We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Resort on National Championship weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand Resort on National Championship weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

In Lake Placid for Men's college Hockey National Championship.
Decided to treat ourselves.So happy we did
. A cold snowy weekend this resort could not be more beautiful.
Service was attentive and caring which was really appreciated .
Just a few minutes away from downtown but a world away in setting and ambiance.
My wife and i loved it and will be back

Room Tip: Rooms vary just call ahead and discuss with them what is available and will best fit your needs.We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    41
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
49
238
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent two days at the lake Placid lodge, a real deluxe experience. Would recommend this to anyone wanting a little down time. The resort is really beautiful and every attention to detail has been done. We wanted to book a pine room but there was no availability they upgraded up to a Lakeview suite. Thanks really appreciated. Not much difference between to lake view and lake front (for the cabin we were in anyways. They great you with a a glass of champagne nice touch. All documentation is personalized you can see what the difference is into an upscale hotel. The daily amenities are delicious, cheese nuts etc. Room service excellent. The resort wonderful. The only few complaints were that there was no skating rink on the lake as advertised but we went to town. A bit of a mix up on ordering 2 glasses for Champagne vs a bottle. but they credited the bottle with little trouble much appreciated. The only area in our opinion which was laking was the food, we did not try Artisan but rather the atmosphere of Maggies Pub. The appetizers were good but the main were both laking, the bouillabaisse was not very tasteful and missing the main ingredients (Shrimps and scallops with they remediated too) the short rib was tender but tasteless a sauce or even salt... would have been good. The deserts were delicious. We really enjoyed the ski and snow shoe rental nice tracks really close which we could enjoy. A nice added touch would be a whirlpool outside or inside.

Thanks for the nice stay will surely go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thematou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The lodge is beautiful.
There are fireplaces inside and outside. There are multiple fireplaces outside for your enjoyment. All are fully stocked with firewood.
We stayed in one of the hotel rooms. The furniture in the hotel is handmade works of art – from the beds in the rooms to the chairs in the dining rooms.
Our room had a little kitchen area with a fridge that was stocked with bottled water and coke products. There was also an electric kettle, various types of tea, hot chocolate, coffee and a French press coffee pot.
Each day a box of snacks is provided in the afternoon. The snacks consist of cheese, fruit and nuts or seeds. The first day we also had a bottle of wine included with the snack.
Firewood is provided for the in-room fireplace. The firewood is restocked during the turn down service.
Any used towels are also replaced during turn down service.
We had a view of the lake. The room had a nice size balcony with furniture; it was too cold to sit out but would be great during the summer.
Snowshoes and cross-country skis are provided. There are trails within walking distance from the lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RealLadyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Everything about the stay was just great- the staff, and the room was amazing, we stayed in the St. Regis. The bed was so comfy and the real wood fireplace was great, loved the balcony although alittle too cold to sit out in December. Breakfast in the resturant was really good. overall great birthday getaway for my husband. We will return, thank you!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmele21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Everything about our stay was fabulous; the staff, accommodations, activities... We stayed in an amazing cabin, had a roaring fire every day, and room service breakfast on our last day. Every staff member we met was friendly and attentive, and the attention to detail in all things was noteworthy. Linda, the concierge, made our stay extra special. I cannot remember feeling this welcome at a resort in a long time. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants a room that is so gorgeous and comfortable that it is tough to leave, even when there are such compelling alternatives such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing (complimentary) right outside the front door. The purpose of our trip was rest and relaxation, and Lake Placid Lodge fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear SuzieQ1001,

Thank you for joining us in one of our cabins, and for writing such a lovely review. When we hear that your stay was just what the doctor ordered, we are all truly gratified. I know you mentioned Linda specifically, and I would just like to add my own personal gratitude to Linda. She is like the Lodge Mom, she genuinely wants nothing more then your comfort and happiness. I will go over and thank her personally.

With much gratitude, we hope to welcome you back to the Lodge soon.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Lake Placid Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Cannot say enough good stuff about this place. Where do i start? The amazing food? The view? Room? The staff?
As my fiancee says: the lodge is luxury meets country generosity. The lodge staff brought me to horsebackriding 20 miles away, picked me up with hot chocolate. As my dog ate the chocolate raisins(the place is pet friendy thank the lord) and needed an emergency trip to the vet, they were waiting outside called to the vet ahead and 20 minutes later my dog was safe. A staff member waited with me throughout it all. Late checkout? No problem. They upgraded the guests that were suppose to arrive to my room to another room so we can stay. The bartender Laurie and steve the waiter are the sweetest, and the golden retriever maggie such a doll!!!! Thank you Lodge! Well be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monster1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Monster1982,

Thank you so much for your kind review, and for joining us at the Lake Placid Lodge. We are thrilled that Monster is doing ok. We knew that was a scary moment, and just happy that it all worked out. I would like to also thank you for referencing the staff’s care and concern. We have a group of staff that I feel personally so fortunate to work with. The staff is completely dedicated to taking care of our guests, and your taking note of that will be loved by all.

We look forward to being able to welcome you both back, and of course, monster soon.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Lake Placid Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been staying at the lodge on and off for years. The location, views and environment are incomparable. The lodge which was rebuilt after the fire in 2005 is a valient attempt to recreation the adirondack style on a larger scale. The Hudson valley collection is a lovely addition. The main attraction is the great camp feel achieved by the authentic decor, the location, the relaxed but attentive staff and the overall feel of providing whatever will make the guest happy. Maggie's pub is gem--great ambiance, fabulous drinks and bartender. The food at artisians and the pub is varied and well prepared and the service is excellent. However, of late, some unfortunate choices have dulled this unique adirondack experience. First, the decision to allow children to stay is a disappointment. Further, there is a sense that the business is king instead of the customer. Although the staff is very accommodating and attentive, management Gdoesn't seem to be at the same level. There seems to be little management presence and what there is is perfunctory. An unfortunate sense of more attention to the bottom line than to the guest is evident in recent decisions, refund policies, ammenities and even in reducing the size of portions to the point of absurdity. Although i would highly recomment a stay as I love the lodge and the staff, i am frustrated with a certain slippage I've noticed. I hope it's turning around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Nan D,

Thank you so much for visiting the Lodge again. We are sorry that the decision to welcome guests of all ages on your weekend was not to your liking and that you felt there was slippage in the way we were managing the Lodge. Please know that your comments are heard, and that we will make sure that we maintain a higher profile. We do completely understand your position. We do occasionally open the Lodge to guests of all ages, and if perhaps you were not accustomed to that, it could understandably feel different. We are thrilled that you are still very happy with the manner in which you are served and taken care of by our staff. The entire team is dedicated to your complete enjoyment of the Lodge, and to your ability, if for just a couple of days, to put the stresses of the world aside.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back, please let me know if there is anything I can do to be of assistance.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Lake Placid Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Placid
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn
0.9 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#1 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing