We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe”
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What can I say that others have not. This is truly a special place,Take all the good reviews you have read about this great lodge and believe. Take the bad ones and file them in the " Does this guy have anything good to say about anything" drawer. From the moment you walk in to the stunning lobby and are greeted by Katie and the staff, to when your car is brought around and loaded with your luggage for your return home, you are treated as if you are the only guest there. When Dave, the assistant manager, calls you by name and tells you he'll remember you when you return next year, you believe.When you walk into your room and your fire is built and ready for you to light and enjoy on a cold winter evening, you believe. When you go out for dinner and upon your return to you room, your bed turned down and your fireplace restocked with more wood and ready to be relighted. You Believe. And don't forget to stop buy the front desk to get your s'mores kit. Have any of the many fireplaces lit for you and do something with your lover you haven't done in years. You Will Believe..that this place is a very special place, one to come back to often.....and we plan to..believe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Lin,

I know I can speak for all of our staff when I say we truly enjoyed your time with us! We strive not to provide our guests just a place to stay, rather we want to feel you are welcomed into our home. I am happy to hear we accomplished this during your stay. Thank you for commending the staff on their hard work and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

David L'Heureux
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 435 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We only had dinner here but this is an amazing place. We first had drinks at Maggie's Pub which was really fun. The staff has a great attitude and they have an interesting selection of unique cocktails. Dinner at Artisan's was truly exceptional. We had the tasting menu with the wine pairing. Seven courses and wine that matched perfectly. The service was perfect and the food was really unbelievable. We were all extremely happy when we left. The only caution is that this is not a cheap evening ($400 per couple ) but that said one of the best meals I ever ate anywhere in the world.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JKirk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Except for battling an ice storm to get there, this is truly one of the most remarkable places, hotels I have ever stayed. Plus if you are bringing your canine, look no further, this is the place to stay. The reservations staff, to Beverly, the front office manager, makes you feel like you arrived at your home. We were greeted by Katie at check in, with two glasses of champagne, our car was taken to our cabin, while we and the dogs received a property tour. The dogs had big fluffy dog beds which they loved, and our cabin was amazing, overlooking the lake. Our beds were heavenly, so comfy! The food, service and attention we received was 6 stars in our book. Every request was meet, we ate in Artisans, which was absolutely wonderful, and our dogs were entertained at the front desk. No worries about our doggies, we felt like we were at home, except at a beautiful resort. A must stay, couldn't recommend a place more. Look forward to our return.

Room Tip: lake front cabin worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

After about 8 months with no visit to the Lake Placid Lodge, I start to get itchy. Gotta go back ... soon! Greeted more than warmly (but discretely), great amenities in the room, comfortable ambience throughout, food reliable (but not great). Only negative is the piped in music in the dining room ... quiet instrumental (of any ilk) would be preferred.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. For our next visit we'll stay in a lakefront cabin for the first time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penrose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

this is the best most romantic hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been all over the world. We had no TV which forced my partner and to just sit and talk with each other. The had cherries waiting on the bed when I ordered them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brownard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages on the lake (Kiwassa). The cottage itself was exquisitely appointed. Every square inch had classic Adirondack design detail. You can not beat the views. Arrived late in the dark and we awakened to the lake and Whiteface Mountain out of our windows. Very special. The beds were very comfortable and dressed with wonderful linens etc. Furniture in living area very comfortable. The couch was a little beaten in and tired, but we supplemented it with the huge European pillows from the beds. The bathrooms were very roomy. The grout in the shower was tired and needed refreshing, though. My biggest complaint, and one the reasons for four stars instead of five, is that there are no exhaust fans in the bathrooms!!! We needed to leave the windows ajar and crank the baseboard heat. Very odd oversight on the part of management. The breakfasts (included in the price of the room) were good. Not great, but good. Loved the baked goods and smoothies presented at the beginning of the meal. The menu selections we ordered were ok. The polenta came stone cold. The hash was nothing special. The wait staff was excellent, though. All of the staff that attended to us for our stay were very warm, gracious and accommodating. I requested extra floor mats for inside the front door of the cabin to cut down on salt coming in. They had the mats to us immediately. Only a few lapses in service to note: They provided interesting in-room snacks for the first two days of our stay, but then stopped. In fact, they never retrieved the previous days left-over snacks. And the turn down service was spotty. Overall, the stay was magical. A wonderful rest for my family. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaxma98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

. I loved this place it was so peaceful! Our cabin was so beautiful and I loved the fireplace! It was not cheap to stay here and I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast- I felt like the portions were small and the it was not the best. Otherwise, the trip was great and I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $863 - $1,364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing