We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in lake placid.”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gem in lake placid.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Finding the hotel was extremely easy. Its in an important corner of Lake Placid, which I would say is the center of Lake Placid where Main and Saranac St. meet. The host at the desk was a bit weird not to say rude but then the manager or partner saw her ways and she stepped in and all was good.
The covered parking was a plus, especially in winter when you don't have to clean all the snow of the car. Our room was perfect. Two queen beds a small balcony with access to the pool and the bathroom was a delight. Everything very clean.
Free wifi a plus.
If you have an iphone or mac you might have to call to connect because we had to, but after that no problem.

After snowboarding we came in and of course our boots are soiled. Next day after we came in and expected the room to be cleaned, the bet was made and we had new towels but the soiled floor was uncleaned. This is my only problem then everything else was perfect.

Thanks High Peaks Resort. You have a very well kept hotel and beautiful accomodations. This must be a gem in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    390
    100
    32
    29
See reviews for
382
562
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here in a family holiday in December around Christmas time. We stayed on the third floor with a view to the 'pool'. It was snowed in. The rooms are very nice and have a full size couch with a seating area, and a large bed. The bathroom was very good with audio from the TV available, and both an overhead and handheld shower. The water pressure was decent.

There is no safe in the room, which is a drawback.

We used the restaurant a few times, and found the service a bit slow. The first night was understandable as the place was packed. However, for breakfast, there were only a few families and service was painful.

The front desk staff was super friendly, but often gave incorrect advice. Or as we started to joke, it was 'almost right'.

It is probably one of the best locations in town. And the side doors make easy access to the town and up the hill towards the strip malls. The shuttle bus parks right out front.

I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azhkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved our stay at High Peaks Resort. Conveniently located on the Main St. this Resort is immaculate with friendly staff and great rooms. When we arrived the front desk clerk was very friendly and efficient. All of the staff have been great. The Dancing Bear is a great spot with good drink and food and a great Happy Hour between 4 and 7. We will definately return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnote1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I recently stayed at this property. Location was great, close to many restaurants and seconds from the shuttle to White Face mountain.

Had an opportunity to dine at their restaurant (Great Bears) for breakfast and dinner... food and service was great.

Large clean rooms and oversized washrooms.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We wanted to enjoy Lake Placid and the snow so decided on High Peaks Resort for 3 days mid-week at end of Jan., 2013. We have a small dog so the fact that HPR was pet friendly factored into our decision.
From check-in to check-out, High Peaks was excellent. The room with a lake view was large, very clean and well maintained and decorated. We loved the newly renovated bathroom. They provided cleaned areas around the property to walk our dog.
We ate dinner at the restaurant each night as it was 20 below zero all three nights and could not leave dog in the room or in the car. The staff served us in the lounge area so we enjoyed our dinners in front of a roaring fire each night. The food was very good. They have happy hour with half price beer and burgers. The Dancing Bears restaurant and bar is at street level and is really very friendly. It seemed to be a gathering place for tourists and locals alike.
The bedding and the bed are excellent. The room was clean and the well heated. They have covered parking and a roof level parking that is not covered.
The front desk staff is exceptional, especially Pam. We really felt comfortable there and were happy we did not have to leave our dog at home. Except for the bitter cold, the stay was fantastic. High recommended.
I would stay here again and plan to the next time we come to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseAU400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I came up for a weekend getaway a week before Christmas. We got a great deal on Travelzoo that included breakfast and a giftcard for dinner at Dancing Bear. We had an excellent stay. The hotel was beautiful decorated for Christmas and there was always a warm fire in the lobby. The room was spacious, comfortable and we loved the shower and bathroom. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the lobby and enjoy the hot chocolate and cookies during the day. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorib49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a waterfront room, not the main resort, and our room was very well designed and appointed. We tear apart beds and inspect rooms *very* thoroughly before bringing in any luggage to avoid contact with bedbugs or other undesirable issues. Our scrupulous inspection found the bed and bedding to be very clean and fresh. The only caveat is that they should run the down comforters through a hot dryer between washings because I had s severe dust mite reaction to their down comforter (but not my own at home, I'm only allergic to the mites, not the down). Management offered me a down alternative comforter that stopped the reaction for the rest of our stay.

The house man who brought it also offered to bring in an ozone generator to kill any remaining dust mites and freshen the room air, which we accepted and left the room for the time it was running. I was impressed by the unprompted offer and the concern for guest comfort at the HPR.

When I tried to open what I thought was a closet, but was locked, I found that the louvered door was for our heating and cooling unit. What I also found was that the louvered slats were packed thickly with dust, clearly not inspected for cleanliness for a very long time. A housekeeper graciously came to vacuum them out immediately upon my request. Later I noticed that the bathroom sconces had cobwebs and dust on them, as did some bedroom lamps, and the large upholstered chair had crumbs, chunks of old cookies, and dust along the cording and under the seat cushion. I think a moment more of careful inspection by a housekeeping supervisor to take a closer look at everything in these rooms is needed to raise the standard a bit. Otherwise, especially with the bedding, there is great care in cleaning in evidence, too. I'm sure the dust settling on everything else in the room was being blown around through those louvers, and the climate unit itself probably needs a filter cleaning, too.

The bed wasn't the best; I had to stay near the edge to avoid rolling toward the middle; if it had been king, that might not have been an issue, but it really detracts from sleep comfort any time it happens.

We thought we had a great location and well appointed, comfortable room for a very good price, and would have awarded five stars if not for the housekeeping deficiencies noted. I'm giving it four stars because the response by management to our concerns (with only one, less than pleasant front desk call one time to a woman who told me she'd just gotten in and seemed to think I was calling at what was an inconvenient time for her) was speedy, gracious and genuinely concerned for our comfort and satisfaction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLF4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing