We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town and Country Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town and Country Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Town & Country hotel is a cute place! The decor is straight out of the 80s; it doesn't look like the hotel's been renovated since the Olympics. For us, that just added to the charm. Everything was impeccably clean and the room was very large, and even included a small balcony with a table and chairs. It took about 5 - 10 minutes to walk to the main tourist area of Lake Placid and was only a 20 minute drive to some amazing hiking!

The only negative was some soundproofing issues: we could hear the guests in the room above us walking around. Otherwise, great motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smaj_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay here last month, July, 2012. The owners were very kind, and the property was kept in very good, clean condition. We liked that they had a pool. It seems like most of the smaller hotels in Lake Placid did not have a pool, and the kids love a pool. They had free Wi-fi, which worked well. I will defintiely return to Town and Country. Very much in the middle of town, very close to everything. The Cowboy has great food, very close, and the Saranac Sourdough deli was close and had fantastic sandwiches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carroll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a neat, clean, well-kept place outside the bustle of downtown L Placid, opposite homes and a lake, given it a peaceful aura. Nice owners, close to restaurants (we dug The Cowboy). A good place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Reasonably priced little motel in a great location. Smaller rooms, but didn't really matter to us, we didn't spend alot of time in it. Convenient for walking, but away from the busy-ness of the town. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly154981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The owner was exceptionally helpful. We were close to town, and we had easy access to everything. The room was a bit small for 2 people and all the IM gear, but it works. Rooms were very clean. Ask for bikes- there are 2 for the taking at no charge and the owner provided a lock.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We wanted a reasonable place to stay and play golf at Lake Placid. We found Town & Country online and were extremely pleased with the friendliness and special treatment of the owners. The room was spotlessly clean, the prices to stay & play golf (Whiteface, Craig Wood) were reasonable, and it was really close to both Lake Placid and Mirror Lake. It's also close to main strip. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer, iron, and shampoo - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Would stay again, retro decor but plumbing has been updated. Clean room , free wi-fi , not on the main strip, but not too far either. Booked directly on the Lake Placid web site saved $20...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#11 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 18 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Motor Inn

Property: Town and Country Motor Inn
Address: 2200 (67) Saranac Ave., Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town and Country Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Town and Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing