We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
1 review
“The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing”
Reviewed October 23, 2009

"The place will blow you away."
"You may even soon forget The Whiteface Lodge."

NOT! As a couple who has been at the Whiteface Lodge 3 years running, this is what we were told when we phoned Reservations at High Peaks. The hotel is the former Hilton that has been made over. The renovations were very nice. The lobby and dining areas were well appointed, and who can beat its location right on across from Mirror Lake and in the heart of the village? So what is the problem you may ask?

If you have been to the Whiteface Lodge before, you may find yourself sobbing as you enter the guest room. For us, that is where our stay ended. We did not even put our bags down, and checked out.

I am not saying this is a bad hotel, but as far as being compared with the Whiteface Lodge? Well, that is like bring a slingshot to a gun fight!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    397
    105
    32
    29
See reviews for
387
573
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
jeffersonville, ny
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed for two nights with my husband to enjoy some time away without the kids. Had a great experience from beginning to end of our stay. We had a beautiful view, although you should be aware that the hotel is ACROSS the street from mirror lake so some lower buildings are between you and the lake. Beds were very comfortable, bathrooms lovely etc. The lobby bar was very cozy on the crisp fall weekend that we were there. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We ate at the dancing bear restaurant for "pub type" food and it was very good. We only had 2 minor complaints. The first is that the doors to the rooms are not sound proof and the first morning you could hear every door that opened and closed in the hallway. (Our room was in the middle of the hallway) The second morning it didn't seem as noisy. The second complaint was a minor one, as we were not there on business and only used the computers for a brief time to check emails. The internet speeds on the two business center computers were very slow. All and all we would definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank das4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This hotel has been lovingly renovated and the rooms are plush and contemporary. Great accommodations and location overall. the indoor pool area leaves much to be desired - needs renovating and is small and dark. The service leaves everything to be desired. The front desk (all of the desk clerks we encountered) were "snotty" and not friendly at all. Noone ever smiled here... it was wierd! The hotel gets EXCELLENT - but because the service was so poor and lousy - we would stay elsewhere in beautiful lake Placid.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Lake Placid. I had stayed at the High Peaks years ago when it was a Hilton property. Boy what a difference! The rooms have been completely remodeled and updated. There are actually 3 buildings that are part of the resort. We were in the lakeside building. FYI....this is where they put the dogs who are traveling with their owners. We saw at least 4 dogs staying in our building....but never heard them. It would have been nice to be in the main building, only bc it was so cold out and we didn't feel like walking across the street to swim or hang out in the lobby at night.. In summer, I think the lakeside rooms would be perfect. Ask for a room from 710 and up...as we looked at the poolhouse.

Overall, nice amenities...we ate at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and it was very satisfactory..and reasonably priced. Bed was very comfortable. Walk in shower had showerhead in ceiling. Only downside was no towel bars in bathroom. Just a hook for the robes.

Booked through a special online...would def stay here again. Good location too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloCc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Lake Placid and High Peaks Resort for our 3rd anniversary. Was very pleased with the experience/ value at the hotel, and its convenient location (adjacent to many of the Lake Placid's restaurants/ shops, and quick drive to local hiking, olympic center, other outdoor activities). Our recently renovated room in the Mirror Lake Collection had a great view, comfortable bed, seperate whirlpool tub and shower, and parking within 50ft of our door. Despite the rainy weather, we were able to make use of a nice hotel gym, onsite bar/ restaurant, and spa/ salon while indoors. Would say the quality of these amenities was certainly above the norm for comparably priced hotels. Nice place for a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTintheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadalbin,NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We just had an outdoor wedding lakeside at the High Peaks with reception in one of their ballrooms that overlooked the lake. It was the perfect setting for our "dream" wedding. The new renovations to the hotel are awesome. Showers have stone surrond and waterfall shower heads in the middle. Food was great at the reception and Dancing Bear lounge. Service was great too. Aveda spa was nice too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judygBroadalbin_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very good hotel. we stayed in the rooms that were right on the lake (about 25 yards to the lake). These rooms were two stories with a parking lot above. We were in the 1st floor, so we didn't hear any noise from the parking lot. Free kayaks were great for some kayaking in Mirror Lake. Got the four njghts for four hundred dollars package, so it works out to $133 a night including taxes. Book this special online on the hotel's website because they don't seem to give it to you on the phone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joefran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing