We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed at the the Wildwood on the Lake Motel this past weekend. Was in town for a rafting trip which was more than an hour away. Check in was pleasant, the room was clean - however not enough lighting was present. Beds were comfortable and the shower was nice and hot! Spacious and nice patio out in the back - leading to the lake. Only complaint was that the pool was not heated as advertised but the whirlpool made up for it! Location was great as it was near to all the shops and restaurants and close to Main Street. Lake views were breathtaking especially in the early morning. Went paddling in the afternoon but they also have canoes. Price was a bit more than what we wanted to pay but due to last minute plans, we booked with them. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    80
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
67
115
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga County, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We've been visiting Lake Placid a couple times per year for the last 20, or so. We stayed at a variety of places -both on Lake Placid and on Mirror Lake (the Village of Lake Placid is along Mirror lake. Lake Placid -the lake, is adjacent. All are within walking distance of each other).

We just left the Wildwood-on-the-Lake yesterday thinking we enjoyed the place more than any of the others.

-Not to take anything away from the other places, necessarily. But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We found the owners and staff to be very friendly and helpful. The setting on the lake is beautiful. The pool outside is gravity fed right out of the pristene lake and flushes completely every 24 hours. And, there's an indoor pool for those partial to warmer water. Stuart lit a campfire on the lakeshore every night.

Canoes, paddleboats and rowboats are available to explore the lake. Whenever I venture out on the water, I find it gives me a different perspective of an area that you don't get from the shore. Looking back at the town and the Wildwood from out on the lake is a special treat.

Our room was reasonably priced and was very clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to returning in the winter.
-Dave & JoAnne

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goalnantuckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Recently stayed at Wildwood on the Lake in a Lakeside room with my husband and our two grandchildren. We had a wonderful time. The kids loved the outdoor lake water pool and the boats up on the lake front. My husband grilled out on the lawn with bbq's that they have (bring charcoal), and we were able to enjoy the lakefront for 3 nights. The rooms were very charming and had 2 queen size beds. There was a small table and chairs which was great for the kids to play games, and have snacks. The rooms had mini fridges, microwaves, and coffee makers, and anyone traveling with children will tell you what a valuable amenity it is to have these items at your disposal. We were able to pick up milk and cereal at the local grocery store which was a great way to keep breakfast costs minimal. We also had juice boxes for the kids, and bottled water for the adults. The microwave made making popcorn in the room very easy and the kids were able to have a night time snack without having to run to the store or spend a lot on snacks. The staff was friendly and helpful. Any concerns were immediately addressed, and the manager was onsite a lot of the time available to answer any questions as well.
The indoor pool was great on a day that it rained. My husband enjoyed the whirlpool and sauna as well. Overall it was a wonderful family vacation. We will definately return. I recommend for families of all ages!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtraveler1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Very rustic if you know what I mean. Desk staff was way over their head in attempting to help customers. Facilities need some work and staff and owners are not receptive to comments.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank iamnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

From the street you cannot tell what is hidden in this cozy hotel. It is cabinlike yet you are in a hotel. We had two connecting rooms - #35 and #36 and both had full balconies and the rooms were larger than other rooms we had stayed at before. The front desk people were very friendly and I liked that there were extra blankets and pillows in room.The view on the balcony at this time of year was beautiful with a little gazebo lit up in the back. This hotel is simply charming and there was great water pressure too. Also I thought being in a smaller hotel that we would not have internet service but here I am writing this review with free internet. I would highly recommend this place - Love sitting on balcony with my coffee overlooking the water.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationfun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Every year we escape to Wildwood on the Lake to Cottage 18. It is such a wonderful rustic place to stay! We have never had any major concerns and the staff have been very polite as well. There is a pharmacy across the street and it is a nice brisk walk into town, so it is in a good location.

Wildwood has been an enjoyable getaway with the help of their friendly staff (even helping us shovel off the car after a snow storm!) and the privacy to run on our own schedule.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ggbdbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

clean and average room.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Property: Wildwood on the Lake
Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing