We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, super nice owners on staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Leaf Inn to your Saves list
Maple Leaf Inn
2234 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Super clean, super nice owners on staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here with my brother on Sat March 16, 2013 when we went up to see the NCAA Hockey Championship game. We called up and ask the owner to save us a room if he had an opening. He did and we went. He had remembered my brother from the year before. My brother had a pleasing experience last year, so we wanted to go back this year. The place is located in a nice quiet setting with the rooms facing in on the property so there is no road noise or people walking by your windows from the street. Brand new carpet, furniture in the room is all in great shape, you can tell they keep things replaced and not simply patched up. Beds were comfortable and fairly new. We stayed in room 9 a double room. There is a fridge that is very clean and kept things very cold for us. Plenty of hot water. Most important was the cleaning people do an awesome job and there is no musty smells, or signs or age or rot like you can get in some northern NY resort town hotels. The rooms have electric heat so no loud blower kicking on all night or blowing stale air. I would highly recommend it and have actually. As a friend on mine asked if it was the kid of place that I would take a baby and I said definitely yes, it is that nice.
When you call you are dealing with the husband and wife ownership team. They live right there and they are very accommodating. They were very welcoming we discussed the town and places wew went to eat, the big game etc. Very personable. I will be back and hope this helps you feel right about staying there also. (Sorry photos have a flash issue and do not do justice)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
28
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pequea Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that this was the best place we ever stayed in Lake Placid. We had the two bedroom unit which worked out so great with our 5 year old who stayed independent in his own perfect room. This was the cleanest place I have EVER stayed, the owner was accommodating with any questions we had. It was just so wonderful I miss it already! Also the bath towels are the best smelling hotel towels I have EVER smelled. I would give this place 100 stars if I could.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNIE2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After doing some research at tripadvisor I decided to get a room at the Maple Leaf Inn and was not at all disappointed. Rod is a very personable owner and he was most helpful in suggesting places to eat during my stay.

Please note that during weekdays the Maple Leaf Inn can save you money on ski passes at Whiteface Mountain and Gore Mountain so please take advantage of this is you can.

My room was ideal. This is a 60s or 70s era motel so take that into consideration but the room was immaculately clean. It has this small motel feel and Rod makes it more so.

The next day I was up at 7 AM and out the door before 8 and Rod was out shoveling and even cleaned my car off of snow. How great is that?

I really enjoyed my stay at the Maple Leaf Inn and recommend it. All the great reviews are well deserved.

As a side note I want to compliment the proprietor on the linens and the mattresses. A lot of "inexpensive" motels scrimp on this but at the Maple Leaf Inn the linens felt like top quality and the mattress I slept on was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for the better deals Rod can offer for skiing at Whiteface.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We go to Lake Placid every December for a winter getaway, and every year we stay at the Maple Leaf. Over the years, we have stayed at just about every establishment in town, and the Maple Leaf is one of my favorites. In the wintertime it is quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. The jacuzzi room at the end of the main building is very comfortably furnished and feels more like staying at a favorite relative's house than a motel. When winter rolls around every year, I look forward to our quiet weekend at the Maple Leaf!

This is a family-owned and -run business and that really makes a difference...you can tell that the owners care about their place, and their guests. They have always been very friendly and helpful.

The motel is tucked well away from the hustle and bustle of Main Street, yet it's only an easy 10-15 minute walk away. The best of both worlds!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room at the end of the row is our favorite. Quiet and peaceful in the wintertime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmr417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very, very, very dated motel. The room was clean, the owners were very helpful and accommodating and the location is within a 15minute walk to the main street and about a 15minute drive to the ski hill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wherenext_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm sorry but I think I could have found a more updated place to stay in Lake Placid for the kind of money we spent. The owner/operators are "VERY Nice". But the place is just old. Location was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FISHYQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shopgirlbarbie, Owner at Maple Leaf Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are a small Family run Business. We offer Clean comfortable accommodations at a affordable
price and great service. We offer some of the lowest rates in Lake Placid. If you are looking
for Fancy we are not it. If you would like a clean room at an affordable price with great service.
Give us a try. We continue to put money into our facility as money permits. Most of our rooms
have new carpet, wallpaper, tile, beds and TV"s. Most of our bathrooms in our standard rooms
have lime green tubs but are in very good shape. We would like to replace the tubs some time
in the future, but the cost is substantial just to change the color. Thanks for staying with us.
Rod (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the Maple Leaf Inn on a trip to ski Whiteface Mountain. The owners were great and very friendly! Rooms were VERY clean. Not far from the hill, and the owner actually told us to go to the hill and get a "rain check" for our second ski day as my other half got hurt. This saved us $170.00 for our next visit!
We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogaSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#19 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 18 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 2234 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing