We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A renovated hotel in an old antique town.”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our first trip to Lake Placid. We have mixed reviews about the area but this is a hotel review so lets stay focused! Location is good but not great, meaning it wasn't water front. The main building is across the street from the lake, and they offer waterfront rooms at their waterfront building across the street for premium prices. Although, I'm amazed people are willing to pay what they do. Rooms during peak season go for $300/night, off season for $100/night.

These prices are comparable with other international destinations of similar settings such as Tremblant, Whistler, Lake Louise, and Lake Tahoe... Although, compared to those other places, Lake Placid is like the ugly cousin of a distant relative. Sorry cousin! But if you're just looking to recharge for a quiet weekend it'll get the job done.

The facilities are nice with an indoor pool on the 4th floor, an outdoor pool on the 1st floor, a medium size gym on the ground floor, and another outdoor pool at the waterfront building. The waterfront building is available to all guest and offers 2 small docks along with boats you can use for FREE. Don't bother renting from the guy across the street next to the waterfront building. Just use your room keys to access the building across the street.

Renovated rooms are well decorated and clean. My only complaint is that the television size seems a bit small for the room size, we've stayed in enough hotels to notice. A small bottle of shampoo, lotion, and a bar of soap is provided but NO conditioner; strange. Doors slam and hallway noise echoes which may affect light sleepers. But this does have a resort atmosphere so less drunken nonsense to deal with.

The Dancing Bear is a great all around restaurant and probably most renovated along the street. The entire area seems to be under going renovations including plenty of closed and empty store fronts along the main street. I get the feeling they're looking for a new type of client, from older quiet antique buying customers to a younger more energetic type. There are loads of antique stores that don't seem to sell anything and tones of T-shirt stores all selling the same thing at high prices.

Element Spa is attached to the hotel and the massage quality was mediocre. It was busy for hair and nail service due to a wedding. The Palace movie theater next door just switched to digital and was a lot of fun to go to for the entire family! It's a small old school theater with chandeliers offering 4 theaters playing new movies at 7pm and 9:30pm for only $7/person. Obviously they don't have the latest technology in sound and imaging but it was a fun experience. Cash only!

Parking is free and there's plenty of it leading off the 3rd floor. Complimentary coffee is provided in the lobby every morning (take one to breakfast) and bottles of water in the gym 24hrs/day, a nice touch! Management checked us out half way through our stay so when we came back the room keys were deactivated. It was a hassle and we luckily had our confirmations on the smart phone; a waste of time.

It's an average 4-star hotel that gets bonus marks due to lack of competition at this level. I would come back and recommend this hotel if prices stayed at $100/night but there are much better travel options at $200/night... If you get a chance, try The Cottage waterfront restaurant & bar, unique little place with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khoazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Under new management?
We have stayed here several tones, but this time service staff were not on their game! Check in was complicated and check out a night mare. A new computer system? That is not my fault.
Rooms lovely as usual, but changed their line of toiletries. Parker cup, shampoo etc. were not replenished.
Staff in the Dancing Bear were excellent, particularly Sherry, who served us breakfast with a BIG smile and a sense of humour......made our day

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missyreillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Alright. Nice, newly reno'd bathroom. Huge pleather couch in the room with a balcony overlooking the lake...which is not Placid, in Placid.

Service at the Dancing Bears was good in the morning, hit and miss in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Remember the videos of the maids spraying the bathroom glasses with window cleaner. Well after seeing the condition of the room, I rewashed the glasses before using. Bed linens were not changed. When we requested, staff was very good and did it promptly. But when we checked out and looked under the bed, we found a bronze medal from some youth skating competition earlier in the winter. Took it to front desk and they looked up the rightful owner based on who had that room at the time of the competition. But the room should be clean when we check in. Isn't that why hotels want us out by 11:00 and no check in for 4 hours. Food is good at Dancing Bears but a little pricy for what it is although great happy hour from 4-7, especially if you like a really cold draft. They should update room coffee makers to Keurig so were not stuck with the hotel brand of coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great hotel, we stayed for a couple of nights

All was great except housekeeping. When we arrived on Sunday there was no shampoo and conditioner. We asked the maid in the hallway. She said they were running low but gave us shampoo and will get conditioner to us, this never happened. The second day after our room was supposedly clean we had the following issues. Again no shampoo and conditioner, different maid told us they were out but would get to us, again didn't happen. On top of that our garbage bins were not emptied, a dirty towel was left in the shower, our ice bucket and 2 dirty glasses were left in the bathroom and the carpets were not vacumed

Outside of this I highly thank John at the front desk who is very professional, helpful and very concerned about our experiences. The staff for breakfast were also wonderful as was James, the bartender. The bartenders on Tuesday night was on the other hand terrible, her attitude was like she didn't seem like she wanted to be there

So other the housekeeping and this bartenders I would recommend this hotel, great location overlooking Mirror Lake. A lot of rooms are right on the roof air conditioners so make sure you can get as far away as possible as the noise spoils the serenity

Will be interesting to see if management clears up the housekeeping issues

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffy2002_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. I booked this hotel for our basketball team, so there were a lot of us staying there. Every person commented how great the hotel was. They were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. The rooms were neat and nice. Our rooms backed up to a private courtyard with a pool. The restaurant, Dancing Bears, was unbelievable in serving 46 people all at the same time and with a smile! So incredible. They never missed a beat. The location was perfect, as it was right in the heart of the pubs and shops. The fitness room was also neat and clean. Had everything I needed, and I loved the extra touch of free bottles of water and apples in the fitness room. Every family that stayed said they wanted to return to vacation with their family. One family even said they had been going to Lake Placid for years at a different hotel, but after staying at High Peaks, they were going to switch to High Peaks from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyBBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms with nice bathroom. The view to Mirror Lake is so beautiful.
Make sure not to get a room near the ventilators or air con on the main building. Best place is near the pool. Less noice.

In general it is was a very nice stay and the staff was so nice.

I can recommend this place, I have stayed here before.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Anders P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $135 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing