We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wildwood on the Lake is FABULOUS!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildwood on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wildwood on the Lake is FABULOUS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our first time staying at Wildwood on the Lake, and let me tell you we will be back every year. The view is breathtaking. The room was clean, and spacious. It was Perfect in every way. The owner was Amazing, he made bonfires every night for us, there were canoes, and paddle boats available, that were so much FUN!! WE enjoyed them. My Hubby grilled, and the grills were so clean. We enjoyed the beautiful, clean indoor pool, and spa. The grounds were Immaculate!! I'm so happy we found this Treasure!! 5 STARS all the way!! Can't wait to come back!! :-) :-) The BEST hotel in Lake Placid!! :-) :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    77
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cohoes,NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is our second stay at Wildwood on the Lake ,and will definitely be returning. You cant go wrong by staying here. The customer service is above par. The rooms are spotless, and access to both indoor and outdoor pools is easy. I didn't use the facilities but my wife did . She stated the lake fed pool was very clean and enjoyable and so goes for the indoor pool and spa. To top a great day off is the large bonfire at night. Very enjoyable to meet new friends.
Keep up the good work , we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mski110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks, NY State
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have now stayed at the Wildwood twice in the past two months, and I have stayed here before. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are spotless and the location cannot be beat. The proximity to town is excellent, and this is lakefront Lake Placid property! One could spend $1,000 or more for fancier accommodations right on the lake, but why? There are canoes and other boats to borrow, cozy rooms, two pools, a well-maintined property and the place just feels expansive and friendly. This is the best deal in town, if you ask me.

Room Tip: They have cabins with kitchens and regular rooms. I am staying in a regular room this trip and am l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADKWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend here, and thought it was great. My husband & I had a specialty room with our kids and grandson next door. The room was a good size and the view from our balcony was fantastic. The room was very clean. It had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. We had no problems at all with the wifi, and they have a good selection of TV channels. But who comes to the Adirondacks for TV or to surf the web? The location of Wildwood is a nice walking distance of Main Street (or you can take the trolley across the street). The owners and their staff were very nice and helpful. There is no charge for the paddle boats, kayaks, or canoes. We were there a bit off season, so we could use them for as long as we wanted - not the usual one hour limit. The bonfire was great for roasting marshmallows with our grandson. The outdoor pool is lake water with a nice waterfall and a sand beach. The water was cold, but my 5-year-old grandson loved playing in the sand and wading. They have tons of toys, which was very entertaining for him. All in all, I would stay here again when visiting Lake Placid.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BabaluTheGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The view from our room (which was a specialty room) was very pretty and the room was a good size. The wifi was terrible. It frequently cut in and out - not a smooth run on any website. The towels were thin and discoloured. We got one little bottle of shampoo for two people for two days and no other personal supplies. There was no breakfast but only muffins and coffee. The indoor pool was dirty and not inviting at all. For the cost of $168.00 including taxes at off season rates, you would be advised to stay some place else. There was no refund and therefore forced to stay the two days. The hot and cold water taps were reversed which for children could be dangerous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goggie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wildwood motel was awesome. This is truly an experience you will not get at a hotel or camping. It is the perfect balance in between. We stayed in a cabin outfitted with a full kitchen, wi-fi, a flat screen TV, a hot shower and a deck with quite possibly the best view in all of lake placid. My family enjoyed the heated pool and the lawn where most of the fun at property occurred. The nightly campfire, grill area, and docks were a consistent creature comfort that we looked forward to using as soon as we returned from our day trips fishing and hiking in the local areas.The management have everything dialed-in. The cabin was cleaned daily, and the general manager was there whenever we needed something. He seemed to go out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and even quickly attended to one my children's minor injury. A couple of other noteworthy amenities that I apprecated was the hotel's location, It is perfectly situated on the west edge of town making the downtown area distant but within walking distance, the location of the property ideal as you can come/go to the local area without driving through the town, and this a five star supermarket a short drive down the road. There are also othe rintangibles that are also unavailable at other properties. We reserved our stay for the wrong weekend but the owners saw to it that we had equivalent accomodations despite the busy weekend. Lastly this place is family owned and from the time you arrive they welcome you as if you are a distant relative they haven't seen in a while......if you are nice the GM may even show you his secret fishing spot where my oldest daughter caught her first fish on her own and I caught three fish, all different species different than my daughters including a trout and no catfish....Best place I've stayed quite possibly ever. We will be back again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: I would spend the extra money and get a cottage. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away from Plattsburgh for a few days, I had never been to lake placid before so we decided to go. We had a lovely stay at Wildwood, we were surprised when we arrived to find that we had Cottage 118 as we had reserved a specialty room. The room was wonderful, we used the fireplace every night and enjoyed the jacuzzi bathtub. The room was adorably rustic themed, the picture on their website is incredibly accurate. They also had just upgraded their tv's when we went (we could see the old ones waiting to be taken away), the flat screen connected well with my boyfriends ps3 system and we were able to use Netflix through it at night. The internet connection was strong and we had no issues connecting. The staff was great, at one point we wanted to use the swimming pool and it was covered and the man at the front desk went to open it for us to use. Everyone who worked their seemed really friendly. We will definitely be back in the future, especially since the lake front looked really nice and we went when it was still frozen over. We find it funny that Wildwood is listed as a motel, as we stayed at a hotel recently in Boston, and found the accommodations here to be much nicer. Also we came when it was still cold outside, but had we stayed in the warm season we could have parked our car and walked everywhere, it really is a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marialo7592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Property: Wildwood on the Lake
Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing