We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, great service, wonderful view!”
Review of Cottage Cafe

Cottage Cafe
Ranked #11 of 104 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 27, 2011

aAdelightful spot, with a good variety of wonderfully presented, and great tasting food. Friendly staff. Will return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pinetreeisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage! We are glad that you felt that the food was great, our staff friendly and you enjoyed the view. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 686 of 729 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

The seating and views were both great in and outside of Restaurant on Mirror Lake and off the shopping center area. The food was great and our server was extremely friendly and checked in on us, which has not happened at to many of the restaurants in this area. I would highly recommend this place and I would definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ldesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for being our guest at The Cottage! We are glad that you felt the food was great and the service extremely friendly! We appreciate that you will highly recommend us and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Waited 30 minutes from when we sat down to get our extremely difficult drink order, 3 beers, of which they forgot 1. At the emergency room now with my daughter with food poisoning from the Ahi tuna salad. The only thing worse than the service was the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IronPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear Guest,

Over the past several weeks, we have served thousands of guests who have been extremely satisfied with our food and service as is evident by the thousands of comment cards they have filled out. We have an excellent staff that are dedicated to providing our guests with a wonderful experience. Suck, in my opinion, is an awful word and to say this place sucks is truly inappropriate, unacceptable and not appreciated by the hard-working crew at The Cottage. Your allegation of food poisoning has no basis at all. We have not received any complaints remotely similar to yours.

During this period of time we served 33 Ahi Tuna salads including the one I had. The 2 emergency rooms in the area have no record of food poisoning events during this time period and if they did it would have been reported to the NYS Health Department. No such report was made. Unless you can offer proof of your allegation it appears something annoyed you and you fabricated a false story.

Food poisoning can come from many different sources, and you can become ill from something you ate several days or even weeks later. It can come from improper hand washing as well as from your own hands. Have you ever observed how many people never wash their hands after using the restrooms? If you have any hard facts to support your claim, please send it to my attention. If you do not I would appreciate you having your comments removed.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Went there for lunch. The drinks were awesome...great pour on the guiness...excellent pina colada...stellar bloody mary. Sadly, the food for lunch couldn't have been more bland. It's like it was all just thrown together without any seasonings - if I had to guess the food is all pre-cooked or previously frozen. Again...the bar is awesome..the food is below any measurable quality at any price. I only gave it Poor rating instead of terrible because of the bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Resonator123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for dining with us. We are very sorry you were disappointed. We provide comment cards for all of our guests who dine with us and we have been receiving rave reviews about the food and service. I can assure you that nothing is pre-cooked or previously frozen. It would have been helpful to know what you had ordered so we could have looked into it further. I hope you let you server know that you were disappointed so that they were able to do something to correct it.
Thank you again for dining with us.

Sincerely,

Lisa Randall
Cottage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We just sat on the outside deck for late night drinks. Very romantic spot on the lake. Great drinks, very reasonable prices, excellent service!! Would like to try food next visit1

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Manager at Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for stopping by The Cottage for drinks! We are glad that you enjoyed the evening on the lake, the service and we look forward to your return for lunch or dinner!

Sincerely,
Lisa Randall
Cottage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Cafe also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing