We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Placid Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$141
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$333
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$119
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobble Mountain Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
339
54
29
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
54
29
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaggie's pubrelais and chateauxowls headcovered walkwayhalf bottle of winepastry chefnew ownershipboat tourstone fireplacesoaking tubcross countrywhiteface mountainadirondack styleeach morningcookiesturn down servicespent three nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 449 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2007

Peaceful, restful, great Adirondack ambiance. Stayed in cabin a few feet from lake (Eagles Eyre). Would recommend this cabin to a newcomer. Bed was amazing with fireplace and sitting area that had a view of the lake and Whiteface Mountain through a wall of glass. Very quite. No TVs except in recreation lounge. That's the way we like it. Very pet friendly and may bring up "Bo" next time.

Service was fantastic. Stayed in late January into February. Snowed almost daily which we loved. Staffed kept the wood coming and shoveled walkways and, yes, even cleaned off our car each morning. Staff very pleasant & attentive to all our needs and seem to anticipate them before being asked. Had all meals in intimate setting (temporary cabin converted into dining room due to recent fire at main lodge). While very limited menu, which we were aware of in advance, the meals were terrific letting us know the menu the previous day in the event we wanted to go elsewhere. Breadfast had several choices and were delicious and upscale.

Loved Buddy, dog owned by one of the staff (Meagan). Greeted us daily. We stayed in the main lodge 4 years ago and they plan to rebuild with tentative completion date in 2008. Can't wait to come back to see new accommodations.

My wife and I stay in some of the most expensive resorts and while some feel Lake Placid Lodge is expensive, it is worth every penny considering the level of service, unique accommodations and location (high priced real estate right on one of the best lakes on the east coast).

Thanks to the staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BobLansdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

I travel to Lake Placid often - and have to say the the Lodge was best experiance yet. The location is wonderful and the staff is amazing. !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Martydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Let me start by saying that we have stayed in luxury villas and luxury hotels all over the world, from overnight to 2 weeks at a time. We travel quite often, it is our main hobby. We use Relais & Chateau, Luxury Hotels of the World, Zagat, Best of the Best, and other premium written and internet provided information sources to book our travel.

I could write a dissertation on our bad experience at Lake Placid Lodge, so let me sum up this way:

-The place itself is great, but the staff, especially the front office, has no concept of customer service. We even had to argue about our reservation details, which we had in writing!
-The restaurant only serves one entree per night. When we asked the restaurant what was being served for dinner on any particular night (to decide if we would dine in or go out to a local restaurant), they didn't know, even at 5:30pm! ("Some kind of pork" was the response we got one night...)
-We received different pricing and ammenities information from everyone we talked to or had written correspondence with.
-Room service (which we had often) made several mistakes on each and every delivery. Like bringing one breakfast to feed 2 people (after bringing 2 the day before). Stuff that just didn't make sense, even though the place was almost empty.

Final summary: they need to get their act together if they expect to attract more clients. The weekend we were there, they only had 4 cabins rented, the place was like a ghost town, and they still made mistake after mistake after mistake! We will never go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1newport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPLodge, Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2007

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. It is instrumental in helping us improve.

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we may have the opportunity to exceed them.

Megan
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a very memorable trip to the Lake Placid Lodge. We took the Whitney cabin which was literally two feet from the lake. The scenery was magnificent. The staff was attentive, courteous and willing to help out in any way. We were very pleased with the food, cabin and complimentary s'mores hour! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LKB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Just returned from an overnight stay at the lake placid lodge. We stayed in owls head cabin. Perfect. In the morning the sky was blue, the lake shimmering and to top it off 16 yes 16 loons came by. I loved the fact you had to climb into the bed. Breakfst was e
xcellent. The staff are so unobtrusive yet able. Totally your own time. I look forward to the completion of the lodge but am already scheduling our next visit.

Stayed: September 2006
3  Thank tiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews