We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok restaurant”

Dancing Bears Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 103 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The world famous Dancing Bears Restaurant is a favorite spot for dining and celebrating with friends and family in Lake Placid. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Dancing Bears Restaurant features a warm, inviting atmospher, with great views and cozy street-side dining. Conveniently located on Lake Placid's Main Street, Dancing Bears Restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy a variety of great all-American foods including our chef's mouth-watering daily specials, Lake Placid's favorite burgers, signature hand-tossed pizzas, and tantalizing dinner selections. The bar features happy hour every day from 4:00p.m.-7:00p.m.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Went there because of the roof top view on our last night in Lake Placid....
Parking for this restaurant may be a challenge in this busy town, but try the adjacent High Peaks Resort.
We had read the mixed reviews, but still decided to give it a shot. Our overall experience was really ok. We also lucked out in having a roof edge table with the best view of the lake.
We were seated immediately by a friendly hostess and menus were brought in a timely fashion. Our waitress Kindsley, was very personable, explained the specials to us and proceeded to serve us, all the while smiling and chatting with us, even though the place was pretty busy. We felt "special". :) I ordered Fish& Chips and my wife a burger and both meals very pretty good, so we really have no complaints. Prices are in line with resort areas and so our overall experience was good.
Ps, they also have outside heating lamps for cooler evenings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    320
    168
    65
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food presented well”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Excellent food and excellent service. There is nothing like this in Saranac Lake. Even though we stayed in Saranac Lake we frequently came to Lake Placid to have dinner at the Dancing Bears Restaurant. When a McDonalds is the best restaurant in town it is worth traveling 15 miles to fine a better restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krieger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the dancing bears”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great food, breakfast was priced right,well portioned,and tasty. Kids menu was good. 5 of us ate full breakfast for $67.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just a Restaurant”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had dinner here recently, and of all the places we stopped, this was the least memorable.

The place looks nice. The Dancing Bears theme is obvious before one enters the restaurant. The space is quite large; it's rather remarkable. There is an old-time scale at the entrance/ exit one can use to weigh him/ herself on the way out to really make one feel bad.

We were seated immediately and the drink orders were taken (and received quickly). We also got our appetizer quickly. The nachos weren't bad. Everything seemed balanced - we didn't have a handful of chips or topping at the end - so it seemed to be off to a good start.

It was right before we were to order off the menu that we heard about the specials. The food came out rather quickly again. The skirt steak with goat cheese sounded good but it was a bit bland. The mini fry basket that the sweet potato fries came in was an interesting touch. Nobody really loved or hated the food.

The fact that it's on the other side of town can save a dinner. The middle of town seems to pull a lot of people so this may be an overlooked restaurant. It could also be that one has to remind himself that we actually ate there after recounting our vacation to others. The food needs to find some flavor to make it memorable. If that happens, the atmosphere will pick up. This is a good last-resort restaurant, but don't intend to be wowed here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ehhh.”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

For all the signs and ads saying what a great place this was - I was underwhelmed. Very average. The servers were nice and helpful though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SackvilleBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Bears Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dancing Bears Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing