We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Interlaken Inn

The Interlaken Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Interlaken Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Brick,NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have stayed here abourt 4 times in the past 5 years. We love it. I feel like I'm staying at my rich Aunt's house when I'm there. The rooms are immaculate and decorated quite tastefully. The pub downstairs offers a warm and cozy feel. The bartenders and staff are very friendly and quite helpful.
The food is excellent, but make sure you make a reservation. The living room area is perfect to read a book, have a conversation or order some fondue and drinks in front of the fire.If it's a special event, I highly reccommend reserving the dining room downstairs in the wine cellar...very special for a group. We did it for Valentines Day and I will never forget it. Mary & John the owners do a wonderful job of keeping this place a true gem.Just a couple minutes walk to the heart of town and the lake. Lot's to do there.Slopes are about 20minutes away.

Room Tip: If you need a room for a child get the Equestrian Room. Couples the Red Touille room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandJohnBrick_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseland, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Interlaken for 10 years and it is one of our most favorite places to go!! We spend a week there every year at Christmas and then head up at least one other time during the year. Whether we go alone or with family, we have a fabulous time! No matter the season, there are things to do. You can walk into town for shopping or take a ride to the mountain for skiing. The Innkeepers are delightful and you couldn't ask for better hosts than Mary and John. Even if you don't stay at the Inn, the restaurant and newly renovated bar are a must for at least one dinner while in Lake Placid. The food is exceptional; the service is terrific and the ambiance is wonderful. The work on the bar was completed by a local gentleman and his family; every detail is thought of and completed with pride and precision.

Room Tip: Each room is great and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband I and stayed at the inn for our anniversary. It is in a great location, easy to walk to and from town restaurants, pubs, shopping, etc. Its also near other locations which were out of the main street and only took a 2-3 minute drive to get there. The inn is rustic, charming, clean, and the workers take pride in their jobs. The chef was friendly and talented-food was great for dinner! Servers and bartender helpful and friendly. The bar is very neat and the pub is a local attraction. One thing I did read before staying there is that the owners are only up on the weekends. This did not bother us, but could understand how it could bother others. There was no one there with us in the inn from the hours of 12 am-7am. We went during the off season so we were the only people there. This also did not bother us but could see how it could be a worry for other guests. Emergency numbers were left out if need be. We definitely plan on staying here again and eating at the restaurant and enjoying the pub! If you decide to go out to dinner, check out Cafe Rustica, Brown Dog Wine Bar, Taste Bistro, Cellar Bistro, The Creperie, and Pan Dolce!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Interlaken Inn as a surprise getaway on his part. We have 11- year old triplets and he travels all the time, so a weekend away for me is/was a nice surprise! The Inn was beautiful and is tucked away from the hussle and bustle of the Village of Lake Placid. Yet, it is in walking distance to everything. The room was so cozy and CLEAN. The staff was wonderful and the bar was nice to spend time at in the evenings. I highly recommend the buffalo shrimp paired with a sour apple martini! The food at the Inn was really good also. It was just what the doctor ordered for a busy stressed mom. Peace and quiet. I can't wait to visit in the winter and look forward to sitting in front of the fireplace after a long day on the slopes.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #7; but the website pictures are spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 300supermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. We had a king-bedded room which was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast, which was not included in the room rate, was delicious and plentiful. The inn has a formal restaurant and a pub. We ate in the pub both nights. It is very popular for being such a small establishment. The reason for this was that the food was excellent. The inn's owner, Mary, was very personable and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover5717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We had a wonderful stay and the staff and management/owners couldn't have been more accommodating to our needs. They also made excellent recommendations in town for things to do and see with our limited time there. The rooms are beautifully appointed and ours had a large balcony too! Although the dining room was closed during our stay, they accommodated us in The Pub with a steak dinner that was one of the best we've ever had - my husband raves about it and he is picky! The breakfast was excellent and really good value. Wendy & Rob

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney / New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed at the Interlaken Inn and found it a wonderful surprise. We were not sure what to expect and found ourselves in a charming Inn with the most wonderful food and fantastic service. It had great character and charm but was not cutesy. I woouldn't hestitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tena72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Interlaken Inn

Property: The Interlaken Inn
Address: 39 Interlaken Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3921
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Interlaken Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Interlaken Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing