We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the lake”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildwood on the Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Renfrew, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“On the lake”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This motel located towards the west end of Lake Placid is modern, clean and close to some restaurants. Our room had fridge & microwave with excellent sitting area outside our door overlooking the lake. Plenty of free parking with inside corridors. The bed had bit of a dip in the middle which didn't mean a good sleep but only for one night. Hotel is biker freindly providing rags for cleaning your ride. In door pool and spa is complemented by and outside swimming area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cleoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, General Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our proptery. We are pleased that you found so many of the features of our property to be positive. We apologize that your sleep quality was not excellent. The beds in the lakeside rooms are new pillowtop queen size beds which might make them a little softer than non pillow top beds. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

Petra Weber
General Manager
Wildwood on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    78
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
113
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neptune City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

i can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our vacation at Wildwood on the Lake. It was everything we needed and so much more. Our cabin was clean, large and comfortable and just steps to beautiful Lake Placid. The whole complex was clean and neat, but not fancy..so relaxing in that atmosphere was a breeze. The owners/managers are on-site to answer questions and do a great job keeping things running smoothly and looking good. Location just could not be any better too.
What a stay! If you want all your cares to fall away on your vacation then make a reservation at Wildwood on the Lake!

Room Tip: I recommend Cabin 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, General Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that your stay was great. We take great pride in our property and love sharing our "piece of the lake" with everyone who comes to stay. We look forward to seeing you and your family next year!


Best-

Petra Weber
General Manager
Wildwood on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga County, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed in a very nice suite overlooking the lake for three nights.
Not many people around as school was not in recess yet.
The owners are always friendly and accommodating.
There is always a campfire on the lake shore each night..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goalnantuckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I have camped for training weekends in the past but this place offers such a great value there's no need to anymore. We stayed here in may and June , once in a lakeside room and once in the pool room. Both rooms were great with plenty if room for two triathletes ample gear.

The location is great - a few minutes' bike to mirror lake and the oval. Theres a rite aid right across the street and don't miss the new leaf coffe house on saran ave. Yummy!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariaismaslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We book a room with Wildwood for the Lake Placid marathon. Our stay was Friday and Saturday nights. The hotel is one of the older places in Lake Placid. However, the room was great. We had a first floor lakeside room. It was extremely clean, the linens, floors and bathroom. All of the furniture was in excellent condition. The bathroom had been recently remodeled. There is an actual key for the door. The hotel is on the edge of the village and everything in town is within easy walking distance. We will stay here again. The room price was a great value and less than the majority of other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed in room 101. Not a very friendly welcome at the reception. I was immediately asked to pay upfront for the 3 days stay. The room was good size but dark. The towels were worn out and the room smelled from the kitchen nearby. I hurt my knee and had to leave a day early. Owners refused to reimburse me for the last night or offered any compromise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfb7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
We are saddened that you chose to send a negative review a mere 3 days after departure. Certainly not enough time for us to have taken any action in regards to your early departure. With that in mind you were informed that it was unlikely the kitchenette unit could be rented for one night as it was booked the following day. It is common practice to require pre-payment and is an industry standard for Holidays and Special events as it also protects you. As I recall your 11:00 am arrival was a surprise and your unit was not yet ready for check-in. Maybe that made you feel unwelcome? Lake Placid was #1 in off hill activities and as you were not checked out @ 11 am I assumed you were making use of the beautiful day as your injury was not restricting your walking around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The housekeeping staff and location across from Rite Aid and Saranac Sourdough were the only things which were positive. The woman who checked our group and out was extremely rude and very unpleasant. The rooms were relatively clean, but the towels were dirty and dingy and bleach didn't do much to clean them. The heat was not consistent, it was either a sauna or a freezer, there was no in between. Lights were broken so there was no way to turn them on. There was no effort to come and take care of anything which needed to be fixed. It wouldn't take a lot to spruce this hotel up a little, buy new towels and get a new owner/front desk person!!!! The owner clearly does not care. I will NEVER stay here again, when there are cheaper, cleaner options elsewhere!!!! I would highly recommend staying at another hotel closer to town. You get what you pay for, but this was overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NationParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
I am sorry you feel we were not pleasant enough at check in and out. Sarah has been with us for a number of years and always receives compliments on her customer service. It is certainly difficult to give individual attention when attempting to check in a bus. I will keep that in mind next time we have a large group checking in. As for day of check out I am sorry you feel I was unpleasant. Though less than half of your group actually checked out at the desk, choosing instead to leave keys in rooms. If you called the front desk regarding the light I apologize no such message was received. I wish you had restated your need at some point in your 3 day stay, we certainly would have attended to it. Our heat/ cooling units are the standard used in most hotel/motel chains. When properly set we have had no complaints. Thank you for giving me opportunity to address the towels. We are not pleased with the purchase we made either as we found they are not a true white leaving them looking less than regardless of what we do. When it comes time to replace them we will certainly make that change happily. Ownership will remain the same here at the Wildwood as it has been for 40 years meaning this is our home and we take all comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Property: Wildwood on the Lake
Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing