We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here for 2 nights”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed here for 2 nights”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We (My GF and I) stayed here January 3, 4 of 2013. We got in around 8 and had our keys by 8:10. Very nice Hotel/Motel. Reception is nice and smells and looks like Christmas. We had a room by the pool, so it smelt a little like chlorine but the showers were great and so was the heater. The rooms are dated but I think it adds to the charm. Pool was good, hot tub was great after a day on the hills.

It was a 10-15 minute walk to main street in Lake Placid which was fine for us. You go up a hill and then down it so if your older, I probably wouldn't recommend.

The price is amazing and plus you get lift tickets so you can't beat it. We only planned on staying 1 night but since the place was so cheap and we were having a good time in town, we opted for another night which was arranged easily.

Reasons for this place...location (10 minute walk to thes trip and about 10-15 minute drive to white face) and price!

Thanks again Wildwood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandersP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    78
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
113
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for a ski trip during the holidays. The place was very clean, staff very helpful and courteous, the hotel is very close to Main St. There was a big storm while I was there, in the morning the place was cleaned very well and there was no problem leaving to go skiing. Then after the skiing, there was a nice hot tub to relax in. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were 4 adults and 3 kids and wanted to spend a few nights between Christmas and New Years in Lake Placid. Looking for a more affordable hotel not too far from Main street and with decent reviews, we decided to book Wildwood on the Lake since they did have 2 rooms available. This is not a fancy or modern hotel and it is a little walk to the Main street attractions (although parking is not an issue and it's really cheap at 1$/2h) but it's very clean, well kept, quiet, staff is very friendly and it has good amenities. Pharmacy and 3-4 places to eat are within a 5 min walk as well. We definitely want to return in the summer to take advantage of the "on the lake" location.
A couple of suggestions would be to change the TVs for something more modern and to heat up the common family room (lakeside building) to normal temperatures as in was really cold in there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I decided at the last minute on the way back home from Montreal to stay in Lake Placid on a Saturday evening. We did not book any hotel in advance. In Montreal we looked quickly at tripadvisor to see if we could find a reasonably priced, well-reviewed hotel. We stumbled upon Wildwood On The Lake. We know Lake Placid and that the hotels on Main Street can be pricey. Wildwood is only about a half mile up the hill toward Saranac Lake. We stopped at Wildwood in the early afternoon and were greeted by friendly and informative staff. We chose a lakeview room for $88. The room, while somewhat dated, was no-frills, clean and comfortable. The lakeview was beautiful as there was a light snowfall most of the day/night. The Saranac Sourdough cafe is conveniently located across the street for breakfast or lunch. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a budget alternative to the more pricey properties on Main Street. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jockadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a quick anniversary trip. Based on the reviews, we paid a bit extra to have a lakeside room. On the way down on the train, the US customs officer, when we told him where we were staying, said that he has stayed there around 15 times! A very good sign. The room was very comfortable and clean and had a gorgeous view of the lake. We happened to arrive with a mini snowstorm so we did not use the firepit but did use the whirlpool and sauna. We already found it a great place but I think it was the people running it who make this place special. They are very friendly and always offering you coffee. When my husband and I were waiting for our shuttle bus back to the train station, I asked if they sold stamps for a postcard. The man offered to post it for me - it arrived here in Montreal yesterday!

It is around a ten minute walk from the main street but there is a lot around the hotel, a Rite Aid right across the street, a bank and several restaurants. Also very close by (beside the Comfort Inn next door) is the trailhead of the Peninsula nature walks with around four trails, some taking you right along the lake. I found this much nicer than walking around Mirror Lake.

Only thing to say is that as our boots were snowy and wet, it would be good to have a mat beside the door. Maybe they usually have this, the snow was a surprise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28 (128), facing the lake. Modern-ish room, bathroom was clean with new tiled floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebusyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A group of about 20 of us stayed at Wildwood this past summer for a family reunion. The place was in a nice location right on Lake Placid, had a big firepit for nightly bonfires, kayaks, canoes, all free of charge. There was a cute little indoor pool, hot-tub and sauna. There is also an outdoor pool, fed by the lake, with a little man-made beach and some swings, etc. for kids. Lots of outdoor seating by the lake, picnic tables, muskoka-type chairs, etc. and lots of green space to run around. There is a main 'inn' housing rooms (only 2 stories high), and also some individual cabins/cottages that you can rent. The beds were comfy, the whole place has a cozy feel to it. there is a main "library" or "sitting room" iside where we would eat some nights if the weather was cool or drizzly. Lots of the surrounding restaurants will cater in food to you there, and for a group our size, this is what we did rather than going out to dinner each night. the rooms also had a fridge which was very convenient. The owners are excellent - full of suggestions and tips as to where to go, what to see, what not to see. It's only about a 15 minute walk to the main strip in lake placid where all the shoppiing and restaurants are, but there are also lots of restaurants, liquor stores and grocery stores right across the road from Wildwood so the location is great. We went to Whiteface mountain and did the climb up - it was fantastic. A good time was had by all of us at Wildwood, and our group was made up of infants, toddlers, 30 year olds to 60 year olds. There was something enjoyable for everyone. The kayaks and canoes are a big plus as it's so nice to go out for a paddle in the early morning on the lake, or sunset, oh, and a great breakfast place right across the road! Very beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a lakeside room on ground level and it was very nice to wake up and see the lake each morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Decided last minute to get out of town, and found the reviews and cost fit the bill. Thrilled to have extra $ to spend on drinks and eats while exploring Lake Placid. Clean and comfortable. Dated but quaint. Firepit on the lake was a great way to end each day. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerO_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Property: Wildwood on the Lake
Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing