We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Will definately stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town and Country Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town and Country Motor Inn
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definately stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed there alone and was not only comfortable by I felt very safe. The owner was not only pleasant but very accommodating, she upgraded me to a larger room because they weren't booked. It was clean and very convienent to everything. I will be going there again next month. For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank po2wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
30
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Every time my husband and I come to Lake Placid we always stay at this motel because it is a very neat and cosy place,the owners are very friendly an helpful people. They gave us direction what places to go and things to do which saved us lots of time. Last weekend we arrived in Lake Placid and stayed again at this motel which was comfy and friendly as usual. The room was pretty big and clean and had everything we needed. Good bargain!! We definitely recommend this place and will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The owner was very unpleasant. When we arrived the heat was off and it was freezing. The beds were uncomfortable and very outdated. When we went for an outing the next day when we came back the owner had come into clean but turned the heat off again. I gave it two stars because the place is clean and close to village. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunNana333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantingham Lake
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the moment we walked in, and before we said a single word, the owner was unpleasant. It started as we got there 15 minutes before the 2 PM checkin... She told us to leave and come back in 15 minutes!

We should have left permanently, but we said that maybe she was having a bad day, and came back 30 minutes later.

The room (#6) had a bad smell, but we said maybe we'll get used to it. The bed was uncomfortable and the room was very small and noisy (from street noise). The TV was an antique. The bath was clean but very small and dated.

We had reserved for three nights and went in the morning after the first night saying we were checking out now, and were canceling the next two nights. They were very angry and refused. We offered them extra cash compensation for their trouble. They refused. We left anyway.

BTW, we were traveling with another couple and they stayed in room #12, and had similar problems. They also cancelled and got the same rude, uncooperative treatment.

We have stayed in several Lake Placid motels before and have never had these experiences. Our recommendations for inexpensive places are The Pines Inn and Schultes.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdirondackTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Town & Country hotel is a cute place! The decor is straight out of the 80s; it doesn't look like the hotel's been renovated since the Olympics. For us, that just added to the charm. Everything was impeccably clean and the room was very large, and even included a small balcony with a table and chairs. It took about 5 - 10 minutes to walk to the main tourist area of Lake Placid and was only a 20 minute drive to some amazing hiking!

The only negative was some soundproofing issues: we could hear the guests in the room above us walking around. Otherwise, great motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smaj_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay here last month, July, 2012. The owners were very kind, and the property was kept in very good, clean condition. We liked that they had a pool. It seems like most of the smaller hotels in Lake Placid did not have a pool, and the kids love a pool. They had free Wi-fi, which worked well. I will defintiely return to Town and Country. Very much in the middle of town, very close to everything. The Cowboy has great food, very close, and the Saranac Sourdough deli was close and had fantastic sandwiches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carroll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a neat, clean, well-kept place outside the bustle of downtown L Placid, opposite homes and a lake, given it a peaceful aura. Nice owners, close to restaurants (we dug The Cowboy). A good place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 17 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Motor Inn

Property: Town and Country Motor Inn
Address: 2200 Saranac Ave # 67), Lake Placid, NY 12946-1184
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town and Country Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Town and Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing