excellence, professionalism and friendliness set a high bar that will now be my measure of other B&Bs. Our rooms on the second floor (bedroom, bath and sitting room) were wonderfully charming, beautiful, comfortable and immaculately clean. Although we had arrived earlier than expected, Mary Pat made us feel right at home showing us to our rooms then offering tips as to how we should spend the afternoon before her wine and cheese hour.

Mary Pat and her husband Tony were always ready to pass along their advise as to which trails to hike, restaurants we should enjoy and antique shops to browse. Their patience was endless as they would cheerfully take as much time as we needed to answer all of our questions. In our browsing around Lake Placid we quickly discovered that everybody knows Mary Pat and holds her in high regard. Once it became known that we were staying at the Stagecoach with her, staff in the restaurants and shops became even friendlier and more accommodating!

The afternoon wine and cheese hours were a true pleasure as Mary Pat always joined us in interesting conversation. The afternoon when Tony was able to join us was a real treat. Both he and Mary Pat are interesting and interested conversationalists. And if you want to learn about winter Olympic sports, you can't do better than listen to them. Expertise resides.

Breakfasts were beyond amazing. Whatever you want, Mary Pat will make...and everything is 5 star delicious from the home baked breads, jams, yogurt and granola to the most fantastic scramble eggs I've ever eaten. The yogurt by the way is, as some would say: to die for. Mary Pat also insisted on making sandwiches for us to take with us before we headed out for our day's activities. After hearing our raves of her corn bread, as a parting gift she gave my wife a pack of her special corn bread mix along with the 'secret' ingredients.

There is no question what-so-ever that the Stagecoach Inn will our home away from home whenever we visit Lake Placid. Many B&B owners as well as managers of large hotels would do well to take a page or two our of Mary Pat's book..

Room Tip: We preferred the upstairs room, but they are all charming. You can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Last weekend, my husband and I stayed at the Stage Coach Inn for three nights. It was Ironman weekend and all of the guests had one of their party competing in the event. Mary Pat could not have been better: making sure we had everything we needed, gave great restaurant reviews, and even woke up early to cook the athletes breakfast and drive them to the race! Wine and snacks in the afternoon were lovely, the decor is classic Adirondacks, and long story short you won't be disappointed. Stage Coach Inn is a gem!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Inn

Address: 370 Old Military Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1813
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: $125 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing