We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Albany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a great place to stay. We stayed one night but wish we were able to stay longer. The staff was very helpful. Ask for a room with a lake view. You won't be disappointed. After our first room did not have a lake view, they quickly and without hesitation moved our room. The facilities are great. The fitness center, pool, and whirlpool were all clean and well maintained. It was nice to be able to leave our car there and walk to the shops on Main Street. You can't beat the location. We had drinks at the Dancing Bear restaurant, seems like a nice place for a burger or nachos, but we didn't eat there. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    333
    88
    29
    26
See reviews for
302
488
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I don't understand all the negative reviews here. It's a 4 star hotel and felt like a 4 star hotel. Nice location - we weren't on the main property but on the part of the property that faced onto mirror lake. So nice views from the room. On the downside, our room was a little further away from main resto/bar/pool (as in across the street). Our part of the hotel had a nice outdoor pool that was "very frozen". Would be gorgeous to use that outdoor pool in the summer but in the winter you'd have to trek up to the main hotel to use the indoor pool or hot-tub (which we didn't try). Hotel restaurant was also good value, even for a 4 star. Can't argue with a basic $6 2-egg breakfast and $18 for prime rib. Prime rib!! I think the hotel allows pets into the rooms - which is good if you're a pet owner but not if you are next door to a room with a yapping dog. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east williston,ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The lobby was a highlight to our stay here. The weather outside during the Christmas break was extremely cold for me, so I did not go out often. The lobby was my getaway and it did not disappoint. There was always a roaring fire and hot chocolate, cookies and coffee available to enjoy at your leisure while reading a book on the couches around the fireplace. The room was nice as well. The restaurant downstairs,The Dancing Bear was wonderful and the servers were terrific! The location is good since it is on the strip at the opposite end of town. The only complaint I had was that a tray with remnants of room service breakfast was left outside the door of a room and it stayed there all day and night, no one picked it up til late in the eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Two families have stayed here the last few years over Easter weekend and we have had a great experience every time. The price is a great value for its location in the village, room quality and views of Mirror Lake and the high peaks. It is an old building with some parts having been renovated within the last few years. The indoor pools and hot tubs are older but satisfactory and there is a small but nice fitness facility. The main lobby is very nice and the Dancing Bear bar/restaurant is a great place for a cocktail and some light fare.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterOfNone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here in a room that ran us $209./night. At first I was sick at how much we were spending for a room, but...when we walked into our room it was beautifully done in a contemporary manner...there are speakers in the bathroom hooked to the tv...so you can listen to the news as you shower or whatnot. The beds...now...I don't typically sleep well away from home, but these beds were so lush! They have a cushy mattress pad on them that supports your back...it was such a good night sleep that the next day after I got home I bought one of these mattress pads! Also, it was so super quiet. A phenominal stay and well worth the money!!! LA :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffsgirlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the portion of the property across the street from the main building. It used to be a hotel but HPR added it to their property. Here is the good and he not so good:

Good
-wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful
-great location on the main street
-3 swimming pools
-very comfy beds
-fridge and coffee maker in room
-large lounge which no one seemed to use, we played cards each night and had take out food there
-balcony with view of the lake

Not so good
-the place is very tired looking
-our bath tub was very old, it had that permanent dirty look even though it was clean
-dated interior, needs the décor refreshed
-parking was very tight as the place was full

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BepLep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed with our 3 young boys and had a great experience. Rooms and bathrooms are nicely decorated with an updated Adirondack style. Very close to great skiing at Whiteface and boys loved indoor pool and we loved hot tub. We had a room with a great view of the mountains and lake. We will definitely be back! We also look forward to coming back in the summer, as there is a outdoor pool and lots of outdoor activity to experience. For the cost it is an Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#11 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing