We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly Stay”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stay here every year for a long weekend after the holidays. The hotel is great, the people are great. We use this weekend as a chance to get back to "us" after a crazy holiday season. It works!! We make friends along the way at each restaurant/bar and have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gina1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

I want to write a really long review about how amazing this place is but I will just hit the highlights. The staff is so incredibly friendly and helpful. They are cheerful and go above and beyond to give suggestions and tips for places and things to do locally based on what you're interested in. When we walked in to the main building to check in we were instantly offered hot chocolate and cookies! It was so nice to walk into their beautiful lobby, see a fire in the fireplace, and be welcomed in such a way.

Our room was gorgeous. Such a beautiful room, and the bathtub was amazing. There are doors that open or close that opens the bathroom up to the rest of the room, almost like removing a wall. The view was breathtaking, and the room was the kind that made you actually want to spend part of your vacation in your room!

My husband and I were on our honeymoon there and even though it was -26F when we arrived I wouldn't have gone anywhere else (and I'm not into super cold weather). When we got into our room there was champagne and chocolate covered strawberries that were decorated to look like tuxedos! And they tasted amazing.

The town is so quaint with fun shops and great places to eat, and the High Peaks Resort is in a great location to get out and see the town.

The rooms were cleaned every day. The cleaning staff is really nice and does a great job.

I looked back on our stay very fondly and can't wait to go back. It was the best hotel stay I've ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at High Peaks for 1 night while in town for a wedding. We arrived around 2:30, before check-in time, and our room was not ready early. We enjoyed a cup of hot chocolate and a cookie and headed out to explore. We were told the front desk would call our cell phone when the room was ready. We were not called until after 4. Once we checked in, I hopped into the shower and was impressed by the bathroom. Very clean, spacious and reminiscent of a nice spa shower. I found the frosted door to the bathroom to be a bit too European for our taste - a tall individual can see into the bathroom over the frosted part. The bed and linens were very comfortable, as well. We were on the 4th floor closest to the entrance to the parking garage and found it to be noisy. I awoke the morning of our checkout feeling extremely under the weather due to a head cold, and asked for a late check out. I was told the latest they could accommodate was noon. I was displeased that despite the circumstances they could not extend it beyond noon, but it did not detract that greatly from our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisgoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for the winter festival weekend in December. We stayed in the main building which is an easy walk to shopping, dining, entertainment. Room was beautifully furnished with great views of Lake Placid and Mirror Lake, modern, clean, large. Great entertainment and food in the Dancing Bears Lounge. Enjoyed the huge fireplace in the lounge area. Beautifully decorated Christmas trees throughout. The entire stay was so warm and comforting that the only time we ventured out was to shop. Staff was always polite and helpful. I've stayed there before and will definitely be staying many more times inthe future. A great value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymousbuthappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay here for a couple of nights mid-week while we skied at Whiteface. I think the room was the literally nicest we have ever had for the price we paid. It was elegant and very comfortable. I give especially high marks for the comfy bed and for the shower that was by far the most luxurious we've had. The room was exceptionally well sound proofed and we could not hear the family staying in the room next door at all except from out in the hallway. We stayed in the main lodge and people there were helpful and friendly. There were great lounge areas and interesting historical photos of Lake Placid. The hot tub and pool were quite nice. It's Dancing Bears restaurant was quite nice with friendly servers and the most "happening" happy hour place on the street in the quiet off-peak mid-week. Breakfasts were good there (not included in the price, like at some places). If we had been anxious to "hit the hill" early this would not have been a quick option, but we were happy to take our time and enjoy breakfast as the weather wasn't ideal and the slopes not crowded. If we had wanted a faster morning exit we would have bought yogurts and granola bars at the grocery store and been happy with that. My only disappointment was that when we returned the first day at almost 3pm they were just arriving to make up the room and they only did a cursery job of that while we headed to the hot tub. I had to call the front desk to get the room supplies refilled and they didn't real even put them away nicely in the room when they dropped them off while we were at dinner. Since we didn't stay another whole day they never got a 2nd chance to prove they would do a better job with that. All-in-all that service lapse was completely out of character with the rest of our comfortable stay there. We would definitely be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed there for one night in December during a quick trip to Lake Placid with some friends. Our room was not located in the main building but at their Resort building. We had a first floor room with a direct walkout to Mirror Lake. The view was beautiful. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture and electronics. They even had an iPod/iPhone radio which you could listen to your own music. The room was very spacious and there was a lot of storage. We did not go to ski but if you are a skier there is plenty of room for all your items. The bathroom was very modern, the shower was beautiful! I loved having the choice of a regular shower head or rain shower ;) The bath was a nice size soaker tub. Those working the front desk were very nice, polite and accommodating. Our room was not ready when we arrived, but they took our cell and called us as soon as it was. The bed and pillows --- heaven. Three negative points: 1) check-out is a little early at 11am (I could be getting used to most hotels giving noon as a checkout now!); 2) their room service ends at 10 - that is ridiculous, I literally had no words. We had to walk into the little town to the only place left open to grab a few slices of pizza - and yes, Canadians say All-Dressed, no need to point it out LOL!!); 3) The parking for the resort section is great, however, during winter months people seem to forget how to park, I know you can't see the lines, but PLEASE park properly for the other patrons of the hotel!!! The hotel should probably come up with some kind of solution to that issue. Overall, I loved the hotel and would definitely come back! PS: their wi-fi signal is very poor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 4 days over NYE and found it was a nice hotel and within walking distance of anything you want to do in downtown Lake Placid. We dropped of our skis at the front desk the night we checked in and had them tuned overnight for pick up on our way to Whiteface the next morning. I expect this might become an annual get away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $148 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing