We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on the 2nd floor overlooking the lake.
Room - VERY CLEAN. Equipped with basically all you need - fridge, microwave, coffee machine. Balcony overlooking Lake Placid with 2 chairs. We watched the entire fireworks show right from there! A/C didn't work the best, but turning the fan on at night with the window open really worked well. Two double beds with memory foam with 2 pillows each, firm and soft, and 2 to spare. Sheets and blankets were spotless. Dresser with large closet, ironing board and colour flatscreen TV. Washroom was clean and had been updated. New towels were supplied daily. We left a tip out on the dresser for the maid but she didn't take it the first day and left an envelope with a "maid" graphic on it - thought that was great. I guess she didn't realize it was for her and didn't touch it.
Hosts - fantastic. Couldn't do enough for you. Really nice owners, very helpful and courteous staff.
Grounds - well taken care of. Canoes and kayaks free for the taking. You simply signed them out at the front desk, got your life jackets and paddles, and off you went.
Pool - there was an indoor pool, sauna and hot tub. It didn't appear to be open for the summer - more of a winter thing anyway, as we spent most of our time outdoors.
Pool - outdoor. This one was fed from the lake. It had chairs and loungers available and tons of kids toys. It was located beside the road but kept private with a fence.
Free bus - there was a free bus that stopped at the Comfort Inn next door and the mall down the street (go there for groceries and drinks).
Restaurants - try "Deperatos" down the road within walking distance. The food is good, service great and cold beer. Ho Jo's was right next door too and had a nice breakfast, reasonably priced.
Downtown - lots of neat shops and various eateries. It's all metered parking or lots. It is about a 20 minute walk downtown from the resort or catch the free bus.
All in all, a solid 3 star. There were families and couples there enjoying the lake and they had bonfires at night for everyone. Pets were welcome.
If you are passing through for a few days or planning a wkd of skiing, I would recommend it. Price is right and it is very clean. It's about 20 min from Whiteface.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Lakeside for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfnirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 268 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I rented a lakeside standard double for our family of 3 (including our 8 year old daughter) to stay in during the weekend of the Lake Placid Marathon (my husband ran the half). Even with "just" a standard room, our view was spectacular! Lake Placid was literally a few steps from our door, with canoes and paddleboats for guests' use (FREE--you just sign them out at the desk where they have lifejackets to loan guests).
My husband and daughter had a fantastic time out on a double paddleboat, but she had an even better time "survival" fishing! This was an unexpected bonus, as we didn't have a scrap of gear with us and she had never fished before. She asked me for some of my embroidery floss and a safety pin, and before you knew it, she & my husband had caught 5 fish-2 rock bass and 3 bluegills! All safely released afterwards, of course. But she had a total blast.
Our room was very clean and the double beds were comfortable. The bathroom had been nicely updated, excellent hot water and water pressure control in the shower (I appreciate this, having experienced problems elsewhere).
I also greatly appreciated the "family lounge" that was just around the corner from our room. I ended up having to do some unexpected work from home, and it was perfect for that purpose. Although unsecured, the Wildwood wi-fi had a reasonably strong signal and--it was FREE!
We did not have breakfast in the lobby, but it's nice to know it is available. We also did not have time to use the heated indoor pool OR the lovely, lake-fed outdoor pool. I really wanted to try the outdoor pool, but we were under time pressure and had lots of activities going.
I did enjoy taking a little reading and wine-sipping time in the gazebo outside our room overlooking the lake.
The staff (front desk and room service staff I met in the halls) were all very friendly and unpretentious. We were very comfortable and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desdemica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been staying at the Wildwood since 1981. Each year the second generation of Webers add more nice things to the motel. It is one of a very few motels in Lake Placid that is actually on Lake Placid and the swimming pool that you see from the road is actually fed with free flowing water from Lake Placid so there is no chlorine in it. They also have the usual swimming pool, too. It is indoors for those who stay there in the winter. Since they are on the lake they offer paddle boats and canoes so that you can actually enjoy the lake. There are excellent restaurants within an easy walk, including the last Howard Johnson restaurant in the country.

Room Tip: ask for room 34 or 35 and you will get a great view of Whiteface Mountain as you look across Lake Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Really loved staying here! Booked a last minute room for the marathon weekend and we got the best room in the place! Lake view from our little balcony. The location was perfect. About 1 mile from center of town, perfect warm up to the start line for the marathon. Great location right on the lake. Free rowboats, canoes, and paddle boats to take out on the lake. Simple breakfast included of coffee and muffins in the very cozy lobby which smelled deliciously of balsam fir. Can't get enough when in the Adirondacks. Next trip we will def stay here again. Only improvement would be new towels and washcloths. They were kinda old and scratchy.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYfoodie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We return year after year .We find the hotel clean,staff friendly(know them all by name) easy walk to village.We park and walk to eat. If we are feeling lazy take the trolley to town. Plenty of good options for meals in walking distance. Wine shop and large grocery store in walking distance .
We enjoy the clean lake,inside pool,hot tub and great camp fires. Only thing that what would improve our stay would be new towels and wash cloths , very dated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,345,678,995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been staying here for 10 years, and it is the best place to stay in Lake Placid. Plus it is actually on Lake Placid!
Petra and Stuart are doing an amazing job.
The rooms are always clean and most with a great view.
Our stay was a bit rainy so we only had one bonfire night.
See you next year !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights this past weekend for our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the lakeside suite. What a nice room! Quite large and very clean, beautiful view of Lake Placid. We loved the fireplace at night too. Very convenient to town as well. The first night was very quiet and peaceful. Our second night a large group must have come in because there were children running up and down the halls yelling and screaming and a group of adults decided to go into the lounge(which shared a wall with our room) and proceed to party until about 1am. I don't blame the hotel for this however, it was the inconsiderate other guests I was upset with. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and room and are planning to come back with our own kids - however we will not allow them to act like the ones we encountered!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $68 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing