We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery and friendly welcome”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery and friendly welcome”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Lake Placid and found the website for Wildwood on the Lake. It looked good and we liked the idea of a lake view so we rang and booked a room for two nights.
We were in Room 33 and it was an amazing view! We awoke to see the mist over the lake and the resident ducks waddling about on the grass!
It was so peaceful and such a tranquil setting. The room was a reasonable size with 2 queen beds and a balcony where you could sit and look out over the lake.
There was coffee and pastries served in the main building each morning and the hosts were very welcoming - he was originally from England which was a surprise.
We were made to feel very welcome and it was a lovely family atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Judie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    79
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
115
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adirondacks
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Wildwood on the Lake in Lake Placid, and I was very suprised and apalled to hear the negative comments in regards to the motel. We stayed in Cottage 18 which overlooks an all natural lake fed pool, which in case some people do not realize an all natural lake fed pool is fed with Lake water therefore if the water is not crystal clear it is because the lake is not crystal clear which in most cases it is not. The lake fed pool is absolutely refreshing and the fact that it is not treated with chemicals makes you feel as if your swimming in the lake itself. When booking my reservation I was informed that cottage 18 was not on the lake, but that it overlooked an all natural lake fed pool. Being on the lake was not a priority to us as we were easily able to acess the lake and utilize the boats/barbeques/and fire pit. The room decor was also very rustic and charming perhaps when stating that something is not something we should examine what the word actually means. Rustic furniture is defined as made of roughly dressed limbs or roots of trees, as garden seats. We have similar furniture in our home, and it is very costly to purchase "rustic" furniture.It was a very charming experience. It definately gave off a family owned and operated vibe as the owners were easily accessible for all questions. We enjoyed our time here very much and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — The charming atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank getupandgo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed at wildwood “on the lake” in June. We booked a cottage, which when we got there, discovered it was nowhere near the lake. Instead of a lake view, all we saw – and heard - out of our cottage is the busy street and the icky pool, which i agree with another reviewer, it was brown, unappealing and was more of a kids pool...eeek! Anyway, the cottage was really a room, it was not big enough to be called a cottage. I've stayed in hotel rooms that were much bigger. They called the furniture rustic, i'd call a decorator. I also agree about the housekeeping... i left a tip the first night we were there, and it did not seem to be helpful at all. i don't think they vaccumed the room, and the sheets were not changed during the four days we were there, eeek! The bathroom, well, the tub was huge and nice, the sink leaked though and the hot and cold water were switched. Was the plumber a lefty or something? Very annoying, and i almost burned myself a few times. The toilet needs replacing, it was wobbly and i was so scared it was going to break right under me. The door needs to be placed somewhere else, too. The last night we were there, we decided to do laundry... huge mistake! We ended up spending over 10 dollars just to dry two small loads, and when i brought it up to the owner, she offered me 5 dollars!!! She obviously missed the point, and i let her keep her 5 bucks. If you're going to have a washer and dryer on the facility, make sure you maintain them and not waste people's money! Just so this doesn’t all sound bad, with a little work, and more truthful advertising, this place has potential.

  • Liked — the big tub in the bathroom
  • Disliked — the view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitandnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Owners were friendly and helpful and even let us borrow bathinsgsuits after we forgot ours! Very clean room with extremely comfortable king size bed, fireplace, jacuzzi tub (which was wonderful after skiing Whiteface and after a walk into Lake Placid), microwave, fridge and coffeemaker. Very quiet and enjoyed the view of the lake and snow. Only drawback we found was our little 4 cylinder car couldn't quite make it up the driveway to our room without risking a tumble into the fence so we had to leave it at the bottom and carry our stuff. The Saranac Sourdough across the street had wonderful bread, soup, sandwiches and breakfasts! Highly recommended and we'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — jacuzzi tub
  • Disliked — the icy driveway
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rere2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

We stayed here for a long weekend from October 5-8, 2007 and we had a kitchenette unit behind the lobby. It was very quiet. We walked in and were quite pleased. The room was very big. We actually had a small living room and kitchen and a separate bedroom with two beds. The living room came in hand because my 8 year old son was able to sleep on the pull out couch. The room reminded us of a ski lodge and was VERY comfortable. We barbecued on the lakefront and the kitchenette came in handy to make potatoes and veggies and have breakfast and lunch in the room. This was a last minute trip and was not budgeted so we didn't eat out once which was fine as all of the restaurants in town were very expensive. We stopped at a super Wal-Mart near Lake George on the way up and got the food we needed. We had a small problem with the front door sticking and the owner and his daughter were very helpful and fixed it right a way. The rest of the property was very family friendly and very clean. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi. Lake Placid and all of the olympic venues were alot of fun, especially the ski jumping competition we saw. The drive up Whiteface Mountain was fun too and we topped it off with a picnic lunch on the way down. I have some wonderful pictures that I will always have to remember such a fun trip.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank JODI0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

This hotel is on Lake Placid a little distance from Main Street and Mirror Lake. You could walk to Main Street from the hotel, though some folks might consider it a long walk. We brought our young children and we all liked it. There are a few different buildings, cottages; we were in the motel building- it's an older building with I guess older rooms, so it might not appeal to some, but I found the room comfortable and atmosphere nice. There's a little indoor and outdoor pool and I think there was also a steam room. I''m not sure on this last point but I think there were also maybe canoes or boats for the Lake.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronxLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in a lakeside room. We booked a room at this place after reading the positive reviews online. Room had a balcony with a fantastic view of Lake Placid & Whiteface. Room was clean and comfortable, complete with mini refrigerator and coffee maker. Convenient location as the hotel is less than a mile walk to the shops and restaurants on the main street along Mirror Lake. We took advantage of the canoes at the hotel as well. It was a little cool when we stayed, so we did not use either of the pools. Staff at front desk was nice, allowing us to borrow a corkscrew and some wine glasses, and gave us suggestions for places to get food when we got there late the first night. Light Breakfast in the main building included coffee, juice, mini muffins, granola bars, etc.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mollywaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Property: Wildwood on the Lake
Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing