We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Food, Lousy Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Gourmet

Simply Gourmet
Ranked #28 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK Food, Lousy Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went to this spot one time. The sandwich was average, cost a lot, and the staff did me a big favor giving me a cup for water. Please...customer service goes a long way to get people to come back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stopped in for some lunch for the family. It took a little time to get everyone's order set they have a menu with 46 different sandwiches and your choice of breads. The sandwiches were worth the wait. It would be a good idea if you have children to get a menu before hand that way you can have an idea what your going to order and you won't tie up the waiting line.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The bread is fantastic, the menu (inc names) is unique. The store on Main can get very busy and the store on Saranac is quite charming. Had many of the sandwiches (since opened) and was pleased with every one. Have also had bfast on Main Street, which was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LBskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The 46 sandwiches (named after the 46 peaks) are always amazing, along with their other selections. It's a favorite among locals and visitors to the area. Sandwiches are gourmet, and impressive in size!
PS: Their brownies are to die for.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AkitaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No sandwich for us!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Well, thought I'd try it here one more time. We ordered our sandwiches, got a drink, some soup and waited for our sandwiches. They were very busy. The couple ahead of us checked on their order and said they were very busy. They got their sandwiches eventually. So we waited and waited and waited. The woman who took out order was in clear view of us waiting. After at least half an hour we checked and guess what, they had lost our order. No sandwiches made! Well, at least we
had the soup which was just okay. So of course we asked for a refund on the sandwiches and they did give us a refund. Never again will we go there!
us asked for v refund on the sandwiches and got it

Helpful?
3 Thank seri4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Simply Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing