We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Deep River
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great place in LP. Across the road from a great breakfast place and good restaurants. We had a cabin. Not fancy but clean and cute. Free canoes, kayaks but you have to stay in the bay so if you want to venture further you'll have to rent one somewhere. Very nice grounds and very quiet on the lakeside of the property. Short walk to Main St. Sketchy wifi, had to sit closer to the office to get it. I would definitely stay again. Nice relaxed atmosphere compared to some of the "upscale" properties we've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank synchromom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    80
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
68
116
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After a few stays in other properties in Lake Placid, I was fortunate enough to come across Wildwood. Suffice it to say that it now feels like home, since I'm in the process of planning our third visit there this summer.
The grounds are idyllic, particularly to an NYC dweller like myself- in fact, I often compare the lakefront property to a Bob Ross painting. It's the epitome of peace and tranquility.

Thus far, we've only stayed in the pool building, and although it doesn't have a direct view of the lake from the room, it does have a shared patio space and is just steps away from the lakefront. The room is always spotless and has all the basic creature comforts one could ask for. I'd also to note that the water pressure in our bathroom is probably the best I'd ever experienced, even amongst high end hotels. It may not seem like a big deal, but when you've spent the entire day hiking, a hot shower with super strong water pressure is absolutely divine!

Everyone who works/runs this establishment is extremely kind, friendly and helpful. We were fortunate enough to bump into Stuart every morning who'd ask us about our stay and recommend things to do and places to eat. He had recommended Freestyle, directly across the street and it was so great we ended up eating there two nights in a row (something I never do!).

The worst part about Wildwood is leaving... so much so that we ended up extending our stay last time we visited. Its just too wonderful here to ever wanna go home. The minute I returned to the city (6 days ago) I started trying to a hatch a plan to return, and hope to do so in about a week or two. :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, something for every budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IlanaBLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed one week at Wildwood and thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. The view from the lakeside balcony room was priceless. We did not want to leave the room to go out to eat because we'd miss the beautiful night views, including rainbows, on the lake facing the mountains. We brought in take- out dinners. The location is easily accessible by car and walking to Main St. and restaurants, supermarket, Rite Aid etc. Free use to guests of an indoor pool as well as canoes, paddle boats, and kayaks for the lake was definitely a plus.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank betsyrose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Best vacation ever - we stayed in one of the Lakeside rooms with a balcony overlooking the lake, a fireplace and a Jacuzzi for 2. Everything about Wildwood is peaceful and relaxing. The staff is helpful and friendly, they even made sure we had marshmallows, chocolate and graham crackers for s'mores by the lakeside bonfire for my birthday. Every morning we enjoyed fresh coffee in the gazebo by the water. Afternoons were spent enjoying kayaking on the lake (all included free with the room). The resort is ideally located right on the lake, and within a 15 minute walk to town - so we could enjoy fine dining, with wine and not have to worry about parking or driving, and then return to our idyllic QUIET bit of paradise at Wildwood. The photos from our balcony are now our screen-savers at work :-) Cant' wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The facilities were all clean. The location was great. The campfire at night, the canoes and paddleboats, the hot tub, the pool; all were very nice. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Steve was great, very helpful and friendly.
The gentleman who checked us in was also friendly and accomadating.

Our lakeside room was large, clean and the bed was so comfortable. Woke in the morning to a beautiful sunrise over Lake Placid lake.

The grounds are well kept and make for a peaceful spot to have lunch or dinner. Saw a few people using an outdoor grill.

Nice to have the option of taking boats out.

One thing that we would have appreciated is a kettle in the room, but most people probably don't care. We asked for one but they didn't have an extra. The coffee maker ended up being a fine substitute.

Wifi signal pretty weak in our room (131)

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are obviously more scenic if you can get one. First floor rooms exit directly to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peepsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the Lakeside rooms the nights of the 3rd & 4th of July. The view from our balcony was beautiful -- lake & mountains, ducks & sloping lawn with gazebo & adirondack chairs . . . . The bed was very comfortable, the room spotless and roomy. The table & chairs welcome for map perusal and coffee & the balcony perfect for late nights and early mornings. It was close enough to everything, yet once there we felt like we were in an idyllic setting away from the madding crowds. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Property: Wildwood on the Lake
Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing