We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Peaks Resort
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$593
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $515/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$279
$262
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Placid Lodge(Lake Placid)
$1,110
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveler rating
815
425
108
36
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
425
108
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdancing bearhigh peaksmirror lakewaterfront collectionwaterfront roommain buildingrain showerin townpaddle boatsglass of champagnebathroom dooroutdoor poolwalk in showerhotel restaurantnice bathroomfree kayaksgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,012 - 1,017 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A nice mid range hotel with a good restaurant and bar. For the many families taking their kids to Lake Placid's hockey tournaments this is a great hotel. The hotel has easy access to the center of town. It is probably 3/4 mile to the Olympic ice rinks so you essentially have to drive to the rink. The hotel has free Wifi which functions OK. You have to log in every time your phone or iPad snoozes. You can see the Lake from most rooms although the view is average.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent two days of our honeymoon here, and wished we had spent more!

Check-in was a breeze, and the ladies at the front desk were very helpful. This was the first time for either of us in Lake Placid, and they gave us maps and hiking suggestions to help us plan our adventure for the next day. Upon getting to our room, we were first struck by the view. The sun was setting behind us, and the sight of the silhouette of the mountains against the darkening sky with the day's last glimmer on the lake below was breathtaking! Then we noticed that there was a nice gift of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us on the table with a card congratulating us on our recent nuptials! This was an unexpected treat from the hotel!

We found the room to be very spacious and clean. Ours had a king bed and a sofa. There was a desk as well as two little tables for the sofa and a dresser that also concealed a refrigerator. Even with all this, there was plenty of space to move around.

The bathroom was impressive. It was very large with a granite vanity, plenty of towels, and the most toiletries I have seen in a hotel room -- even mouthwash and the crown jewel of all hotel bathroom freebies -- a sewing kit! :) And it was all Bath & Body Works stuff, which meant not much to me, but seemed to impress my new bride. However, the best part of the bathroom was the shower. It was huge with both a fixed shower head above, and a handheld shower head that could both operate at the same time. With the stone tiles on the wall, it's like bathing in a warm waterfall each morning!

The hotel is in a great location -- just above Main Street -- and it's a short walk to its shops and restaurants. All rooms in the main building seem to have balconies and views of the pool, and the mountains in the distance. From the higher floors, you can get a better view of the mountains, and you can also see Mirror Lake. All of the Olympic venues are within about a 20 min drive. The hotel does have watercraft that the guests can use (I think for free) on the lake, but we did not take advantage of this. The lobby is large with a nice fireplace that was going when we came down for the complimentary cookies and lemonade they spread every afternoon for the guests.

We ate at the resort's restaurant, the Dancing Bears on our first night. It was fairly reasonably priced, and they gave us a lot of food. We split a half order of steak nachos and a burger. We got out of there for a little over $20 and had leftovers for a snack for the next day. The next evening, we ordered a pizza from room service, which arrived hot and tasty in 30 minutes -- Domino's can't even guarantee that any more!

Overall, we had a fantastic stay! Resorts like this are usually beyond our budget, but since it was our honeymoon, we didn't mind spending a little more. However, the experience, from the room to the service to the views, was well worth everything we paid and then some. I wish we could come back to the High Peaks Resort soon and often, but it will probably be a while before we can return. Maybe for an anniversary trip in a few years...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay at the High Peaks Resort. We got our room through Priceline at something like $124 per night, at an off-peak time for Lake Placid. We could have gotten a lower rate elsewhere, but decided to splurge a bit and we weren't disappointed. Our room had two double beds, a very nice bathroom, small fridge, etc. and some nice decorating touches.

The common areas were very nice and included indoor and outdoor pools, an exercise room and a spa. We had one lunch in the hotel restaurant, the Dancing Bears, and it was fine.

The front desk staff were very friendly, courteous and accommodating. I had to send a fax and they took care of that at no charge. Coffee and newspapers were available in the lobby with comfortable furniture to relax in and a nice fire in the fireplace. Cookies, put out at 2:30 each afternoon, were not to be missed.

Overall, in my opinion, a great place to stay (proximity to village can't be meet; park and walk). I would recommend it my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night. The room was clean and very nice. Breakfast was good (didn't eat dinner in the 'world famous' Dancing Bear). We were just off peak for color, so thought the room was overpriced even at the AAA rate of $170. The view was ok, but you're not lakefront, though I had the impression we would be. From what I could tell, all rooms had balcony and some kind of view. I should've pricelined it. We also had some hallway noise due to kids hockey tourney in town, but they quieted down early enough (10ish). Overall, a very nice hotel, but for the season a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scud1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Lobby is beautiful, spacious and large. The rooms are well kept and many have great views. The restaurants are nice with fresh food. Be warned, this entire area, soup to nuts, is quite pricey all around. The hotel is in a great area close to town, many nice places within walking distance. A generous selection of wedding venues. The no-smoking anywhere rule was a bit annoying, especially since many of the rooms had balconies. The lake and activities offered are nice. Generally a very pleasant place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ridethewind95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews