We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Town and Country Motor Inn
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Town & Country hotel is a cute place! The decor is straight out of the 80s; it doesn't look like the hotel's been renovated since the Olympics. For us, that just added to the charm. Everything was impeccably clean and the room was very large, and even included a small balcony with a table and chairs. It took about 5 - 10 minutes to walk to the main tourist area of Lake Placid and was only a 20 minute drive to some amazing hiking!

The only negative was some soundproofing issues: we could hear the guests in the room above us walking around. Otherwise, great motel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaj_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay here last month, July, 2012. The owners were very kind, and the property was kept in very good, clean condition. We liked that they had a pool. It seems like most of the smaller hotels in Lake Placid did not have a pool, and the kids love a pool. They had free Wi-fi, which worked well. I will defintiely return to Town and Country. Very much in the middle of town, very close to everything. The Cowboy has great food, very close, and the Saranac Sourdough deli was close and had fantastic sandwiches.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carroll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a neat, clean, well-kept place outside the bustle of downtown L Placid, opposite homes and a lake, given it a peaceful aura. Nice owners, close to restaurants (we dug The Cowboy). A good place to stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Reasonably priced little motel in a great location. Smaller rooms, but didn't really matter to us, we didn't spend alot of time in it. Convenient for walking, but away from the busy-ness of the town. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly154981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The owner was exceptionally helpful. We were close to town, and we had easy access to everything. The room was a bit small for 2 people and all the IM gear, but it works. Rooms were very clean. Ask for bikes- there are 2 for the taking at no charge and the owner provided a lock.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We wanted a reasonable place to stay and play golf at Lake Placid. We found Town & Country online and were extremely pleased with the friendliness and special treatment of the owners. The room was spotlessly clean, the prices to stay & play golf (Whiteface, Craig Wood) were reasonable, and it was really close to both Lake Placid and Mirror Lake. It's also close to main strip. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer, iron, and shampoo - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Would stay again, retro decor but plumbing has been updated. Clean room , free wi-fi , not on the main strip, but not too far either. Booked directly on the Lake Placid web site saved $20...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#30 of 32 in Lake Placid
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town House Lodge
Town House Lodge
#11 of 32 in Lake Placid
101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#21 of 32 in Lake Placid
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Motor Inn

Address: 2200 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1184
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range: $108 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town and Country Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Town and Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing