We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday gift”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I made a reservation to take my wife up to celebrate her birthday. When I mentioned this as we were checking in the receptionist, Nicki, upgraded our room to a suite as a gift to Anne! Totally unexpected, thoughtful, and very much appreciated. The room had a great view of Mirror Lake and even had a jacuzzi tub. We have stayed there before so we expected the friendliness and good food, etc, but this was over the top!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We recently stayed here for the 2nd time. Lake Placid has the gamut of hotel types (from the super luxurious White Face & Lake Placid Lodges to Motor Inns) so there is something for everyone. But we think that 'everyone' would also be happy at the High Peaks. They are about to undergo renovations, so it doesn't make much sense to get too detailed about the lake front junior suite we had. But it was spacious, nicely appointed and clean. The views of the lake are beautiful (and at this time of year there are skating trails, dog sled rides, hockey rinks, etc. ON the lake. We walked from our room to the Lake Placid Brewery 100% on the frozen lake. The Dancing Bears restaurant/bar in the hotel is a very good place to have a drink. The breakfast we had there was just ok. Food options in Lake Placid remain the hardest part of planning a trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickytravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back from my daughters ice skating competition in lake placid we were supposed to stay in another hotel with her team but checked out of that hotel because it was a dumped frantically called around and the high peaks had an availability they were so accommodating and so willing to go out of there way for my family and my friends family. Eric and Alison at the front desk went beyond my expectations. We are so thankful to them . The hotel was gorgeous the rooms the restaurant the pool we are definitely going to stay there again and would recommend it to all our friends. Thanks agin. Nicole S.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnshine315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

There was a little hick-up on the reservation and requested room. The issue was dealt with courteously and to our complete satisfaction. This was our first stay there and we will be back. We were in the lakeside building (the hotel has several buildings...3 or 4) and we enjoyed a view onto the frozen lake. The room was spacious, comfortable and suitably appointed. Next time might upgrade to the rooms with fireplace. If it is within your budget, ask about the lakeside suites. We looked at one when we were on our way out and thought, "Next time..that's the room."

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just returned from another 4 days at the High Peaks Resort.
This place has yet to disappoint, Have stayed here 5 times.
The staff is wonderful, accommodations are very nice and comfortable. There is one strange thing
that I have trouble understanding, the frosted glass on the bathroom door, It is strange and its a sliding door that blocks the closet when open.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times while attending a professional conference. The hotel is very well maintained. My room was spacious with a sectional leather couch and a patio. The bathroom has a large stall shower with stone walls. The staff was helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We planned a last minute two-day vacation in Lake Placid as a family get-away with our two college-aged boys. We wanted something a bit more special than just a typical hotel and the High Peaks Resort was perfect. Pictures don't do this place justice. As others have written, everyone was so helpful and friendly, but we found that to be true of everyone in town.

The hotel is modern, clean and spacious. Unfortunately, I have a broken ankle and had to navigate using either crutches or a knee scooter. I had no problems maneuvering around the room or bathroom. There is a huge flight of stairs going down to the restaurant, but the staff showed us an elevator that took us down to the street level where we walked outside for a short distance to the outside entrance of the restaurant.

We got the bed and breakfast plan which was wonderful. Our kids went to the Dancing Bears early in the morning for a full breakfast (and I do mean, a FULL breakfast) before getting on the shuttle to go skiing at Whiteface.

The views from our room were beautiful. We were able to see the dog sleds on the lake. We hope to return and I would certainly splurge the extra money for a view during the summer.

The hotel is at a great location in town. Parking is in short supply so the hotel is perfectly located so guests can just park the car and walk throughout the town. There is also a two level parking garage so during the winter, you can park the car on the covered level.

Perfect! Will definitely stay here when we return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mom2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $135 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing