We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a fabulous resort with great service. We really enjoyed our stay in the Eagle's Eyre lakeside cottage. This cottage, like the other lakeside cottages, has an amazingview, and the most comfortable bed! They brought our dog a huge dog bed and bowls. It is a short walk to the inn where we enjoyed a superb dinner on the deck (with heaters).

Service is friendly and professional. Breakfast was great and we were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: lakeside cottages are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear KKH13,

Thank you, both for joining us at the Lake Placid Lodge, and for writing such a nice review. We do appreciate both! We always hope that our guests truly enjoy the Lodge, the Adirondacks, and most importantly how they are treated when joining us. We are truly fortunate to have a team that genuinely loves serving, and grateful to hear you enjoyed it.

Many thanks again. I hope we are able to have you rejoin us soon.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Lake Placid Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    47
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
55
269
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We returned to Lake Placid Lodge at the beginning of August 2012. It was our third visit to this beautiful and peaceful place. I cannot say enough about the property, staff and ambiance of Lake Placid Lodge. First, the staff is unlike any we have encountered on our travels. They cannot do enough to ensure that your stay is not only comfortable and memorable but one which provides you with a truly first class experience. Each of the cabins and lodge rooms are beautifully and uniquely filled with artisan created furniture and accents. That in itself provides an energy of luxury and beauty. No request seems to be beyond the abilities of the staff. They want only for their guest to be comfortable and happy! The restaurant keeps improving year after year and we were so well taken care of at breakfast. Every personal request for specific food or preparation was graciously received and provided to us. There are options for dining on the property-from a fine dining experience at Artisans to one that is more casual at Maggy's Pup. Regardless, you always can dine on the beautiful wrap around deck where you are part of the mountains and lake. From the dock staff who hand you a towel and cold bottled water before you venture out in a canoe, kayak, or electric boat to the housekeeping staff who seem to be invisible (but always available if needed) you are constantly being cared for and pampered. We see familiar faces each year which tells us that the staff is constant and experienced. Laurie, the master bartender in Maggy's Pub, recognized us as soon as we walk in and the care and concern of Linda and John in management is both sincere and personal. There is no doubt that we plan to return to Lake Placid Lodge again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelers92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear 2travelers92,

On behalf of all of us at the Lodge, we thank you for your loyalty and support of the Lake Placid Lodge. Without the support of our loyal returning guests the Lodge would simply not be the same. You help to energize our staff and to keep everyone committed to creating authentic experiences. Thank you too, for writing such a lovely and kind review. Your enjoyment of the Lodge, and your opportunity to truly rest and be cared for is our purpose. I will definitely share your review with everyone. We look forward to your fourth visit, and many more to come.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Thats the only way to describe this place! My husband and I recently attended an industry meeting and the place where the event was held, was booked. We looked around online and selected the LP Lodge. Boy, were we impressed! It was "rustic elegance" at its best. So many nice touches, from the delish snack box (nuts, cheese, dried fruits) that was replenished every day - along with a nice bottle of wine, to the fridge that was stocked with water, soft drinks, juices - all the way to the luxury bed/bath items (L'Occitane). I felt like I was in the lap of luxury in the woods. The staff was unbelievably friendly and accommodating. Ex: I walked into the lobby with a question (subliminally looking for another glass of lovely Rose' champagne that I was offered at check in) and had a spot on my golf vest....I mentioned it, just to acknowledge that I was aware that I had a little spill at lunch, and the receptionist, said "Oh, let me have it and we'll get that out for you!" ARE YOU KIDDING ME? No one has ever offered to do that for me - at even the finest places in NYC. I could go on and on about the fantastic breakfast we had each morning, delivered to our cabin, as well as the 5 star dinner/wine we had that evening (I wrapped myself in the lush blanket provided and sat by the fire finishing my wine after dinner) .

I can't believe how lucky we were to find this place? I am scheming now to find a way to get back there for Thanksgiving - their gourmet chef offers cooking demonstrations that I simply must experience, along with the nightly bonfire that I didn't get to participate in!

I truly cannot say enough good things about the Lake Placid Lodge! Put it on your bucket list!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Colden Cabin, which must have the best view of the lake??? I don't know if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenScituate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear KarenScituate,

Thank you so much Karen! That was such a nice review of the Lake Placid Lodge. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed everything. I am going to share your review with our staff.
Please also accept our thanks for joining us. We do all look forward to seeing you this Thanksgiving- one of our favorite times of the year at the Lodge. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in a water front cabin which had great views. Each cabin was decorated y a different local decorator kn a northwoods style. IIt was serviced twice daily with great towels, tasty snacks and very nice toiletries. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a twenty minute walk to town through the woods, next to a golf course, on a great lake. The breakfasts were excellent. Dinners also very good. We never moved our car over a four day stay. Lots of guests were in the "hotel" wing which also looked nice, with balconies overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treebark17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear treebark17,

Thank you for choosing to stay in a Lakefront Cabin at the Lake Placid Lodge. The cabins are just a few feet from the lake’s edge, and are fantastic for watching the sunrise over the lake. (Among our guest’s favorite experiences - actually ours too) We know that you have many wonderful choices available to you! And, not only thank you very much staying with us, but for taking the time to review the Lodge. We were very happy to see that you had such a lovely time. On a personal note, I must thank you most especially for recognizing our staff. We believe the staff to be the most important part of our guests being able to enjoy themselves, and are very proud of the team we have.

Thank you again, I hope we see you return soon to the Lodge.

Kind regards,

John Graham, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manotick
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

One of my favorite places to go. The rooms are outstanding, the lodge is beautiful, the staff are professional, the food is delicious, the wine list extensive. Lori will ensure your evening is fun at Maggie's.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyeatsanddrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Ottawaswineguy,

Thank you so much-for your review and for joining us. I am sure Lori in particular will really appreciate it.

Thank you again and please call on us anytime. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lake Placid Lodge.

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The lodge is terrific. Everything from welcome to goodbye is relaxing. We enjoyed all our meals at the lodge, took a trip on the Hacker boat, spent time around the campfire and used all the lake side equipment. We also hiked and mountain biked. Silly nice. The lake is gorgeous. The property is even better. Top notch facility plus GREAT food and drink. Everything you need you get. We will be back.

Room Tip: Cabin. Not lake front but very close. Lake view I think they are known as. It was called Romba or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper_Flyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Cooper_Flyod,

On behalf of everyone at the Lake Placid Lodge, thank you for joining us and for writing such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and grateful to see your review. We look forward to you returning soon!

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

A private space along the shore of Lake Placid. Surounded by the beauty of nature and supported by the best hotel service. Beautiful and well appointed cabins. Great food. My second visit was as good as the first.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Elayne D,

Thank you for reviewing the Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you were happy and that this was your second visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing