We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but nice motel”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dated, but nice motel”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was definitely an older motel—you could hear and feel the door shake every time anyone came in (we were in the house part of the motel). The room is dated, but clean and the manager was nice and it was a nice affordable price.

It's definitely a motel and not a hotel, but it was nice. I would recommend if you're looking for an inexpensive and reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaytofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    30
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
37
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Evans Mills, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I just stayed at the Maple Leaf Inn over Columbus Day weekend. This is a great little place that obviously is well cared for. It may not be as updated as those pretentious places on Main Street but their is pride taken in this place. The owner is friendly and helpful with an easy going manner. We stayed in one of the jacuzzi rooms and couldn't have been happier. We travel quite often and I have never seen a hotel room as clean as this. It was absolutely spotless. Thanks for the great relaxing stay! We will definitely stay at the Maple Leaf Inn next time we go to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Good motel - maintained with care and obvious pride; owner is a warm decent and helpful man. Rooms are in good shape and well equipped for a motel room. Not sure it's the best bargain in town but not too expensive. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had two kitchenette rooms here for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. The owners are wonderful people who take pride in their Inn. The place is dated but is immaculate. Outside each room are two chairs and a small table. There is an outdoor swimming pool a couple of picnic tables and a grill. The grounds are well taken care of. I highly recommend The Maple Leaf Inn. For the price you can’t go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docjph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Booked a last minute trip to lake placid right after hurricane Irene--couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at the Maple Leaf! Rod was extremely helpful and friendly, and the inn was immaculate. The room had everything we needed, mini fridge, table, etc., and the location was perfect. Honestly can't say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Literally walked up to the motel and asked for a room. They had one room left and we took it. The owner was wonderful and the room was even better. It was clean and had everything we required. My only complaint is that the bathroom could use a new shower head...(pressure too hard and direct)..it scared the &(^^& out of me when I turned it on LOL

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Boneca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here over this past weekend, celebrating our Anniversary. (Aug 19-21st) You can stay at much higher priced establishments here and you will NOT find better accomodations !! We stayed in one of their suites . The place was spotless. The service was simply the best! The suite had a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub, plus a decent sized shower. It also had a good sized living room off the bedroom area which you access through french doors . To my surprise it had 2 recliners , a loveseat and TV . The bedroom area had a tv, disc player, desk, all you can ask. Kitchen area had a table, frig,sink, and a microwave.
I personally have been to Lake Placid five times during my lifetime. I have stayed at much higher priced establishments, both summer and winter during the 70's 80's, 90's and now. You will NOT find nicer people . These people do all the work themselves, work really hard and care about their clients.( Something I admire), YOUR NOT just a dollar figure to them. Unlike conglomerates in the area. Hats off to you Rod and your family !!!!! Thank You very much!!

Room Tip: read my entire review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glg1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 2234 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing