We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best value in Lake Placid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best value in Lake Placid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

5 minute walk to town.....quiet....super clean...perfect. Rod the owner was nice and helpful...got me a microwave when I mentioned it....typical room....but they have efficiency rooms and suites and a gorgeous jacuzzi tub suite with a kitchen.....restaurant right next door....I didn't eat there but will next time...nicely manicured grounds and nice pool area....picnic tables and green space at the rear of the property...I will never stay anywhere else....can't wait to go back...I would give it more than 5 stars if I could

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuzinbuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
36
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I booked based on reviews I read. It exceeded our expectations. I was there with my son and his team mate. We were looking for a relaxing place after and between the games. It was in a great location, I could walk to town and to mirror lake. Our room was spotless, and thoroughly cleaned every day. The grounds, flowers, pool were fantastic. Rod went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He knew everything about the area, sent us to great restaurants and knew the schedules of the Olympic venues to hit. Don't miss wet Wednesday when the ski jumpers are jumping in pools. Barb volunteered to wash the boys uniforms for us. If you are looking for a nice relaxing stay, close to town, with two friendly owners (Rod and Barb) you have to stay at the Maple Leaf. I'll be back next year.

Scott from Kansas City

Room Tip: I liked staying in the building that was detached from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have been to Lake Placid many times but this visit was at a busy time and most places we were familiar with were booked. Decided to try Maple Leaf Inn because the reviews sounded good. Room was clean enough and had a nice refrigerator. Rod (the manager, I think) was pleasant and was working hard to maintain the grounds--there were lovely flowers. But the place was a disappointment. The rooms are dated and the pool area was run down and in need of work. I did not like the parking. The spaces are horizontal to the building, so if there are cars in front of the other rooms you would have to parallel park to be in front of your room. The walls were quite thin, and my sleep was disturbed by voices of people talking and someone with a bad cough. We had a two night reservation but stayed only one. (We appreciated that Rod was willing and able to find someone to fill the room the second night.) We picked up a brochure of the Maple Leaf Inn at the Visitors Center which makes it look much better than it really is. If you are in Lake Placid for a hunting trip or a hiking trip and just need a room, it would be acceptable I suppose. But if you are planning an enjoyable visit to Lake Placid, this is not the place to stay. There are other places to stay that are much nicer at a comparable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0nniebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shopgirlbarbie, Owner at Maple Leaf Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are a small Family run Business. Our great reviews are from
Satisfied customers. Some people believe that we are a 5 star
resort because of our excellent reviews. Sorry if this is misleading
but the reviews are from customers that are reviewing the property
from the tripadvisor review system. Is the room clean and confortable
at an affordable rate with great service? That is what tripadvisor is about,
Not how fancy or how many amennities a property has. We are a small
motel with very clean rooms at affordable rates with excellent service.
That goes a long way with most people that do not want to spend
2 to 3 times as much on a Hotel room, and would like the extra money to
do the many things Lake Placid has to offer. AAA has stated on our
yearly inspection that our housekeeping is exceptional. Our rooms
have new carpet, Wall paper, tile and brand new beds. Im sorry
we could not please this guest but the Maple Leaf is not for everyone.
If you are looking for the resort experience we are not for you. If you
would like a clean, comfortable room at a affordable rate with great
service. (Then) The Maple Leaf might be the option for you. We take great
pride in our facility. My wife and I do everything including the cleaning.
Thanks
Rod (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

While, certainly not luxurious, it was adequate, friendly, and definitely clean. Additionally, I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet Maple Leaf Inn was, especially considering its conveniently central location in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Room was small and very basic and had very thin walls. Our room was not in the main building, so maybe the main building is different. Our room was upstairs in the building on the side of the office.

Inexpensive though if you are on a budget, it was basically clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shopgirlbarbie, Owner at Maple Leaf Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
This Review is Puzzling. We have had no complaints and
Then 8 months go by and we receive a poor review from
someone claiming to have stayed with us in November
of 2011. Sorry we were not open in November of 2011.
Rod Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Yet again The Maple Leaf inn has giving us another wonderful vacation in Lake Placid!
Rod and Barb are like members of our family!
They are warm, kind and they truly love running the inn.
They do all of the housekeeping, gardening and upkeep themselves.
We stayed the week leading up to the "Ironman" . The outdoor pool is always nice and warm!!
The rooms are SUPER clean and many times we would come back from breakfast and our room would be done!!
Once again they know what good serivce is!!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 11 is there smallest room but good for a young married couple!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tparty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

As long as you don't expect the Hyatt, you will love this place!! The owner is super nice and helpful. Everything is VERY clean and tons of space for us. We got the room with the separate living room so our little girl could go to sleep and we could stay awake. Walked to town for dinner and to the boat tour. Will stay again for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnblaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 2234 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1184
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing