We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay at Lake Placid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The place to stay at Lake Placid”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at the Spruce Lodge B&B in July, 2010 while being on a biking trip. It is walkable distance to town, and despite the fact that the house is on a busy road, it is very quiet. The place is comfortable and clean, our room was very nice with an en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was OK; I have stayed at places where they served more. The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aribarsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Conveniently placed to walk into town, where there are lots of nice shops, restaurants to choose from. Beautiful scenery to view. We stayed for a couple of nights. Our room was clean, with en-suite bathroom. The bed was smaller than we had been used to in the US and a bit creaky which meant you woke up every time you turned over! Breakfast consisted of selection of cereals, muffins and bagels. We were a bit surpised not to see the host during breakfast. We were left to figure stuff out for ourselves. Would recommend for value and convenience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minicooperCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We were driving through Lake Placid and decided to stay here on the spur of the moment. After staying in several soulless (and sometimes unclean) motels in New York state we were over the moon to find this place. As other people have mentioned the host is slightly brusque but we felt that this just added to the character of the B&B! The cats were lovely and I only saw them in the living room. There are no TV's in the rooms but there is one in the communal areas.

For $75 we got a room with a fantastic wooden four poster bed (there were also bunk beds in the room). The bathroom was a decent size and like the rest of the room exceptionally clean. Breakfast in the morning was 'home style' and there was plenty of cereal, home made muffins, fruit and bagels. There one large breakfast table and we went a lovely couple there. If you don't feel too sociable in the morning you might prefer to eat out - however we loved this.

This is a B&B full of character and charm - right down to the pond to the rear of the house which is beautiful.

We ate at Lisa G's which is 5 minutes down the road and had a great meal - check out the ice cream sandwich!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexgem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesinclairs24
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The townhouses here look fantastic although we didn't stay in them. We stayed in the main house and had the 'apartment'. It was functional and relatively clean although it could do with a refurb.

The host didn't seem overly friendly at first but then seemed to become more approachable as our stay there went on.

The breakfast was nothing to rave about and being sat around one big table with all the other guests felt a bit odd but we did meet some people.

If you are thinking of staying here and are in a larger group it would be worth checking out the townhouses.

We were satisfied with our stay here but not excited in anyway,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesinclairs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

There were two different hosts we encountered, both of which were nice enough but not overly friendly or very approachable. Our room and bathroom was okay, but seemed like it could use a little tlc. The breakfast was plentiful and the owner made some really good bread to go with the fruit, cereal, oatmeal, coffee and tea. I was dying to redecorate the kitchen, dining and living room areas of the house since they were overly cluttered and lacked a cohesive charm. The two house cats were a nice addition (for me, since I love animals) since they were very friendly and loved attention.

It is located away from the central part of town, so you can either walk about 20 minutes or catch the free trolley to where the shops and some restaurants are located. There is a free parking lot in front of the property for guests but if you drive in to town you may have issues finding a parking spot.

Overall, it was an okay stay but would have been better if the place was kept up a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at the Spruce Lodge over a long winter weekend and were disappointed with the host. She was not friendly and made the atmosphere uncomfortable. We were particularly upset when the she checked us out before we had left the bed and breakfast. The last morning of our stay we went for an early morning hike around Lake Placid. When we returned the host looked very surprised to see us as she had assumed we already checked out - she had already run our card - even thought it was well before the check out time. We felt that we had to leave immediately as she appeared ready to clean out our room (in hall with supplies).

However, we thought the room and the facility was great and enjoyed our stay overall. I would recommend the bed and breakfast with the caveat not to expect too much for the host. Additionally, breakfast is very basic and primarily consists of cereal.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinterSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed in one of the townhouse units. A very good set up for a family. 3 bedrooms that can sleep 6, 2 full bathrooms, living room/dining room and full kitchen. All rooms spacious and very clean. Location is about 1/2 mile from the main part of Main Street. Cats mentioned in other posting are not an issue with the Townhouses.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.2 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6034 Sentinel Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3504
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Lodge is a family run B&B, located in Lake Placid with a 3 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the center of town. We have 8 B&B units with one unit that has a kitchenette. We also have a cottage and 4 townhouses. In the B&B, all the rooms have their own bathrooms, bed size is twin, full or queens. We serve a continental breakfast. Spruce Lodge is within a 10 mile radius of the most of the activites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel Lake Placid
Spruce Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing