We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Shining, Redux” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Shining, Redux”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The good: the location of our rustic cabin on the lake. A view to rival any.
The bad: the appalling attitude of the staff. Couldn't care less, couldn't get anything right. We arrived to find a double sheet on a king bed revealing a stained mattress. Apologies? Dream on.
Getting waitstaff attention at dinner? Go hail a cab on a rainy night in London. Expect the birthday cake ordered in advance? Fuggedaboutit.
The ugly: the sadness of seeing a once great resort headed south. We hope someone new buys it and restores it to former glory. Donald? Donald?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexHawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    47
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
55
269
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked our stay as a 'celebration' vacation, to get away, and to indulge (over 30-something couple, no children). The booking staff was friendly, helpful and good-humored while we made our decision over the phone. We visited in late March for four nights, when snow was still on the ground, but their winter season was drawing to a close. Our check-in was pleasant (tour of the grounds, sparkling wine in hand as our bags were taken to our private lakefront cabin). Much of the staff we met were friendly and accommodating and very service-oriented (front desk, housekeeping, room service, the guys who maintain the fireplaces, etc.) We absolutely LOVED our well-appointed cabin, the huge bed, the in-room fireplace, quality toiletries, daily in-room snacks (nuts, cheeses, dried fruits). The fireplace was re-stocked daily - which we loved. We took our breakfast there in our cabin each morning as we sat at our bay window overlooking the snow-covered lake. The breakfasts were high-quality and they accommodated for our custom orders. It was an easy, covered walk up to the building, and we felt the sense of privacy we were looking for while in our cabin.

The main building is very attractive. We ate dinner one night the in Lodge's pub in the main building. The food was tasty, but IMHO it was over-priced, and the service seemed slow and inattentive. As a result, we ate most lunches and the remaining dinners in the town of Lake Placid the remaining nights, where there were many casual options which offered fine local beers (go check out Lake Placid Brewery!) The walkable portion of town with restaurants/shopping is an easy 10-minute drive from the Lodge. There are no televisions in the rooms/cabins, but there is a large-screen media room in the main building, which allowed us our March Madness fix. We relaxed one afternoon/evening in the pub, playing billiards. The cocktails were innovative and tasty, and the drinks were well-poured.

The Lodge staff set us up with snowshoeing and cross-country skiiing on property, supplied us with day packs, bottled water and all the gear we needed. The snowshoing in the wooded trails was well-marked, with plenty of nice views. X-country skiing was on the grounds of an adjacent golf course with a variety of trail options, however, with an unclear relationship with the Lodge (Do we just go on the course? Do we pay golf course staff? What is the actual cost?) Desk staff was also willing to give us general advice for activities in the town of Lake Placid proper. However IMHO, the Lodge staff did not prepare us with enough specific information for some of our trips into town. In particular, we wanted to tour various Olympic sites and activities in town, and at that time of year, the scheduling of those activities was very hit-and-miss. The ski-jump and bobsled venues had very unusual schedules, and we did not have that information through the Lodge in order to plan our overall stay and our trips into town - and we missed the opportunities to visit those venues. The Lodge does not schedule such activities in town for guests, but it would have been in keeping with their standard of service for the Lodge to be more aware of the particulars of the dominant tourist attraction in the area.

However, best of all, we were afforded an upgrade to the Lodge's premire suite in main building for the last night of our stay. The room was easily twice the size of our cabin, and the facilities were excellent quality (including a massive shower and a complimentary wet bar). It included a large porch overlooking the lake, which featured a swinging, queen-sized bed for lounging. If you have the chance, you should definitely take it. This was a great vacation for us (a woodsy-indulgence. We like the cold and the snow, and we would return for another winter stay. Just be sure to ask/double-check around if you plan to head off the property as the end-of-season schedule of Olympic venues may require you to adjust your activities.

Room Tip: Ask about/check the website for the differences between their 'Lakeview' vs. 'Lakefront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stopped by Lake Placid Lodge on a kayak trip on Lake Placid. The staff was incredible- they helped us load our kayak onto the dock so we could stop in for a drink at the bar. Laurie the Bartender was awesome! She is a great mixologist and provided great customer service. Definitely considering the stay there next time we are in town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AXOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

this is a spectacular destination where customer service is of the highest order and attention to detail is paramount. Many products and services are included in the price, such as, a guided boat tour around Lake Placid, different hor d' oeuvres/snacks delivered to your room, to accompany your favorite beverage, a copious breakfast, high quality bicycles, kayaks, and canoes, your refrigerator stocked with waters and fruit juices....even s pre-packaged s'mores kits which you can take down to the lakeside campfire and do-it-yourself. The waitstaff has been very well trained--you are greeted by everyone with a pleasant smile. We were celebrating a big anniversary and were comp-ed a bottle of champagne. The interior decoration is real Adirondak, but without the kitchy items you find in lesser venues. The restaurant and pub have quality dishes and drinks. Definitely a place for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarandisuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Adirondack High Peaks region is a national treasure, and if you've got the urge to climb, canoe, fish or whatever, get going. But pack your rain gear because you're likely to to encounter precipitation at some point. So the life of a 'Dacks outdoorsman/ -woman has its appeal, but it doesn't have to mean that you need to stay in a tent or a "family motel" with weird odors. No, indeed! If you have the means, you can return to the epitome of civilization to rest your weary head at this exquisite, informal Relais & Chateaux property on gorgeous Lake Placid. The place is an architectural wonder (restored several years ago after the original was consumed by fire), with the largest private collection of Hudson River School art on the walls (so they claim) and plenty of antlers. But on these hand hewn chairs you'd be more likely to see Thurston Howell than granny smoking a pipe. There are 2 restaurants, Artisans for fine dining and a charming pub with excellent fare and less fanfare. The bartender is a whiz with fantasy cocktails. The staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the best hikes and watering holes (eating every meal at the Lodge would make you fat and happy, so you may want a break to stay thin and happy). Make sure you take a ride on the Lodge's custom-made boat, and do one of the hand-made puzzles in the pub at night. This is pretty much a perfect resort, but be warned, a few nights there cost about the same as a week in resorts considered fairly posh. I love this place and will return and return and return if my good fortune remains.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickynotsnooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a place! Although the weather was rainy and cold, this elegant place was awesome. All of the rooms/cabins have real wood burning fireplaces and you are encouraged to use them. The view is amazing, the staff is welcoming and their service is unbelievable. The food is gourmet with an extensive wine list, and they will accommodate any dietary restrictions and allergies without question. What the weather did not provide, this place did! Awesome romantic setting...we were greeted with two glasses of champagne, and our room had a half bottle of wine with cheese and poached pears! Fireplaces abound throughout the place, both outside and inside, and if a fire is not lit, there sits matches with wood and paper in the fireplaces for you to start! This place is worth the price....you won't regret your decision to stay at the Lake Placid Lodge. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loosh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Loved this place, we only came for cocktails but had we known how gorgeous a setting it was we would have loved to stay here. Also, like other reviews have stated, the staff was divine--friendly and attentive. We were encouraged to wander the public rooms and the grounds and beach and everything was just so lovely. The mixologist was also righteously talented--The Ruby Slipper was excellent! Really, if you can afford it--go!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing