We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good food”

Dancing Bears Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 100 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The world famous Dancing Bears Restaurant is a favorite spot for dining and celebrating with friends and family in Lake Placid. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Dancing Bears Restaurant features a warm, inviting atmospher, with great views and cozy street-side dining. Conveniently located on Lake Placid's Main Street, Dancing Bears Restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy a variety of great all-American foods including our chef's mouth-watering daily specials, Lake Placid's favorite burgers, signature hand-tossed pizzas, and tantalizing dinner selections. The bar features happy hour every day from 4:00p.m.-7:00p.m.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value and good food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On a Tuesday night we took the trolley into town to find a restaurant for dinner. We were surprised but the number of restaurants closed for the night. We were with our two kids and just wanted a good meal for a good price. After walking the Main Street twice we asked someone and they recommended Dancing Bears. We had walked past there because it looked more like a bar and not family friendly. The food was good and there was a lot of variety. Our service was a bit slow, but we weren't in a rush. We had burgers. The homemade chips were better than the fries. The Saranac root beer was delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    313
    165
    64
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adirondacks
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and better specials”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Every time we're in Lake Placid we make sure to make it to the DBL for their awesome happy hour. The food is always superb and the staff is soooooo friendly. In the summer we go upstairs and love sitting at the bar with Jamie-Lynn. I can't wait to make it back again, I'm craving the cheese-steak sandwich now that I wrote this review.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Secret Customer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday brunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate one dinner and two breakfasts here during our stay at the adjacent hotel. The dinner menu has a variety of choices; the burgers we chose were tasty and the dessert delicious.

Service at breakfast on Saturday was terrible. The Sunday brunch, however, was well presented and service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejandjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food/Friendly Staff”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Came recommended from hotel. Food was good, large portions, family friendly and good service. Didn't have reservations and wait wasn't that long. Nachos are large, even a 1/2 order. Family ordered sandwiches and salads, all were good. Would go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopatcong, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every time I visit the Dancing Bear I am always so pleased with everything! The staff is excellent, and the food definitely makes you wish you were rich so you could eat it for every meal!
Definitely a must visit any time you are there!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Bears Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dancing Bears Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing