We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Such a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a lovely hotel to return to after a day on the slopes or skating on the frozen lake or just walking around town. The main reception area is similar to 4 star resorts with a cozy and inviting fireplace and wonderful bar area and very pleasant reception hosts. At about 2 PM they put out a vat of hot chocolate and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies free for the taking. There is always a blazing fire in the fireplace and large enveloping chairs to relax in.
The location is perfect for exploring all there is to see and do in Lake Placid, just walk out the lower level doors and you are immediately on Main St. There is an hourly free shuttle to Whiteface Mountain leaving at 10 minutes past the hour starting at 8:10 AM.

The rooms are fairly typical hotel rooms, ours had 2 queen beds, and large flat screen TV, 3 dresser drawers and a balcony with 2 chairs and a table overlooking the (outdoor) snowcovered pool area and onto Mirror Lake and all it's activities. The Bathroom is fantastic with the most amazing shower with Rain head and a hand held shower plus a bench all done in local stone and "rainshower" glass doors. Beautiful!! Amenities in the bathroom are plentiful and replaced when needed, including lots and lots of towels. There is access from the room floors to the covered parking lot and parking is free. Wifi is also free in the rooms but when everyone has returned from their days outings the connections are sketchy.

The only negative I have to say is the Housekeeping in the rooms. When we arrived there was a "turtle Fur" on the floor behind the big leather club chair and blue and green jelly beans in various locations on the floor. The weekend staff seemed too busy to do the room and when they arrived at 4:30 PM asked if we REALLY needed our room cleaned....we said NO, it was too late for that but we did need clean towels which they handed to us and left. The weekday housekeeping staff where there bright and early and did a lovely job.

All rooms face the inner courtyard and have a balcony. The Fitness center is acceptable but a little small as is the indoor pool and hot tub. The Restaurant, Dancing Bears has an OK menu and the best meal I had was the Lobster Roll with amost a full lobster in the salad.

One note....there is no indication that room service is available and it wasn't until the last day that I discovered by calling the front desk....yes indeed it is available. The hotel needs to put something in the room besides the restaurants abbreviated menu saying this service is available and what hours it is available. There is no "button" on the phone to go directly to the room service people, you have to use a button called Hotel Services...who knew???

Would I stay here again the next time we're in Lake Placid....YOU BET!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmargules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    386
    100
    31
    29
See reviews for
376
551
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Watery free hot cocoa only at certain times, garbage cans in rooms that don't fit anything, iPod charger didn't charge phone, can't open bathroom door and closet door at same time, pool was cold and gross with cups and used bandaid with rust on ceiling and run down appearance overall at pool. It's these little things that add up. Guy at desk tried to be helpful but seemed clueless. Skate rental non existent in entire town. Good location and we liked the restaurant but room felt very small.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Loved this place, stayed in a junior lakefront suite which was a great choice for us because the main building was overrun with kids! They were everywhere, up and down the halls, slamming doors, in the pool and hot tub, so happy we ended up in the lakefront building where it was quite for our week stay! Our room was perfect, it was a good size, with a Jacuzzi tub that could fit two people, so no need to walk across the street to the hot tubs or pool. The staff were all very pleasant to deal with. The only down side I found with this resort is they don't really inform you on when the lobby bar is open, and fondue nights ect ect I felt I had to ask a million questions to find out where everything was, and when things were happening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a resort that really goes the extra mile for you !!! My wife and I had a reservation for three nights during the first week of February. We had a specific room type and when a youth group was coming in for a Ski Trip , Alex the Front Desk Manager took upon himself to move us th a King room on Mirror Lake. It is service like this that makes us come back year after year for five years now.

Thank you High Peaks for knowing superior guest service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD-GM-ALBHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Luzerne, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I made a reservation to take my wife up to celebrate her birthday. When I mentioned this as we were checking in the receptionist, Nicki, upgraded our room to a suite as a gift to Anne! Totally unexpected, thoughtful, and very much appreciated. The room had a great view of Mirror Lake and even had a jacuzzi tub. We have stayed there before so we expected the friendliness and good food, etc, but this was over the top!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We recently stayed here for the 2nd time. Lake Placid has the gamut of hotel types (from the super luxurious White Face & Lake Placid Lodges to Motor Inns) so there is something for everyone. But we think that 'everyone' would also be happy at the High Peaks. They are about to undergo renovations, so it doesn't make much sense to get too detailed about the lake front junior suite we had. But it was spacious, nicely appointed and clean. The views of the lake are beautiful (and at this time of year there are skating trails, dog sled rides, hockey rinks, etc. ON the lake. We walked from our room to the Lake Placid Brewery 100% on the frozen lake. The Dancing Bears restaurant/bar in the hotel is a very good place to have a drink. The breakfast we had there was just ok. Food options in Lake Placid remain the hardest part of planning a trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back from my daughters ice skating competition in lake placid we were supposed to stay in another hotel with her team but checked out of that hotel because it was a dumped frantically called around and the high peaks had an availability they were so accommodating and so willing to go out of there way for my family and my friends family. Eric and Alison at the front desk went beyond my expectations. We are so thankful to them . The hotel was gorgeous the rooms the restaurant the pool we are definitely going to stay there again and would recommend it to all our friends. Thanks agin. Nicole S.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnshine315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing