We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Have stayed in both the cottage & townhouses. Fully furnished, clean, and in a nice area. Have stayed at other similar properties and were dirty, had cobwebs + were generally unkept but not here. Highly recommemded! We are picky so if we like it............it's good!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retiredcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a friendly welcome, and a pleasant breakfast where we met some of the extended family! It is a very laid back establishment where you feel like a visitor in someone's home rather than a guest at a hotel, so if you prefer a more formal setting this may not be the right choice for you. The room and en suite bathroom were both very clean and comfortable, though undeniably old fashioned. It is not in the heart of Lake Placid but it is within walking distance of both Lake Placid and Mirror Lake, as well as all the shops, bars and restaurants that Lake Placid has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RockSaltUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Arrived in Lake Placid to a nice welcome. A previous reviewer states disorganisation/untidy. Well, I see it as relaxed, homely and laid back. We were to share the home with fellow guests who, I suppose, we were very lucky to get along with well. We all sat around one big table for our breakfast which was great and we shared lovely stories of our travels and our homes etc. Carol's home-made breakfasts were superb. With Hurricane Irene imminent, we were worried about our travel plans but Carol came to the rescue with advice on which roads to take etc. We had an ensuite room although I know some rooms don't. However, I do not see that as much of a problem. The only thing I would have liked and amazed not to see was a tv in our room, especially as we wanted to keep an eye on the weather situation. There was a tv in the lounge and we were invited to look at that whenever necessary. All in all, when we are travelling in that direction again I will not hesitate to make a reservation at Spruce Lodge which was excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing with en suite when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dorisday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

First impressions on arriving at Spruce Lodge does not bode well, having to search for the owner at the back of the property and being led through some disorganised and untidy private rooms to a so called reception area, where the internal boundaries of managment/guest seem confusing, The house clearly needs some TLC, to raise the standard above a reglected run of the mill B&B. We had a room in the Main House facing a busy road, so expect a lot of passing traffic. Decor is not really up to scratch, and our room was fairly basic, with no TV, AC, fridge or coffee maker, and a creaky bed, although it is clean, with an en-suite shower unlike some other rooms. With no access to making drinks, expect to go to nearby food outlets - the main tourist area is a good 15 minute walk. Breakfast is included, and plentiful, if a little short in range. Spruce Lodge B&B would be adequate for just the bare basics of having a bed for the night, and at a cheap rate, but with little else to appreciate, you would be better off looking elsewhere - there are a lot of places to stay leading into Lake Placid, with other motels offering similar rates but better equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in the Adirondack Room, which had a rustic queen bed and bunk beds. The room was very clean and pleasant - but could use another chair, as there was only a single rocker to sit on. The bed was comfortable. Peaceful - but no a/c so nothing to drown out the noise if you open the window.

Breakfast was ok. Cereal and bread. Coffee and/or tea and juice. Nothing special. Didn't like that you had to wait till 8 just to eat - or even get a cup of coffee. Also, you had to put up your dishes, and by the time we had eaten, just to find a place in the sink or on the counter was an effort.

Certainly not a friendly, outgoing proprietor. But - if you don't really want to visit, this isn't really a problem.

Overall - clean and comfortable room, and was the best room we could find for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donadelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We had an upstairs room with an ensuite, in the main building. The room had a double and a single bed and was a good size as was the ensuite. It was decorated in an appealing country style and felt comfortable and cozy as soon as we walked in. A filling continental breakfast around a large country kitchen was great and we chatted with other guests.
The bed was comfortable but a bit squeaky when you roll over but not enough to be a problem unless you are a very light sleeper. Somethimes you can hear people moving about but once again not a problem. We loved the short walk into town.

Carol was a very down to earth host and I felt very comfortable dealing with her. Overall, this is excellent value accommodation in a friendly atmosphere and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed in Unit 9 in the Westcott townhouse during President's week. Absolutely beautiful! Very clean, nicely decorated, comfy beds and furniture. The townhouses are set back behind the B&B and away from the road, so there is little to no noise. Check in/out was a breeze, Carol was very nice and easy to deal with. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank astrospeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#27 of 31 in Lake Placid
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6034 Sentinel Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Lodge is a family run B&B, located in Lake Placid with a 3 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the center of town. We have 8 B&B units with one unit that has a kitchenette. We also have a cottage and 4 townhouses. In the B&B, all the rooms have their own bathrooms, bed size is twin, full or queens. We serve a continental breakfast. Spruce Lodge is within a 10 mile radius of the most of the activites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel Lake Placid
Spruce Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing