We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONVENIENT, COMFORTABLE AND ACCOMODATING”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
PITTSTON, PA
1 review
“CONVENIENT, COMFORTABLE AND ACCOMODATING”
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We recently spent a long weekend at this hotel with a ski club group. The staff were pleasant, helpful and always said hello.They answered all of our questions. Our accomodations were clean and the bedding was wonderful. It is located right by the shuttle service to the mountain. There is a nice bar/food are on the first floor called the dancing bear. Very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyelened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    396
    104
    32
    29
See reviews for
387
572
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Stayed at High Peaks with 2 kids over Presidents Day weekend. We had gone back and forth over which side of Hotel we wanted to stay in, newer side is almost double the price. We choose to save money and stay in the Lodge across the street and we all loved it. Money we saved easily payed for skiing. Had pool and exercise rooms to ourselves, didn't hear noise others spoke of. We stayed in room 608 which is in the middle, has a store room on one side and a hallway on the other, which meant no shared walls w/other guests. Hotel is right in downtown, walk to everything. Also with money saved did the Olympic Bobsled, worth every penny! Ate out all six nights, Adirondak Steak and Brewery had longest lines which attracted us but was far and away the worst meal we had, save time and go elsewhere. Milanos was the best, followed by Jimmy's.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sodawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

A friend who lives in the area recommended this hotel to me and I have to say it was a wonderful hotel. The front desk staff was super helpful and the room exceeded my expectations. Great amenities, large bathroom (always a plus), free wi-fi and great flat screen TV. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxdance68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West henrietta, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

great place, beautiful rooms, great comfy beds, shower is awesome!! Loved every second of it...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracie1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were looking for a place to stay in Lake Placid that was convenient for skiing for my husband and kids, was within walking distance from the main village and had free access to Internet to work. Found a great deal on Expedia and with the recent reviews of the renovations it looked like a great place to stay and it was. The decor was very nice "nouveau Adirondack", the rooms were comfortable, the high speed worked well, they didn't charge for 1-800 calls, the kids loved the pool, we loved the hot tub and we enjoyed our breakfasts at the Dancing Bear. Once I checked out I was still able to use the business centre to do some work. On our last day we discovered we had a flat tire when I was about to drive my family to the ski hill. While I called AAA, the front desk alerted the garage who would get the call. They were there 20 minutes later, gave me enough air to drive to their garage and fixed the tire right away. I was back at the hotel in under half an hour - very impressive. Some other reviews complained about the hotel not being suitable if you can't walk down a hill but elevators are available to every level. The lobby with its fireplaces was also a comfortable place to read a book. We will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytraveller054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, NY
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I stayed here last year for the same conference, but was put in the "lower" building. Word to the wise, the lower building needed some work. The main building was splendid, however. The facility is clean and very comfortable. I'd stay again, but definitely in the main building!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canela42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Stayed here last year for a medical meeting. Great, large room with beautiful tile shower, large room, view of lake. This year checked in and was told my room is "across the street". Had to park across and down the street in a lot that is literally built over the top of the rooms, drag my suitcase down a flight of stairs to my room. Can see the lake but through the fence of the closed pool. Barking dogs from the dog sled rides given right in front on the lake. Can hear the cars and snow plows over head, plus I have to go out into the cold (it is currently 3 degrees out and windy) and snow to walk back and forth to the hotel for my conference. Fridge had leftover food from last tenant. Worse for my colleague, he was put across the street "in our sister motel". This place isn't even the High Peaks Resort, some kind of motor inn, not reburbished and stinks. The bathroom had several hairs left on tub and sink. Had to get the bathroom cleaned before he could use it. We both tried to get moved into the main hotel and were told over and over that the hotel is completely booked, that it depended on when we made our reservation (over a month ago). What BS. BEWARE of where your room is!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteldiva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing