We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again and recommend...but”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in Lake Placid last weekend for the marathon weekend. I booked this reservation in March online with a AAA discount. I never got an email confirmation and called the hotel.. They had my reservation, but told me that "sometimes the e-mail work and sometimes they dont". I asked them to trry agian...still no email. I called mid-May to cancel one night and asked for an e-mail confirmation. Agian no e-mail. Upon checking in the rate was not as I rememberd it at time of booking, however because I never got a confirmation, I had no proof. I did overhear another guest discussing the same issue with a different desk clerk. No matter how you book, I would advise insisting on some sort of email to confirm your rate. Lesson learned.
This is a great location if you want to be right in town with walking to all the shops and restaraunts. We booked a "courtyard room" and would recommend asking for something other than the ground floor. The room with two queen beds was fine and the bathroom was spacious with a "rain shower" head as well as a hand held and a corner seat. The gym had nice equipment with video screens at each one of the cardio machines. They had bottled water and fruit available in the gym kithenette.
The hotel has a bar in the lobby that was never open during our stay. It would have been a nice option if you didn't want the busier Dancing Bear Lounge. We ate at the Dancing Bear twice and the food was great as well as the service. They do have some issue with a leak in the cieling above the bar. They had towels out to catch the drops all night as it was a rainy weekend. That took away from the ambaince of the place....
Overall the accomodations were nice and the staff was very helpful!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlecoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We returned to Lake Placid on an "Internet Special" at the High Peaks Resort and couldn't have been more delighted with the entire experience. The room was exceptional, custom decorated in a very Adirondack motif. The property was much improved since its days as a Hilton when I was last there years ago. The restaurant was less like hotel food, more like fine dining. On top of everything else, we were blown away by the staff - including a friendly, outgoing lad who was helping with housekeeping - he was developmentally disabled which, in a sense, says another nice thing about the ownership. If you are looking for a special getaway, this is a "can't miss"!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was here for a conference and really enjoyed my stay. My room was spacious and well maintained. Each of the rooms in the main building has a small balcony, which is nice to sit on and enjoy the view. The lobby is very nice, lots of places to sit and comfortable. They did a great job in accommodating the group I was with for the conference.

The staff is very pleasant - they always greet you when you walk past the front desk and are willing to help you out in any way. It is at the edge of town, so you can take a walk and visit all the shops or walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from enjoying an "Escape for Two" at High Peaks for our 30th anniversary. Our room was in the main building and very nicely appointed. Loved the fact that the big comfy king sized bed was facing the window letting us enjoy the view upon waking. Also loved the stone walled walk in shower. Only negative comment would be the water stain on the ceiling from a leak in the roof, as we were on the top floor. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The food at the Dancing Bears was delicious. We would strongly suggest folks put this resort on their short list for Lake Pacid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We live in Southern NJ and visit the Saratoga, NY region a few times a year. We always wanted to visit Lake Placid and bit the bullet during our trip upstate in early May 2013 for our 39th wedding anniversary! We found High Peaks to be a lovely find, and we were fortunate to be there mid-week on a summerlike day! We walked around the quaint little main street going through town, visiting the little shops and restaurants along the way. A totally enjoyable visit, highlighted by our beautiful room right on a lake. The room is, by the way, underneath the parking lot! Kinda different! The bathroom is one of the coolest bathrooms we've ever had in our travels - modern and unique! STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was directly on the water! , Even though the weather was fabulous we actually hated to leave our room! Our room had a fireplace, Jacuzzi (the bathroom was dreamy), the bed was perfect and the balcony was right on the water, we had the doors open all night. We had all our meals at The Bears, the wait staff and the food were great and really reasonable and is also recommended. The staff at the resort were oh so friendly and helpful. Beautiful town, we walked around the lake, did I mention the shopping!?
And did I mention the cookies in the lobby! We are from the Albany area and definitely plan to return very soon and will again stay at The High Peaks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a good decision to stay at the High Peaks Resort! Great location close to all the stores and restaurants. Everything is within walking distance. Our room was at the main building with a balcony and courtyard lake view. What a beautiful view to wake up to in the morning. We took advantage of the free use of the kayak and did a tour of the Mirror Lake. Thanks to the very friendly staffs helping us plan for our day, we had a wonderful stay despite the rain. Definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Circlemood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $139 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing