We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of The Interlaken Inn

The Interlaken Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Interlaken Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed July 26, 2005

This place was wierd and a bit creeepy. There was very little staff and service was very slow. Turns out the owner/manager is only at the Inn from Friday to Sunday and during the rest of the week there is no one there with management authority. It took us over 40 minutes to check out - the poor staff member left "in charge" had trouble using the computer and was unable to authorize my credit card because she hadn't been trained to use the system. She was also left to serve breakfast in the dining room and was trying to assist another couple who had problems worse than ours. There is no staff onsite from midnight to 6 am at this place. The literature in the room mentions that if you have a problem during the night to call 911. How does that help you if you lose your room key?

There are no irons/ironing boards in the room - after much delay, someone found us an iron, but she could not find an ironing board. There is a $10 /day housekeeping charge, on top of the price of the room and our room wasn't that clean - there were no towel racks in the bathroom and the window unit airconditioner (located in the bathroom) barely kept the room cool.

The bar in the hotel opens at 5:30 pm - we went down at about 6:15 pm and waited around for about 10 min but no one came to serve us. We left and went down the road to the Mirror Lake Inn and had a couple of drinks in the bar there - really nice bar and excellent service. We had dinner at the Mirror Lake Inn the next night - again excellent food and service.

The Interlaken Inn need to get organized and get some management on site. I would not recommend this place and I will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank LR_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2005

If you are looking for a charming experience with fine dining and a great location, chose the Interlaken Inn in Lake Placid. The Inn has a great breakfast every morning, and, when you return in the evening, you can sit in front fo a roaring fire and have a cocktail in the cozy bar, then go to the restaurant and enjoy a truly superb meal. They have just added a wine cellar where you can have a private dining experience for a dozen people with chef Richard Brosseau. The Interlaken is well situated right off the main street of Lake Placid, so you can walk to the shops and Mirror Lake.

Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south salem, new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2005

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Room was very comfy but a little small. We should have reserved the larger room with sitting area and terrace. Staff friendly and gracious. Location was perfect for exploring the area and within a short walk from town. Breakfasts were very filling and delicious-blueberry pancakes one morning and poached eggs on roasted pesto tomato the next. Also croissants, hot muffins, fresh fruits before the main course.
The Inn's pub and restaurant is a happening place with local residents and out-of-towners alike at dinner time yet quiet during the day. Dinner was terrific-we had trout and a special lobster tail dish. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maro223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2005

We love the Interlaken Inn! Just a short walk to the beautiful village of Lake Placid, the Interlaken is vintage Adirondack at its best. It is bright and airy like its featherbedded rooms. Chef Richard Brossord never disappoints and the spectacular new medieval style wine cellar is truly unique. Sit by the huge fireplace in the main reading room with a glass of fine wine and your blood pressure will drop like a pebble in the lake. After a fun weekend chez "Madame d'hotel", Mary Neary, you'll want to return to the North country every year.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2005

The Interlaken Inn in Lake Placid, New York (Home of Winter Olympics) is fantastically romantic. Great rooms, conveniently located to the town, a wonderful Chef that creates a menu that is delicious and comforting and a very caring support staff. We have been there twice (winter and spring) and looking forward to going back again. They have a new wine cellar dining room that was under construction, and I am looking forward to a dinner there. The small pub is warm, friendly and inviting. The entire place is top shelf!

Helpful?
2 Thank 776KevinD914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2005

We booked the Interlaken Inn at the last minute for a one night stay in the Adirondacks. We had driven up from New York arriving at Lake George & found nothing but tacky motels & hotels at Lake George Village all of which bar one were closed. So we rang on ahead to the Interlaken Inn which we found in the Innkeepers Select Registry handbook. It was excellent. The position is great for central LP & the inn itself is very comfortable & cosy. The bar food was excellent & I believe the restaurant has a superb reputation although we didnt try it. Breakfast was included in the rate & was enough to sustain you all day. The staff were very welcoming & friendly & we wouldnt hesitate to recommend the inn to others. My only adverse comment was that our room was a little small but then again we wanted the lowest possible rate for our one night stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank helentum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2004

My husband and I just stayed at the Interlaken for a long weekend (Nov 2004) to celebrate our anniversary. The inn itself is a beautifully restored victorian home with much charm, character and attention to detail. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly, and they went out of their way to make our stay peaceful and relaxing. We have travelled a great deal both in the US and abroad, and we found our stay at the Interlaken to be such a great get-a-way and a unique experience. We would highly recommend this inn if you are travelling to the Lake Placid/High Peaks Region of the Adirondacks, especially if you are looking for a little R&R. Also of note is the fabulous restaurant downstairs which served food that could rival the best restaurants in New York City.
We would like to especially thank Scotty for all of her help in making our stay so great. We'll be back! -The Lees, Queens/NYC

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Interlaken Inn

Property: The Interlaken Inn
Address: 39 Interlaken Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3921
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Interlaken Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Interlaken Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing