We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was a last-minute trip after a planned trip to Killington, VT was literally washed out (hurricane Irene). 8 of us motorcycling through the Adirondacks. $88.00/night!! I was a bit leary because of the low cost and was pleasantly surprised! this got us 2-king bed rooms, lakeside, with a fire pit, barbecue, free use of boats, and QUIET. Fridge, microwave, coffee in room, small tv but who stays in to watch? Family owned and operated, they were extremely attentive. My group stayed 3 nights. They also have a lake-fed pool with sand "beach", indoor pool and hot-tub, a urge that doubles as a ski-waxing room in winter, and is accessible to everything. And the view across the lake? Priceless. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms, cottages, and we saw a really nice suite with kitchenette, table, king bed and fire...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pa2ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Sir, you are kind and we thank you. Glad to hear you found value in the amenities we provide. I am also thrilled to hear that the reasonable rate did not deter you and you gave us a try anyway. Look forward to your next visit.
Petra Weber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Wildwood on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 263 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were only here passing through for one night. What a shame. The place is really good. We only paid $78 for a room with a king, lakeside. I called at the last minute from the car based on Trip Advisor reviews and that's what they offered me. Fantastic! A week and a half past Labour Day weekend so I guess the more quiet season had begun. We got there at 5 pm and within 15 minutes we were on a rowboat (complimentary boats of all types) heading towards the other end of the bay. The next morning we woke up to a pink sunrise, mist on the lake, ducks and mergansers and a great heron near shore, all quiet, just amazing. There is a lovely pool, great for toddlers, fed by waterfalls with lake water, and some sand they'd brought in a create a beach for the kids with a playground and some sand toys and vehicles, and lots of lawn chairs and some grassy play space near the lake. There's also an indoor heated pool. Our room was comfortable and well kept, and right next to a nice little lounge. The people at reception were fantastic, very nice forthcoming people happy to help and advise.

Room Tip: Obviously try to get lakeside!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kotuku33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

It is always nice to hear that a customer is happy. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope to see you again in the future. Give us a shout when it's time to put the little one on skis. Winter is equally as stunning here in the Adirondacks and Lake Placid.
Again thank you for the compliments.
Petra Weber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We are here now and felt I had to write what a clean well run family owned property this is. We were here for three nights, left to go to Canada, but cut it short to come back to lake placid for another three nights. When we arrived back my kids said it feels good to come back and ran for the docks to kayak on the back bay of lake placid.
They have water equipment, grills, a swimming area, ping pong, washer dryer, refrig and microwave in room. Supermarket around the corner, we have been saving money by eating in.
The rooms are sparse but very clean. Most of all the view is stupendous!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next year.

Petra Weber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is the second year that my family has stayed at Wildwood. Last summer we were only there for two nights and this summer we decided on three because Wildwood was such a great time. When we arrived on Thursday we parked the car and did not drive again until we left on Sunday morning. There is a Rite Aide and a Hannafords supermarket all within a 1-5 minute walk. Wonderful breakfast places are also within a 5 minute walk including Howard Johnson's and the fantastic Saranac Sourdough. For kids, and lovers of McDonald's coffee you can visit the McDonalds 2 minutes walking up the street. Walking to downtown is not ambitious. It's a brisk 15 minute walk. It's so lovely to walk anywhere in Lake Placid I'm confused why anyone would drive downtown from Wildwood? There is also a free trolley that operates during the day and evenings and stops right in front of the hotel. This trolley will take you downtown and back to all the major Lake Placid attractions.

Wildwood itself is welcoming and comfortable. The view from the back lawn "and lake view rooms" is incredible and all of the amenities (indoor pool and hot tub, lake fed pool outside, free and unlimited use of kayaks, row boat, paddleboats and canoes, evening fire and plenty of seating) make this place extraordinary for the price. There were several nights during our stay where there was no vacancy and yet it never seemed crowded. I hope my family decides to make our visits to Wildwood a tradition. There was even discussion of trying to book a cabin for a longer stay next year!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms, particularly on the second floor are ideal for an early morning cup of coffee and s...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ari247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

As a family run operation we are always thrilled to hear how much our guests have enjoyed their stay. We love seeing the same families year after year and also hope you make it a tradition.
Have a Good Year!
Petra Weber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have been going to Wildwood for 50 years, have never had anything but a good reception, love the the family oriented atmosphere, the fun outdoors and in the pools, boating, barbeques, watching everyone just run around and have a great time (this includes our 6 grandchildren). Our rooms have always met our expectations, the staff is cordial and obliging. We are meant to feel like part of the Wildwood experience. Can hardly wait until next year.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake give you an beautiful view, expecially in the evening when the sun sets.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanafyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

The Weber's Thank You for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you all next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We ended up going here after the hotel we originally planned to go to was full. It was a bit difficult to make a reservation since they have no online booking, but in most cases, it should be fine to show up without a reservation if you aren't picky about getting a lake view. It's an older motel, but very well maintained and clean. Furnishings are rustic and real wood. They let us use the pool and boats even after we had checked out.
Highly recommend the bakery / breakfast /lunch place across the street, their sourdough bread is divine, and you MUST try the paysan eggs!

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor lake view room!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Off-and-Away-I-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are please that you found the Wildwood and hope to see you again. I would like to point out that we do not take on- line bookings because we feel in these impersonal times a reservation made with one of our staff results in less confusion and a more satisfied customer. Lake Placid does have a public swim beach. Wildwood has a Lake-fed, sand /beach pool. A real hit with children. We do find that the peace and quiet our lawn and
lakefront provide along with the boats suits a majority of our guests. Again we are pleased you enjoyed your stay .
Petra Weber
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We DJ and coordinate area wedding receptions during the summer and try to stay at the Wildwood whenever possible (we're always disappointed when they are full). The cabins and rooms are very clean and well kept, some with fireplaces and balconies overlooking an inlet of the lake. The staff has always been very friendly and responsive. There are several restaurants within walking distance and it's just a couple of minutes drive from the beautiful downtown area with its shops, restaurants, and events. Top notch value priced lodging, relaxing surroundings!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. As a family run operation we are always on the go and hope that our efforts and ideas are successful in pleasing our customers. Thanks again and see you soon.
Petra Weber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $68 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing