We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and delicious”
Review of Cottage Cafe

Cottage Cafe
Ranked #4 of 101 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lake Placid, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Casual and delicious”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

There are just some evenings when after a ling day you just want to sit outdoors and enjoy light fare and we were delighted with our choices. We ordered the hummus which was homemade and with an ample portion of vegetables and pita to accompany it. We followed with the featured salad which was fresh and delicious and then to the fish tacos and the Cobble Hill which had the most delicious cranberry mayonnaise and multigrain bread. We also like the new tables and shelter which allows outdoor dining even when the weather is inclement.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skimaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    213
    64
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The ambience and view can't be beat. Though the restaurant was very busy, the staff were friendly and efficient and the service was excellent. Though we were all pleased with our choice of meal, I think the mahi mahi fish tacos really stood out. Very enjoyable experience here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer on tap”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We came here for a casual dinner with the kids. The menu is limited but really tasty food. The hummus and the local cheese plate are very tasty. They have several craft beers on draft. The service is good and they have several simple items got kids. The cheese pizza is probably the best. We sat inside but the outside seating looking at the lake is special.

Helpful?
Thank Meandmybrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great View of Mirror Lake.”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We are in Lake Placid at least once a year, and we always find ourselves in this restaurant. The main draw for us are the view and the service. The restaurant has a great view of Mirror Lake, whether dining in or outdoor. The service is reliably nice and friendly. The food is average to sometimes, below average. But at least they are not charging outrageous prices. If they can improve on the food, this place would be awesome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage during your recent trip to Lake Placid. I am glad that you find yourselves in our restaurant whenever you are in town, and that you enjoy the view and service. I was surprised to hear that you find our food to be average to sometimes below average. We substantially upgraded our menu two summers ago after remodeling our kitchen with new equipment. Please contact me directly so that we can discuss items you would like to see us offer in the future.

Thank you for your review, and until we see you again, safe travels.

Sincerely,
Lisa Randall
Cottage Manager
lrandall@mirrorlakeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Enjoyed in so much we went twice”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend in June at the Mirror Lake Inn for our birthdays. We arrived on Friday and our first stop was lunch at The Cottage Cafe. It was great!

We had a table outside right next to the lake on a perfect summer day. I had the Cobble Hill sammie and my boyfriend had the chicken and pesto flatbread pizza. Both were delicious. We had great service and the prices were just right.

We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we went back for dinner on Saturday night. Again we were seated on the deck and though it was a little chilly, it was a beautiful evening and we loved sitting outside. I loved my sandwich so much from Friday, that I ordered the Cobble Hill again. My boyfriend had the shaved sirloin sandwich and we shared an order of the homemade hummus. Our service and the food were again wonderful.

We left wishing that we had a similar spot nearby at home!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing