We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for light meal and amazing view”
Review of Cottage Cafe

Cottage Cafe
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great spot for light meal and amazing view”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stopped in for we thought dinner. Without a reservation got a lake view seat for 2 - sweet!. It was lightly snowing and was so cool as the snow whipped around with lights on the lake. We looked at menu and orginally thought have a drink and go as we arent sandwich people. We ordered the Hummis and Bre cheese plate with some drinks - wow was so good! we wanted the soup but too full. Great spot dont miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GarryCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    209
    63
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a stop for us in Lake Placid”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Cottage Cafe is always a place where we stop for a simple lunch or dinner. It is more of a pub than a cafe. The Cottage sits on Mirror Lake and offers a friendly and scenic setting. Take note that The Cottage is small and there can be a wait for seating. Best to call ahead to see if there is much of a wait.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jockadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Cozy spot for winter”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wonderful ambiance during the winter season. Lots of locals at the bar. We sat there for drinks and dinner. Everything was well priced, people were friendly, and the bar was incredibly cozy to hunker down for a few hours during the cold.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The view is only half the story ....”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

It was Columbus day weekend so it was very busy. You can sit at the bar while waiting for your table so it's not bad. The food is very good the menu varied and I thought underpriced. (casual but intresting choces)Yes I said underpriced. The view of mirror lake is priceless on it's own. They must have a skilled chef picking what goes on the menu. It's that good...so if there is a line sit at the bar and wait you willow not be disappointed.

Liam & Colleen
New York

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fglawihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and the view during the holiday weekend! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great view very nice lunch”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have often eaten @ Cottage Cafe and will go back again! The lobster bisque and cheese board assortment were a perfect lunch on a recent fall day. The cheese board was large enough for 4 to share as an appetizer!! The bisque was nice a light soup. The view is FABULOUS!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for being our guests at The Cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed lunch and the view! We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing