We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our stay in Lake Placid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay in Lake Placid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very good place to stay while in Lake Placid.

The rooms have been totally upgraded, and the location is close to everything.

The "strip" in Lake Placid is no more than a KM long, and this is at the beginning.

It is convenient to everything, both in town and just outside of town.

The resort is clean and fully updated.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Sdg

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    344
    94
    29
    27
See reviews for
326
500
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Lake Placid. The location is perfect: you can walk to all the great shops and restaurants on Main Street and there is a great view of Mirror Lake. Our room was large and very comfortable. I got two great nights of sleep (which is quite an accomplishment at 8 months pregnant!).

We had dinner one night at "The Dancing Bears," which is the restaurant/pub located downstairs in the hotel. The food was very good, and it was apparently a favorite hang out for Olympians during the 1980 Olympic games (pretty cool).

One tip: Do not use the address on their website if you're navigating with a GPS. That address brought us about 3 or 4 miles up the road from the hotel. Use 1 Mirror Lake Drive or the intersection of Mirror Lake Drive and Main Street.

All in a great stay. We would definitely return to this hotel if visiting Lake Placid again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is perfect in so many ways...location with a view of the mountains and Mirror Lake, easy walk along Main St. To shops, restaurants Convention Centers and rinks. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and with all the usual amenities. The lobby area is very nice complete with fireplaces, leather furniture, and a bar! The restaurant Damcing Bears is very nice, serving excellent food as well as cocktails. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating, including the front desk, waitresses, bar server and housekeeping staff. We have stayed at several other hotels in Lake Placid and find High Peaks to be our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wonderful stay! Great location! Spent the weekend in a suite overlooking Mirror Lake. Very comfortable with lots of room, great views, a big bathroom with a jacuzzi, microwave, fridge and fireplace. Perfect! Front desk staff were exceptional as were the chocolate chip cookies waiting for you close by. Lots to see and do. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caprav94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Used the day spa, at twin peaks resort, and was quite impressed, the massages and facial were wonderful, the staff was quite friendly. Would recemend this day spa to everyone.
Also had a Manicure and hair cut, spent the whole day there and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my third or fourth stay at High Peaks Resort. It has been my favorite place to stay since it's reasonable and close to downtown.

I took my son for his first ever cross-country skiing trip while he was home on break from college. I knew he would love the resort and location, and he certainly did.

We knew it would be less crowded during the week since weekends are usually very busy in LP during winter.

I was a bit disappointed when we arrived at 2:45PM after 3 hours of skiing. We just wanted a shower and to rest before dinner. Unfortunately, they said the room rate was not guaranteed until 4pm and that our room was not ready. I thought this odd since I inquired about extending our stay for another day, and was told they had 132 rooms available. So, how come our room was not ready? I was also told they do not offer any discounts on extending our stay on short notice, so we did not stay another day. I was told the hotel wants to make money, so why not offer us a room at a lower rate if you have 132 rooms available? We waited in the empty lobby for over an hour for our room even though other guests were checking in and getting their keys. Is this because I booked the hotel on Hotwire? The rate on their website was the same as High Peaks, so I don't understand.

My only other complaint was when I finally got to take a shower, I was sprayed in the face after turning the water on. The showers are really cool and have a rainshower, hand-held wand, and a seat inside. the walls are done in tiles and river rocks. Very interesting style. I believe that the housekeeper forgot to position the shower wand to point in the other direction, so guests were not sprayed in the face when turning on the water.

We were looking forward to enjoying the hot tub after skiing all day. I have never been to the pool, so we checked it out before dinner. Not very nice at all. Down a long, somewhat scary hall to a completely different building. The atmosphere was not like the rest of the hotel at all. It looked ok, but outdated and there was a family with kids in the pool, so we decided not to bother. We went to a movie instead.

The room was clean and we had a beautiful view. My son was amazed at the mountains. The beds were incredibly comfy and I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina33166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Very simply--,- lovely rooms / very nice big lobby / chocolate chip cookie welcome plus fireplace n skiers etc ---
So here's where I start feeling NOT so great--- i looked at my bill n realized I didn't get the special package specified on their website and even though_ it was explained to me twice I still didn't understand--- it was almost as if they were making it up as they went--- n long story short I did not receive the special package . I did however receive an AARP discount but it was nothing compared to the special ---- so that just upset me . High peaks is kind of expensive but whatever--- I dealt with it -- now as far as everything else, the food was very good n we were treated kindly on a day my husband n I became ill--- we ordered some very lite fair they expedited the order up to our room. That was nice...... so all in all I would recommend this hotel. Just be aware of the price you're given. You might be better off booking online.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing