We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven & a Lot of Natural Beauty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Meadow Farm Lodge
Ranked #11 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We came for a Lake Placid Wedding along with 200 other out of towners... Everyone stayed at the Comfort Inn where the reception was held, but we chose South Meadow Farm Lodge and we were not disappointed. Since we arrived after 8pm on a Friday night, there was a pleasant note welcoming us and telling us exactly where to find our room. The no vacancy sign goes up after 8pm because only registered guests are expected after that hour. (The family needs a few hours of time off after working each and every day too). Nancy and her whole family were extremely polite and helpful, and will fulfill your requests, if possible if you only ask them! Each 8 am breakfast included hot oatmeal fresh fruit, coffee, milk,oj, eggs with bacon or sausage, a coffee cake or pancakes or muffins etc. It was enough to keep us full well into the early afternoon. The Birdsnest was a very basic but clean room, which was perfect for our needs. We were out and about each day, since there is so much to see and to do in the area. It was nice knowing we would be returning to quiet rest and relaxation each evening. The thought of television or phone never crossed our minds and we would definitely return for future trips. Do stop in at their Maple syrup store on the premesis, where you'll find plenty of affordable breakfast treats for family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappytravelerUSA0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed at South Meadow for a week and would return. I read the reviews posted here and admittedly was a bit apprehensive, but ended up having a pleasant experience. In late July/early August, Lake Placid becomes home to rugby and lacrosse tourneys, and downtown LP becomes quite crazy. I'm so glad we were able to return to peace and quiet each night.

The first thing I look for is cleanliness; the owners keep the rooms and property meticulously clean. We stayed in a less expensive room, but it hardly disappointed. It was very spacious and overlooked the meadows. There are hairdryers, but you do need to bring your own toiletries (shampoo, soap). There are no TVs, so you can catch up on your reading (plus you don't have to worry about the person next door w/ the TV blaring in wee hours of the night). Wi-fi was spotty as was cell phone service, so if you must be connected every single moment, this might not be for you.

Breakfast was served on time every morning, and the owners and the family dine with the guests. In addition to hot oatmeal, granola cereal and fresh fruit, a special addition was prepared (e.g., scrambled eggs and bacon, waffles, muffins) and all was very good. Since we were there for a length of time, we got to know the owners. They are very nice people, and if you need anything all you need to do is ask and they will accommodate (or try to) your request. There is a large community refrigerator and microwave for guest use, as well as plates (ask for silverware and wine glasses) if you want to do take out.

It is true that they run the maple sugar farm; the products (especially the maple cream) are excellent!

If you x-country ski and/or mtn bike, you could not ask for a better location. The Mt Van Hovenberg trails are right behind the property.

Overall, we would gladly return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I came off the nordic ski trails to check the place out and did not get a positive vibe. I was talking about renting the entire place and the tour of the place was half-hearted, at best. There was no interest in accommodating any special requests. Would be worth considering if you have skiers that want to ski for different lengths of time. Everyone can ski to and from VanHo trails which connect to the property.

Stayed: February 2006, traveled solo
4  Thank NEasternUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

A group of friends and I have been going here for six years, some longer. We have seen cheaper places and a lot of more expensive ones. No other place we found gives you the combination of views, convenience of trail access and homeliness at this price. The scenes surrounding you are fantastic. After a long day of activity the serenity, views and peacefulness is heavenly. We have our own happy hour before going out for dinner. A refrigerator is available in the gathering room to store your brought goodies. We bring coolers of beer, cheese, meats, nuts, fruit and wine and leave in foyer entrance. The gas fireplaces in some rooms are a nice romantic touch. The rooms are only 7-8 years new? Nancy and Tony are always willing to give you dinner advice and area highlights but are very unobtrusive. If you want something you just have to ask. We are avid outdoor people, hiking, kayaking, skiing, snow shoeing, photography and cross country skiing. The trail is right out the door. If you are a television nut or couch potato, this is not the place for you but I did see cable hookups in the rooms I've stayed in and if you want to bring your mind killer (PBS not included in this statement). Not sure and don't care if they work so I would ask if you intend to bring a TV? I don't understand the dinner comment of a review I saw because they only advertise breakfast included but I will recheck the site. The breakfast is delicious and feature homemade Maple syrup and other products. This is also a working maple sugar farm and refinery with products available, MMMM! If you want to see a beautiful lake scene, drive to the newly restored Lake Placid Lodge for cocktails and photography. The rooms are around 900 a night so dinner and drinks are as far as we go. If you want to see a great waterfall scene drive to the gorge on 86. You cannot beat this for the price and quality. Oh, my girlfriend and I split the cost of the room so it is even a better value. The outdoor only cats (2) are very friendly and furry. If you are independent and the outdoor type who truly appreciates nature try this Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredscem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

This is our third year at the Inn. Each year we have additional friends join us. This year there was 9 of us.
All of our rooms were in a charming Adirondack style. Our room 'Fern' had a gas fireplace.

The Inn offers trail passes for the Van Hovenburg cross country ski trails. This is an added bonus.

The Innkeepers, Tony and Nancy are very accommodating. One of our friends is on a glutein free diet and that was no problem during meal time. We enjoyed 2 breakfasts and dinner on Saturday night.

Tony also had the sauna ready for us when we finished skiing on saturday. This was very rewarding after a long day ski.

The main room is a great gathering place. There are 3 sofas and a dining table. You also have the use of a refrigerator. The vaulted ceilings and large window views of the outside meadows just adds to the enjoyment. Even on the coldest days this area is toasty.

We have made this an annual weekend that we intend to repeat for many years to come.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KylemoreAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

My husband and I,with a group of friends, have been staying at south meadow farm lodge for a weekend every year for the past six years. we enjoy the quiet, the proximity to mt van hovenburg cross country ski trails, the views from the large windows and the delicious home style breakfast.

the lodge is tastefully decorated with very comfortable rooms.


We recommend the lodge to anyone who enjoys the things that we enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjstbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We're not the typical B&B type to begin with, but we have to say we were disappointed with the value for money and the overall atmosphere of the place. The location is great if you're a x-country skiier as the Olympic x-country ski trails cut right through the property, but besides that there wasn't much for the amount paid.

The rooms are very plain with no personal touches or charm to them to make it feel different than a hotel room. The owners did not seem to put much effort into making you feel welcome as it was quite obvious the Inn is just a second source of income for them, and not their livelyhood (their Maple Syrup Farm is where their passion seems to be). We were the only ones there all weekend but wondered why their road sign said "No Vacancy". They stated its because they don't want people driving up at all hours of the night, but we felt its because it doesn't really matter if they get the business or not. Breakfast was at 8am sharp so if you want to sleep in don't stay here. The breakfasts were fine, yet nothing out of the ordinary or special in our minds.

Its about a 10 minute drive outside of the town which wasn't bad but considering it was less inviting than a hotel we would suggest you look hard to find a place in town (I've stayed at dozens of middle of the road hotels during my business trips that made me feel more welcome).

Some things they could have done to improve it were: provide a little maple syrup token of appreciation (small bottle, maple sugar etc...) since that's their livelyhood, include TVs in the room (they state that on their site but I guess we glossed over that which was disappointing because we really wanted to relax and watch a movie one night), provide a set of glassware/teas etc... in the room so as not to have to bother the owners for them.

So for the two nights and $400US later we felt quite unfulfilled and would not stay there again. There were a few much nicer looking hotels in town with similar rates and no need to drive anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crobertsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,329 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
7.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Town House Lodge
Town House Lodge
#2 of 14 in Lake Placid
91 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
272 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Meadow Farm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Meadow Farm Lodge

Address: 67 Sugarworks Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4223
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing