We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Placid Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$147
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$153
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$339
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$338
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$188
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobble Mountain Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
339
54
29
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
54
29
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaggie's pubrelais and chateauxowls headcovered walkwayhalf bottle of winepastry chefnew ownershipboat tourstone fireplacesoaking tubcross countrywhiteface mountainadirondack styleeach morningcookiesturn down servicespent three nights
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 449 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the moment you enter the Lodge you are made to feel at home and it only gets better from there. The woodsmoke fills the Adirondack air while every sense is heightened with each new scene. The accommodations are well appointed and the staff ensures every detail is perfect, all the while maintaining a private and relaxing atmosphere. A discerning traveler looking for luxurious accommodations, privacy, excellent food, and beautiful views around every corner, Lake Placid Lodge is a MUST visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Todd E,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We know that there are so many great places to choose from now, and are grateful that you chose the Lodge. Whenever I travel, then return to the Lodge, I am always struck by how blessed I am to be able to be involved in such a beautiful place. The Adirondacks, Whiteface and Lake Placid are in my admittedly biased opinion one of our country's most beautiful settings. The you for choosing it!

We look forwad to being able to serve you again. Please let us know if we can be of assistance.

Kind regards,
John Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had an absolutely terrific time at the LP Lodge ... it was a perfect place for our mini honeymoon. The decor is amazing -- the most beautiful I've ever seen in a hotel -- but what impressed us the most (and almost everything impressed us!) was the amazing service and friendliness of the staff. Everyone was very well trained and really did their best to make us feel welcome. Quite simply one the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of visiting. A true gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Birch cabin. It has terrific views of the lake and Mt. Whiteface.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Serenroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Serenroc,

Thank you so much for your kind words, and for trusting us with your honeymoon stay. We truly appreciate both. Above all else we strive to create a warm, relaxed and confortable experience for our guests. It is truly gratifying to hear that you enjoyed the staff and our services. Thank you!

King regards,
John Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in the original property before the fire, and just had the chance to stay here again in the re-built Lodge. They did a wonderful job re-creating the charm and coziness of the original Lodge, and it really is quite lovely with lovely views. The food is excellent, but the service is not quite there. While the staff is certainly friendly, they are a bit ditzy -- it took several attempts to confirm a car service correctly. That said, overall a wonderful place to stay to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear NYCtoTheWorld,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lake Placid Lodge on Trip Advisor. And, thank you so much for joining us after all these years. We did do everything in our power to create an extraordinary Lodge, incorporating the spirit of the original, but not replicating it any way. We are happy you enjoyed it. Sometimes it is difficult to return to a place that holds fond memories specially when you know it has changed. I was sorry to hear that there was difficulty with the reservation of a car service. I will personally follow up. Everything should be effortless, and clearly in this case it was not. For that I must apologize. By now of course you know that as a guest of the Lodge, you are most welcome to loan one of our Lexus vehicles, and that we are more than happy to take you into town anytime you like.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Lodge soon. In the meantime, if there is anything I can assist with, please call on me personally.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Lake Placid Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lake Placid Lodge this past weekend and could not have asked for a more perfect hotel experience. We participated in the Food & Wine Weekend, which was fun and delicious as promised.

The main lodge itself, new since the fire, has a wonderful Arts & Crafts feel that will certainly gain a lovely patina with age. There are many cozy nooks and crannies in which to sit and read by a fire, not that we needed one given the unseasonably warm weather.

We stayed in a Lakefront cabin (Eagles Eyre), which was a few feet off the water and as peaceful and private as you can imagine. The cabin was both sumptuous and cozy, the furnishings absolutely to our liking, and we appreciated all the little extra touches like the snacks every day and the firewood stacked and made up for us. Everyone (staff and guests) seems to have a favorite cabin, and we look forward to trying out the other cabins over the next several visits.

While the lake, main lodge and cabins are beautiful, what made this hotel stay memorable for us was definitely the staff, their attention to detail and the way they anticipated and fulfilled every need we had. Thank you especially to John Graham, the GM, who has an uncanny ability to make you feel like a truly honored guest with his warmth and personal attention. Thank you also the the exemplary front desk staff (Bethany and Ryan and Stephanie!), the kitchen, bar and FOH staff (Chef Nathan, Michael, Lori, Amy!) and so many others whose names I did not catch. All of these wonderful people made us feel like family, and we were so sad to leave them.

Before leaving, we did something unprecedented for us, which was book our reservations for next year. We are getting excited about our next visit already!

Room Tip: For convenience, Lodge Kings or Suites, as you are in the main lodge. For privacy, Lakefront Cabins (we stayed in Eagles Eyre and loved it).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tanya Sripanich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear downtownupstate,

Thank you so much for joining us at the Fall Gastro Get Away. We had such a great time, and are looking forward to next year’s event. This year was particularly fun – with such a great mix of guests, our wonderful partners and chefs. I am grateful you enjoyed everything, and of course I am grateful that you shared your experiences with the Trip Advisor Community. We wish you the very best with the upcoming weekend and want you to know our thoughts prayers and hearts go out to you and all those affected by Sandy.

Kind regards,
John Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay and without doubt the best place to stay in the Lake Placid area (more on this later). For our 20th anniversary, my wife and I stayed here for 3 days. We were in a cabin just feet from the edge of Lake Placid, with nothing to obstruct our view and just wilderness to look out on. Waking up to the rising sun over the over the mountains (but in a nice comfey room) is our style of being in the great outdoors.
The cabin was in classical Adirondack style with a fireplace and the expected comfortable bed. Rustic but very refined.
The food at Maggie's pub and at Artesians was very well done, full of taste, with excellent service and came with a great view of the lake.
I loved the main lodge as it was full of old paintings from the Hudson River style of painting and other artwork. It was like staying in a museum while not being in a museum.
Service was excellent- everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to help us or just simply to chat. Obviously a lot of effort has been put in by management in this area.
The best for last: To my surprise I have discovered that when people go or stay in a hotel in Lake Placid, it really means they are in the TOWN of Lake Placid but which overlooks commercialized Mirror Lake. It's a nice lake with a 2.7 mile well marked walk around it and with lots of people walking, shopping, eating. The shore around Lake Placid itself is mostly owned by very wealthy people or is State owned land. This means that this incredible, minimally developed lake, so rustic for the most part, can only be accessed if you own property there. The only exception for tourists that was obvious is the marina area where you can take a ride around the lake and see the islands in it. By stayng at the Lake Placid Lodge we could really enjoy the lake to it's fullest, evey day. Yes, it is very expensive (we went in the off season) but what a different experience then if we had stayed at one of the other hotels that are "in Lake Placid".

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UpstateNewYork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear UpstateNewYork1,

Thank you! – for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay at the Lake Placid Lodge. The morning sunrise over Lake Placid is for us as good as it gets. I like to suggest from May to October that the thing to do is to take out one of our kayaks or canoes, have us pack coffee or hot chocolate and pastries and paddle out onto the lake at sunrise. It is magical, and we are grateful to call it home.

I really enjoyed your review, I felt that for someone who had never visited, it gives a great idea of what to expect when coming to this amazing area.
With much gratitude, we look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
John Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews