We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in a lakeside room. We booked a room at this place after reading the positive reviews online. Room had a balcony with a fantastic view of Lake Placid & Whiteface. Room was clean and comfortable, complete with mini refrigerator and coffee maker. Convenient location as the hotel is less than a mile walk to the shops and restaurants on the main street along Mirror Lake. We took advantage of the canoes at the hotel as well. It was a little cool when we stayed, so we did not use either of the pools. Staff at front desk was nice, allowing us to borrow a corkscrew and some wine glasses, and gave us suggestions for places to get food when we got there late the first night. Light Breakfast in the main building included coffee, juice, mini muffins, granola bars, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mollywaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2007

We found the hotel online, so we crossed our fingers and made the reservation. We did very well. Our room had a wonderful view of the lake and mountains, and a balcony which was very pleasant to enjoy a late afternoon cocktail on. We especially loved their lake fed pool. It was very close to all the restaurants, shops and points of interest. We would definetly go back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vmuller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

I booked two nights at Wildwood on the Lake based on the positive reviews here and on the lovely photos on the hotel website. The location is very nice, just beyond the congestion of the main street area and a beautiful setting right on Lake Placid. However, our room was very disappointing. I booked what was described as a "poolside" room with a balcony, but it was upstairs from the indoor pool, with a door onto the roof. Not poolside or a real balcony at all. Besides the misleading description, the room itself was standard old style motel look and more significantly, not very clean. It didn't look vacuumed, there was hair in the bathroom, and I had to call and ask for new blankets because of some brown crud on them. The staff was nice about changing the blankets, but I had no confidence in the housekeeping... On a more positive note, the grassy picnic area and dock were really nice, the boats were fun, and the sauna and indoor pool were very relaxing after a day of hiking. The lake-fed pool, which seemed intended for children, was brown and unattractive. Wildwood seems like a very family friendly establishment and maybe I got the worst room in the place, but I would hesitate to go back and definitely not for a room in the pool building.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Room 33 was very nice when we stayed 7/26/07. We had a great view of the bay/lake and mountains! The hotel offers free use of canoes, row boats and paddleboats. This was great fun on top of our other activiites.

The room was very clean and comfortable. Hotel is a cozy older building which has had updates. Our room was great. Balcony was enjoyable for gazing at the mountains, watching the ducks and enjoying the boats on the bay.

This hotel has a smart approach to coffeemakers in the room! They have them in the main room where they should be not in the bathroom where other hotels put them.

We hiked downtown to see the shops and Mirror Lake. This was just the right distance to walk off the great meal we had at Stephanos. When we walked back, the hotel was showing an outdoor movie complete with campire and popcorn. We watched from our balcony. That was quite the surprise. Although there were people everywhere on the lawn, our room was pretty quiet and we had no trouble sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank experience4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We found this motel through the web and made reservations on very short notice.They had vacancies even though there was a huge annual horseshow going on in Lake Placid. We reserved a room with a king bed that was "over the pool." This is a family run place and they were friendly enough on the phone and in person.When we arrived and looked at the room, I was very disappointed. It was a run-of-the-mill ugly motel room that could have been from anywhere. Small, basic, and looked out over a tarred rooftop and the busy street. It also had the weird smell of chlorine from the pool which was directly underneath us. Before we unpacked, my husband went back to the front desk and asked if they had anything else, perhaps looking to the back or lake side of the property. They gladly gave us another room that was on the second floor of another building. This room was much nicer. The property has the feeling of an affordable ski lodge, and is also a nice family place. The big, grassy yard out back near the lake was lovely in the evening, where we sat with our coffee and watched the "entertainment" which was the various ducks and ducklings that swam by or marched onto the lawn looking for food. Wildwood is situated on a bay of Lake Placid, not the main lake, so it was very quiet. Although we didn't have our dogs with us, it seemed to be very pet friendly as well. The room was equipped with a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and hairdryer -- all nice amenities to have. The decor and fixtures were quite out of date (those lovely mustard-colored bathrooms from the 70's, maybe?) but was very clean and in good repair and the bed was standardly comfortable, but the pillows were of the thin, flat variety and not comfortable at all. I'm jeolous of those who said they had jacuzzis and fireplaces -- if we go back, we'll have to ask for one of those rooms/cabins!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NHBlueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We just returned from our first visit to Lake Placid, and our first time at Wildwood on the Lake. What a terrific vacation we had. The cottage we stayed in was just adorable. Well maintained and clean with full kitchen, lovely living room, very nice bathroom, and two nice bedrooms. The facility is located directly on the lake and offers free boats, canoes, and paddle boats to its guests. There are two pools, one indoor and one lake fed. The whole place is very homey; feels like being in your own back yard, complete with barbeque grills, (they supply the charcoal) fire pit, chairs and tables. Private and quiet, yet very close to everything. The hotel is exactly 4 minutes from the Olympic Center by car and about the same to the main street with all of the shops and restaurants. The owners are lovely people who live on the premises. We liked it so much that when we checked out, we booked the same cottage for the same week next year. This is a real gem of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Just got back from a few days in Lake Placid where we stayed 3 nights at the Wildwood on the Lake. There may be fancier places, but no better value for the money. We very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean, spacious and quite. The amenities at the hotel were great. Each room has a coffee maker, microwave, fridge, iron and hair dryer. Our room was on the ground floor and faced the lake at the back of the hotel. It was quiet and picturesque with a great view of Whiteface Mountain on the other side of the lake. There are lots of chairs and tables to lounge outside and the Wildwood offers the free use of canoes and paddleboats. When asked, the owners were kind enough to set us a campfire out by the dock. Absolutely lovely!

Stayed: May 2007
6  Thank VagaBondOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $68 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing