We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still beautiful, but lacking the personal touch from years ago”
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still beautiful, but lacking the personal touch from years ago”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights at the LPL, staying in a lakefront cabin. This was our second time staying at the Lodge, our first being in mid-September 2001. Our experience 13 years ago was truly special, which we attributed to the personalized service that began the moment we walked in the door. While the tranquility and beauty of the setting along Lake Placid will forever remain remarkable, the personal touches and special feel about this resort has taken a step back from what it used to be.

To begin with the housekeeping showed standards below those of a Relais & Chateau property. Our cabin floor was not swept, revealing some type of white powder all over, dirty wine glasses were not cleared away, and there was some medication left in the wet bar by housekeeping on our second day. All of this is not a big deal, but just noticeable departures from a high standard of service.

At breakfast one morning, we watched one maintenance staff member in a cabin balcony scolding a colleague on the lawn below. We could hear everything, as they were shouting to hear each other from their distance. Again, not a big deal but well managed staff would never have done this in such a public setting.

Lastly, we noticed that, overall, the staff seemed inexperienced and disinterested, the exceptions being Lori the remarkable bartender, Katie at the front desk who helped us plan some great hikes, and Ernie who enlightened us on his lake tour.

We definitely plan on returning to LPL down the road, as it's just too beautiful to not enjoy. We hope that the new ownership will, in time, restore or recreate the character that the Lake Placid Lodge was known for.




Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 657christinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Christine L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. While I am very disappointed to hear we did not live up to your expectations from previous stays, please know I truly appreciate you sharing your feedback. I have personally shared your comments with the entire team and I do hope you will contact me directly when planning your next visit so I may assist in every way possible.

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    49
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
56
283
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I wanted to find a really special place where our three boys and I could bring my husband to celebrate his 50th. I booked this trip based on the Trip Advisor reviews, and I am so glad I did. This is such a unique, special property, and the staff went out of their way to make the trip a memorable one. When we entered the property, Beverly promptly greeted us with mimosas and a tour. The box lunch I had requested was waiting for us and then we were treated to a private hacker craft tour (which I also arranged ahead of time). John, who drove the boat, shared his extensive knowledge of the area with us, and we had a better appreciation of just how special Lake Placid is thanks to him. We spent our days enjoying the water and using the kayaks, canoes, paddle boats, SUPs, and fishing poles that they have readily available for guests to use (we never did get around to using the mountain bikes). Even our three teenage boys appreciated what a special place this is, and they willingly "unplugged" (no TV in the cabin was great) to fully enjoy everything LPL has to offer. It was fun to see our boys so excited over the little things, like seeing what yummy snack was going to be brought to our cabin each day and what type of cookie was going to be left at turndown.
We stayed in Buck Cabin, which I highly recommend for families. It is the only cabin with a private deck and they just recently installed a hot tub on the deck. Our oldest son loved waking up early and fly fishing right on the water outside our cabin. Our boys loved swimming in the lake and then jumping in the hot tub to warm up.
I also highly recommend having at least one four-course meal at the Artisans restaurant. . . it is an experience you won't forget. I had arranged for two meals there, one as a date night with just my husband and one with the whole family, and I was a little concerned that the limited menu might make two nights in a row too much. That wasn't the case at all. They change their menu often, and we were easily able to find two different sets of four-courses to order that made both dinners unique. The food is beautifully presented, they offer some unique game meats, and the atmosphere and view are unforgettable. We all enjoyed every bite. Also, Stephen, the sommelier, made wonderful wine recommendations for us. He didn't jump to a higher priced bottle but rather recommended two bottles that were unique but not outrageous in price.
Breakfast is included in the stay, and it is wonderful. Our waitress the first night recommended that we call in the morning to have coffee and pastries delivered to the cabin. That was a great recommendation. We did that each morning and then took our time meandering up to have our full breakfast in the main lodge (you can also have that delivered to your cabin, but we enjoyed eating on the lodge deck).
Our whole experience at LPL was amazing, and I know this is one family trip that will always be remembered. It was worth every penny to be able to give my husband and boys fond memories that they will always have of the time we spent together celebrating his 50th.

Room Tip: Buck Cabin is the only cabin with a deck and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FondueMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear FondueMom,
Wow, Thank you for such a glowing review! We are delighted that we were a part of such a special occasion for you and your family and even more delighted to hear of what special memories the Lodge will hold for you. I am so glad so many different members of our team helped create these memories, please know I have personally shared your comments with everyone. We hope to see you for that next special occasion!

Warm Regards,
Brian Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a feeling this would be a great destination when Anne Warner, the concierge, contacted us by phone 10 days before our arrival, just to see if she "could help us with any arrangements." And we were right. Location, amenities, views, activities, food, service are all of the very, very best. Our lakeside suite was spacious, comfortable and had the view of a lifetime off a beautiful over-sized deck. The staff met our every need quickly and were invariably friendly and helpful. It's the kind of place you hate to leave and genuinely hope you will return to.

Room Tip: The lakeside suites are a great value for privacy and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Amy418,
Thank you for your recent review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team takes great pride in ensuring each and every guests expectations are not only met but exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Brian Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our stay at LPL was perhaps our best vacation ever. My husband and I were traveling with our small dog and stayed in Hawk cabin for 5 remarkable nights. The entire staff was welcoming and so accommodating. Especially Ezra, Jessica, Steven and Beverly. As a working class couple from the Pittsburgh area, we are not at all accustomed to all the pampering and that definitely made it all the more special and memorable. The cabin was spotless when we checked in. There cabins were very spacious and comfortable, and the view of the lake and Whiteface mountain was breathtaking. Breakfast was delivered every morning by the most gracious staff members. Even though our little 5 pound yorkie went absolutely crazy anytime someone knocked on the cabin door, the staff never made us feel like we were bothering them or that they were being put out in any way, especially Steven, Ezra and Jessica who really went above and beyond to make us, and our pup feel comfortable and relaxed. We in no way missed not having a television. As a matter of fact, since we've returned home we are spending much less time in front of it! It was so refreshing to just focus on ourselves, on nature and on relaxing without the extra noise and distraction. The housekeeping staff was wonderful, and it was so convenient to just call for housekeeping whenever we were venturing out for the day. We were very close to town and walked and shopped every day, spending evenings at LPL walking around the lake and property and enjoying dinner in our cabin. We were so pleasantly surprised by turndown service the first night, complete with cookies and a dog treat for our pup. The food was fantastic. Every meal that we had delivered to our cabin was prepared perfectly and delivered with every condiment we could have possibly wanted. Also, I cannot possibly say enough about the amazing bathroom! Gorgeous, deep soaking bathtub with room for two, and a huge shower with double shower heads and water controls, it was wonderful! We checked out Friday morning refreshed and relaxed. It was an amazing getaway, so much better than anything we could have anticipated. Memories we will have for a lifetime!

Room Tip: We stayed in Hawk cabin, which was a lake view cabin. The view was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Angela T,

Wow! Thank you for acknowledging many members of our staff and sharing all of your remarkable experiences. We always love when one of our guests falls in love with the property as much as we have. By not having television in the rooms, it allows our guests to spend more themselves and interacting with other guests and staff. I am happy to hear this was a positive experience for you. Again, thank you for your response and we look forward to creating more memories with you in the near future!

David L’Heureux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I, along with our dog, were guests at LPL for six nights in March 2014 and we could not have had a better time. The staff is incredibly warm and welcoming, and they not only "allow" dogs, but seem to delight in having them on this rustically elegant and beautiful property. From start to finish, whatever our question was, the answer was yes. Erin, Katie, and Beverly all graciously watched our dog while we enjoyed dinner on and off property and one day while we were skiing at Whiteface (there was even a jailbreak at one point from the office into the lobby, but they just laughed about it). Our lakefront cabin Macintyre was wonderful (I believe dogs are only permitted in the cabins and not in the main lodge rooms) and had an incredible view of Lake Placid. Perhaps our favorite part of the day was the breakfast included with the room rate and delivered to our cabin every morning so that we didn't have to leave our dog behind and head to the restaurant. It seems that they will bring you literally whatever you want, and they never once got one single item wrong and it was always the perfect temperature (even during a 21" snow storm!). In addition to the physical beauty of the buildings and surroundings, the restaurants are excellent, the nightly bonfire (regardless of weather) with smores is lovely, and their array of cold weather sport equipment is impressive. Rather than feeling that you're a guest at a hotel, you feel more like a guest at a country estate owned by an old friend. Our car was cleared off and shoveled out every time it snowed, and they asked us to check in with the front desk after returning from town during the snow storm. Beverly's recommendation that we hike or snow shoe at Henry's Woods with our dog may have resulted in the most delightful day of our dog's life. LPL is perfect not only because of its location and amenities, but because of the warmth of its staff. We can't wait to return in the summer months!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Chsm,

I am blown away by all of your remarkable comments! Our staff loves to hear how they were able to make a guests stay memorable. These highlights are what we are passionate about and the small touches we know are what makes the difference. Thank you again for the response and we look forward to seeing you hopefully in the summer season!

David L'Heureux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Lake Placid Lodge gets all that stress out the minute you arrive and are checked in. After a long drive from NYC, it's a welcome sight when you draw up to the front entrance.

Check in it done very civilly (i.e. glass of champagne whilst your papers appear to quickly sign all pre-prepared) by the large stone fireplace with fire and beautiful interiors.

We stayed again at Moss Cliff a lake front lodge. I haven't ever seen any other rooms, but this room is lovely. Open and private views right on the lake (you can sleep with the curtains open) and fall to sleep at night with the fire still going in the grate.

Breakfast is lovely and we enjoyed in both in the restaurant one morning after a 7.30am canoe ride out on the lake and also when we slept in in our lodge. And they are QUICK! Never waited more than 20 minutes for full breakfast service to arrive after calling.

The main thing here is the people. All the staff are caring, helpful, friendly. From John the boat guy (take his 3pm tour on the vintage style wood boat) to the staff at Artisans, front desk and grounds people are wonderful. It truly is what makes a difference imho.

We extended our stay whilst here (we hate leaving). We hope to return again in the future, this place has a special meaning for us and will forever be in our memories.

Room Tip: Out of season in May they do 3 nights for 2 at times - well worth splurging on a lake view lodge for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OctM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear OctM,

Thank you for such a detailed response! We are happy to welcome you into our home and there is no better way to start off a vacation than a glass of champagne. I am glad the weather was nice enough for you to experience Jon''s famous boat tour, and I will share your response with him as he is truly passionate about what he does. We look forward to seeing you again soon to relieve your stress from the city!

David L'Heureux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Beautiful rooms with multiple fireplaces; a gourmet restaurant; a view of Whiteface Mountain; and a wonderful lake to explore. What more could you ask for from a mountain retreat? This lodge has been rebuilt after a devastating fire, but has not lost its character or charm. The service is friendly and impeccable. The town of Lake Placid (which is actually on Mirror Lake) is nearby and fun to tour. Local crafts are displayed from all over the region. You can also visit the Olympic facilities around town - including an amazing sky jump. All in all a great place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Paul D,

Thank you for your response and we are thrilled to hear your time with us was enjoyable. Guest service is important to us and I will make a point to share your words with our staff. Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you soon!

David L'Heureux
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,286 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing