We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
181
96
30
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
181
96
30
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high peaks resort paddle boats in town board games main street location is great lobby area shops and restaurants outdoor pool great room spacious rooms dancing bear long weekend first floor game room hot tub hockey tournament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 314 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

Place was clean and very nice. Staff was exceptionally helpful. Will go back again. Centrally located. We didn’t have enough time to see everything loved the pool and game room. The lounge and restaurant were reasonably priced

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Innkeeper at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Hello Dawn,

I first want to thank you for your kind word about our property and taking the time to review Lake House. Lake House staff instill a unique experience for our guests and we strive to make your stay with us the best it can be.

We look forward to being your host next time you visit the area and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better.

Regards,
Connor O'Keefe
Innkeeper at Lake House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

As usual the Lake House does not fail to impress. Just wish they opened that bar- we would have definitely taken full advantage of it after our winter summit scrambling. We will definitely be back for some summer hiking.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Attila_The_Hutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Assistant General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Hello,

Thanks so much for your five-star review. Glad you enjoyed the Lake House - we are very proud of its decor and ambiance.

Sorry that our bar was not open. During the winter it is open Thursday through Saturday, and during our peak season of July through August, it is open every day.

We look forward to seeing you this summer - there is definitely plenty of great hiking to do!

Patrick Allard
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

A gorgeous quiet hotel with stunning views of the mountains and mirror lake ! Pics below are from our room and lobby . The town eats, bars and shops are directly across the street . The dog sleds are directly across the street . The rooms are beautiful, spacious with cathedral ceilings, balcony and clean !

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jro1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Innkeeper at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hello jro1984,

Thank you for reviewing the Lake House. I agree with you that the views are stunning! Our rooms and lobby have some of the best views in town and our proximity to all of the shops and restaurants makes us the perfect place for an Adirondack getaway. We hope to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Connor O'Keefe
Innkeeper at Lake House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

This is a great spot to stay in Lake Placid. The atmosphere and decor are very nice and well thought-out. It is in a good location for walking into the main street of town. They have a really nice hot tub. The only thing I would have liked is an active bar--there is a bar there and in a nice location in the great room, but it was rarely open. It would be nice to grab a drink and hang out there. Maybe they are open at other times of the year? Overall, though, it is a really nice place and I hope to go back sometime.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Kitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Assistant General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Kitness,

Thank you for staying with us at High Peaks, and for your review. We value every guest's perspective as a way for us to improve.

Glad you enjoyed our location and the hot tub. As to our lobby bar, The Den, it is open seasonally during peak times. We are taking a look at expanding those hours as it is a great place to relax.

We hope you can join us again in the near future.

Patrick Allard
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019

If you're venturing to Lake Placid, home of the 1932 and 1980 winter olympic games, you can't go wrong with the Lake House. Whether winter or summer the Lake House is a great place to stay. The hotel is mostly 2 levels: a ground level where the rooms have patios and the second floor where each room has a balcony. The rooms are spacious and all of them overlook Mirror Lake which is right across the street. There is a 3rd level that has slightly more spacious rooms but there are only a couple rooms up there, though they might be good for families. Because the hotel is built on a hill, you walk into the structure on the 2nd level. The place has a "modern rustic decor and vibe" which is immediately apparent when you walk into the striking main lobby. There is a large common area room complete with tables and chairs, sofas, a large fireplace and picture windows affording a commanding view of the lake and the surrounding area. There's plenty of room for lots of people without feeling like you're on top of each other. We were able to have a small birthday celebration there. There is also a bar, foosball and billiard tables, and a private seating area with table. The main room is also stocked with board games to keep kids entertained. The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub as well as ample parking. As a bonus the Lake House is affiliated with the High Peaks Resort across the street allowing you to use their facilities as well, which feature an outdoor pool and sun deck across the street, right next to mirror lake. The Lake House is located right in the heart of downtown Lake Placid, so you can park your car and walk to most shopping and restaurants. My only critiques are that hotel staff are not always available, and despite the nice little bar in the main lobby, there is rarely anyone there to provide services. However, once contacted by phone or if you find someone they are responsive to requests and questions. The Lake House doesn't have it's own restaurant but the High Peaks across the street does and you can bill food/drink to your room directly if you want. Also Lake Placid's other restaurants are a short walk away. Overall, highly recommended!

Room tip: The second floor rooms afford the best view of Mirror Lake.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tebtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Your Hosts at Lake House at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Tebtg,

Thank you for sharing your experience, your kind words and your insightful feedback!

It was such a delight to read your review and know that you truly enjoyed your visit to Lake House. While we are happy to see a member of our team was able to assist you over the phone, we know it does not compare to speaking face to face with a member of our team. This is something we are looking to change this year.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience. We hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back, soon!

Warmly,
Your Hosts at Lake House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews