We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat!”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I had the pleasure at staying at the High Peaks Resort in Lake Placid, NY. It had to be one of the finest hotels I have stayed at in the longest time. When arriving at the hotel the staff was warm hearted and as eager to help me with my reservation. The hotel lobby was terrific and with all their remodeling it really made you feel like you were in relaxed and in an inviting atmosphere. My room was absolutely divine. Walking into my newly remodeled room to my left was elegant bathroom with all the upgrades. The bathroom had a beautiful vanity and a huge walk-in shower. The shower had two shower heads, one coming from ceiling. It was truly amazing. This bathroom was state of art! Walking into the room you had a flat panel TV to your right and a huge king size bed to your left. Located at the end of the room you have your own couch and balcony! The High Peaks Resort had many advantages over their competition as well.
First of all, the location is right in the middle of everything. You can literally walk to every shop on main street. Secondly, if you are a skier, Whiteface mountain is only a few minutes away. Last of all,every room has wonderful views looking over Mirror Lake.
High Peaks Resort also has two pools. One inside and out. The pool inside is heated and accompanied by a huge whirlpool.
Overall, the hotel was incredible. They are very affordable and not over priced. I would truly recommend High Peaks Resort to all my friends. I hope this review will help your decision be easier when traveling to Lake Placid. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Horns13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

We left for Lake Placid very excited about the trip advisor reviews and for the most part they didn't disappoint. The hotel has the perfect location! You are right on main street with a fabulous view of Mirror Lake. Also important is that you are one of the 1st stops on the bus to Whiteface. This is important as many days the bus filled up before it reached the final few stops and the next bus is not for another hour! The room (two queen beds) was great. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom as perfect after a long day of skiing. I loved the shower! The only thing I would point out is that the windows had some issues. When we woke up in the mornings the inside of the windows were coated in ice (on the inside) when we brought this up to the front desk so they could fix it for the next guests, they informed us it was very cold the night before and that is normal. That is really not the right answer as it is not normal. The front lobby is great they have a wonderful fire place and you don't feel like you have to be ordering drinks to sit and just enjoy. All in all I think the staff was very friendly and wanted to please and the updates were all in the right place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

The new High Peaks Resort at Lake Placid is excellent. The improvements recently made to the property make it a perfect fit in the beautiful Lake Placid town. We stayed in the updated rooms overlooking Mirror Lake and the decor was very Adirondack inspired and well appointed, esp. the bathrooms. In addition to dining at our favorite restaurants in Lake Placid, we had drinks at the Dancing Bear and really enjoyed the atmosphere. Next time up we'll def. go to the new High Peaks dining options b/c they looked great, especially the wine bar in the main resort lobby. We only stayed the weekend, but for a short get-away it was perfect. We will be going back again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jdumesnil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

We just arrived home after an interesting stay at High Peaks resort in downtown Lake Placid. The location of the hotel is ideal for anyone interested in walking to shops, restaurants, toboggan run, ice skating facility and more. The resort is housed in two buildings: the main hotel which sits across the street from the lake and the annex which resides on the lake. We were in the annex. Parking is plentiful and easily accessed. Renovations are in full swing, with the results being an appealing rustic/contemporary decor that fits the region beautifully. The beds are top rate, the bathroom is a combination granite, rock and tile for an upscale spa feeling. While the work that has been completed is first rate, it appears that a full push to finish the renovations prior to the peak ski season is in progress. Hammering, drilling, sheetrock dust, open wiring are the norm. We were moved from our originial room which was next to one with much construction taking place to one several doors down. While the construction noise was muted we were amazed to find that everyday noise travels greatly. The gap beneath the door to the hallway is significant and with many hard surfaces there is little to act as buffers. We did use pillows to block the space under the door; it helped significantly. Also, the annex is under the parking lot. So, when the snowplow went over our heads it was quite startling. But, once we knew what to expect it wasn't so bad and it didn't last long. We did dine at the hotel's restaurant, "The Dancing Bears". The food and service were excellent. The portions were quite large and filling. We have stayed at a number of hotels in the area and would definitly return, after the construction is complete.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelinlibrarian89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We spent a night at the High Peaks last weekend and were blown away at all the changes since it was a Hilton, it's completely revamped and stunning. I worked in the Travel Industry for 10 years and I've seen a lot of hotels, this ranks right up there with deluxe 5 star hotels I've stayed in. We enjoyed a fabulous Dow Jones closing bell deal and had a luxury lakeview/mainstreet view balcony room for $88. The room was beautiful, the bathroom to die for, and the pillows heavenly. The completely redesigned and moved Dancing Bears Lounge was fantastic, the food and service was excellent and it was all decorated for Christmas and sparkling all over. The views of Main Street are great for people watching. The kids who are 5 and 3 thought the chicken strips were the BEST they ever had, and they KNOW chicken nuggets. I thought so too and had to take a few bites. The menu was great, we all found something we liked. Our purpose was to visit Santa's Workshop and it was so very cold and although I'm glad we did it, I won't do it again, it's not really worth the cost of admission, but once in a lifetime kinda thing. Next time, we'll just hang out at the hotel. We want to go back, maybe without the kids and enjoy the resort a bit more, if we can get another great deal!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank babisbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Decided to go to Lake Placid for Thanksgiving, and booked the High Peaks because of a great rate program they had tying the room rate to the DJIA. Rate was $84 per night and we booked 2 rooms for the entire holiday weekend. They have done a great job with the renovation, I had stayed there awhile ago when it was the Hilton, and I didn't even recognize the hotel. Staff was absolutely impeccable, and the lobby bar, the main restaurant, and especially the Dancing Bears lounge we all excellent. By the end of the weekend we all felt we were part of the family there!! I highly recommend the High Peaks resort to all, especially families. The one thing we did not find out about until it was almost too late was that they had a pool in a separate building across the street while the main pool is being renovated. Oh well, we'll know for the next time!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wells6185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Had to go to Lake Placid for business meetings. Went back to the hotel each night and ate at the Dancing Bears. When my coworker and I were done with dinner, we went up to PR's to spend some time with the most fantastic bartender! Ashley dazzled us with her original cocktails. The Cherry Garcia is delicious as an after dinner "dessert", but our favorite by far was the Baked Appletini. However, the extended amount of time spent there wasn't just because of the cocktails. Ashley was such the professional, yet was able to balance the work with a dry and clever sense of humor. All in all, the best part of the business trip was ending our day with Ashley. Bill should definitely give her a huge raise!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank spikesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $139 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing