We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Of all our travels, our two nights here were among the best we could remember. But two nights is way too few to do this justice. We stayed in Mt. Marble cabin that had a great view of the lake only 50 yards away. Most of the cabins have Adirondack chairs in front of them facing the lake, but Mt. Marble doesn't. I'm sure we could have borrowed some unused ones, but with all the other chairs around the lake, there was no need to. (There are only about 30 units here, and half are small cabins that are a short walk along a covered walkway to the main building.) It was full of amenities that make this so special, including a daily cheese tray, complimentary wine and soft drinks, and a pod coffee maker. The fireplace was already loaded with wood and paper--and we needed it on one crispy morning. Food at the Artisans was great both for breakfast and dinner. This is truly a Bucket List place--for the views, the service, the food, and the accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    49
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
56
283
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a magnificent experience...right on beautiful lake placid with lots of support for water activities and hiking. Don't miss the hacker craft trip...very informative. The rooms are well set up including decks and fireplaces that are easy to use. Dining was excellent and the breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: Take the hacker craft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cptravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sad to say, we have never explored the Adirondack region of our own state! I am hard pressed to find a more beautiful location, or a more amazing place to stay than at the Lake Placid Lodge. Beverly, the front desk supervisor is nothing short of a gem. She welcomes you warmly and is sincerely interested that you feel at home and have a wonderful time. She changed our cabin gladly when there was a mixup as to whether we were staying lakeview or lakefront. I had heard amazing things about the room service breakfast, and although it was fresh, it was not nearly amongst the best that we have had. The lodge is expensive, but if you can swing it, PLEASE try and get a cabin that is lakefront. The views are so breathtaking....what a magical refuge from everyday life. In short, if we could go back tomorrow, we would!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyP_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've stayed at the Lake Placid Lodge twice, once with our dog and both times we were very impressed.This is a superlative hotel. We have stayed in 5 star resorts in NYC, Rome, Kyoto, Paris and Hong Kong. None combine the quality of the room, the service, the view and the food. Although this hotel is expensive, guests enjoy the beauty of staying in a wonderful gallery of Adirondack art. So many unique pieces of furniture, wonderful paintings, lamps and sculpture adorn every space. Getting up in the morning and watching the sun rise over Lake Placid from your balcony is truly memorable. The staff are ready to help with anything at a moment's notice and are unfailingly pleasant. We ate at most of the best restaurants in Lake Placid during our several trips, and can say that Artisan's at the Lodge is the best. It is rare to find the combination of food quality, ambiance, view and service. What a luxury experience.
Some other guests have mentioned that the nearby Whiteface Lodge is a better hotel, but having visited it, the rooms, furnishings and restaurant all have the feel of an Andirondack-styled Sheraton. The menu is basically surf and turf. Not extraordinary.
The Adirondacks are unique and beautiful mountains, rising out of northern New York as if by magic. The Lake Placid Lodge celebrates this and lets its guests focus on it's beauty. The Lodge's policy of restricting small children is welcome to patrons seeking quiet elegance.
We really enjoyed our trip, and recommend it very strongly - we'll be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A visit to the Adirondacks was on our travel wish list...the staff and facilities of Lake Placid Lodge fullfilled our wishes. We stayed in Birch cabin next to the main lodge. The amenities met the expectations for the price paid. Comfy king bed, leather chairs for reading inside (fireplace too, but it was too warm to use) porch swing and adirondack chairs outside for taking in the wonderful view of the lake and Whiteface mountain. Wine, cheese, fruit, juices, fresh baked cookies and sweets in our room. French press for in room coffee...(but service for anything was immediate) Two bathrooms - one with large soaking tub, the other with a large couple's shower. Took advantage of the lodge canoes, electric boats and HackerCraft. Artisan's provided a wonderful dinner. Breakfast was our favorite meal each day of the four we were there. I chose to sit on the lodge deck while my wife preferred to have it delivered to her in bed. The lodge staff could not have been nicer - of course they have a great work environment! Would like to return during the snow season to discover more!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HundredTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I ended up paying over $600 for a room at the Lake Placid Lodge, which was a total waste of money.

I booked the room when I was pregnant, thinking that we would have one last getaway before the baby. Then my doctor advised against being in Lake Placid (and not near a NICU) around the due date. So, I rebooked our stay for 4 months after the baby was born. The Lodge gave me a suprisingly hard time about rebooking, but ultimately let me change the date after much back-and-forth. Then shortly before our arrival, I noticed for the first time that it said on the website "Children over the age of twelve are welcome at the Lake Placid Lodge." A nice way of saying children are banned? Note - they do not have this important point in the terms and conditions when you make your purchase or otherwise clearly stated when you are making a non-refundable booking. I desperately tried to make other arrangements - perhaps my parents could come and watch the baby overnight, and we could still enjoy the hotel during the day....Well, when we arrived we were informed that the baby was allowed no where on the premises. Not to join us for lunch, not by the lake... The man informing us of this looked at the baby rather horrified, trying to disguise an emotion that was clearly "Oh god - get out." He said - "Don't worry - the baby's allowed in the lobby at this MOMENT, as we are talking about it, but unfortunately, we are rather strict with this policy..." We were at a loss for what to do for the day. We'd paid to enjoy these hotel facilities that could not be enjoyed. Long story short, we ended up booking another hotel that accepted babies for the day & the night. We gave back the keys to the Lake Placid Lodge without using the room (although I looked at it).

The Lake Placid Lodge has refused to give us any refund, any discount, or any other accommodation. I don't know whether they were able to fill our vacant room (which we vacated at about 3pm that day) or not. The vibe I got from this hotel was one of complete intolerance and snobbery. The Lodge has continued to refuse to give us any money back since this happened.

Importantly, after this horrible experience, and paying hundreds of dollars for NOTHING, we went to the Whiteface Lodge, which is another nearby resort. The room we got was less money and MUCH, MUCH nicer - SEE MY OTHER REVIEW OF WHITEFACE.

I recommend that you all go to the Whiteface Lodge instead for a better experience all around!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank alka504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lake Placid Lodge has been on my list of places to visit for some time and last month my husband and I spent three nights in one of the overlook cabins, "Birch". The architecture of the Lodge is lovely, with warm woods and inviting places to sit and enjoy the view. Some pros and cons from our experience.

Pros: Cabin was very quiet, bed was nicely firm, and blackout drapes kept out most of the morning sun. Terrific shower pressure. Good reading lighting. Cookies at turndown and replenished juice and water were nice touches. Kayaking from the Lodge was very easy to do. Front desk personnel were very helpful with information on local drives and hikes. GREAT breakfasts, with the best maple bacon, terrific baked goods, and lovely views from the restaurant deck. It was peaceful to sit and read on the dock lounges, which were right on the water. Very enjoyable ride on the mahogany Hacker-Craft. Enjoyed speaking with the gentleman from the falconry and "holding" the barn owl.

Cons: Maggie's Pub does not take reservations, so we were not able to eat there for our third night as planned. Instead, we had a second dinner at Artisans Restaurant. Dinners were good, but service could be slow. Loud music from a Saturday night wedding resulted in a lot more noise than anticipated. No (or very limited) drink service while sitting on the lounge chairs by the dock, and we never did figure our where the large brown beach towels could be found.

All said, the pros outweigh the cons, and we are planning a return trip during the winter for a cozy getaway.

Room Tip: Birch was one of two overlook cabins, the other being Pine which was set slightly further back. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,286 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing